Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man is a Miracle!
Domingo announces this album as a tribute to Verdi and a very fine tribute it is too. But it is also a tribute to the artistry and musicianship of a truly great singer.
Some years ago, when Domingo issued a recording of Rossini's `Il barbiere' with himself singing the title role, I felt that he sounded not so much like a baritone as a tenor `taking it easy'. That...
Published 14 months ago by M. E. OUTLAW

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad for an old guy . . .
. . . but, let's face it, not great either. I can easily believe that, on the stage, with his well-developed histrionic gifts, Domingo can still be effective in the Verdi baritone roles, for the voice has still some warmth and beauty, but it has lost its distinctiveness and, under pressure, some of its firmness too. Perhaps it is remarkable singing for a man of 70+, but...
Published 12 months ago by Stanley Crowe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He can do no wrong!, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
Domingo, whether singing tenor or baritone, is one of the greats - certainly, in my view, the best we currently have on the opera scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
I did choose this rating because i am an old fan of Placido Domingo. his voice and his performances. The CD was a surprise as he is singing bariton's arias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
Cracking album. Great addition to my CD collection. Fascinating to hear Domingo doing justice to Arias in a lower voice-register. Excellent all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tenor turns baritone, 22 Sep 2013
By 
W. C. Keen (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
Domingo seems to have entered a new career as a baritone. For so long the top tenor, this disc shows that his talents continue. Very pleasant listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRAVO PLACIDO !!!, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
I bought this CD after hearing it reviewed on Classic FM. Whilst I don't like all the tracks equally, this is a CD which demonstrates Domingo's massive talent and highlights the singer's change of range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Placido Domingo - Verdi, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. Philippa Hogan "PippaH" (Bray, Wicklow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
The smoothest of tenors sings Verdi - what is there not too like?? Now in my top ten choices on iPad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars verdi - placido domingo, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
a great CD and would buy it for friendsas a present who enjoy listenin to Placido Doming singing baritone roles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Domingo as a baritone, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi (Audio CD)
Wonderful singer as Domingo still is, felt one or two of baritone arias just below the range he can manage. But well worthwhile buying this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Verdi
Verdi by Plácido Domingo (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews