Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next edition will need to get used to
The 6th edition book is rather different from 5th edition. First of all, it is much shorter. The order of chapters is completely redone, and a lot of background information from 5th edition is now only available online. This makes it less suitable as a comprehensive style guide compared to APA 5th.

There are some important style changes that will influence...
Published on 23 May 2010 by A. R. H. Fischer

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars needs a copy editor and proofreader
It is riddled with errors. Perhaps APA will hire a proofreader (or even an editor, too) before the 2nd printing. Use the 5th edn and wait until the 2nd printing before purchasing.
Published on 24 Oct 2009 by white dog wordsmith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next edition will need to get used to, 23 May 2010
By 
A. R. H. Fischer "Astro" (Utrecht, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The 6th edition book is rather different from 5th edition. First of all, it is much shorter. The order of chapters is completely redone, and a lot of background information from 5th edition is now only available online. This makes it less suitable as a comprehensive style guide compared to APA 5th.

There are some important style changes that will influence writing papers (most notably how to make reference for papers with more than 6 authors, a change that requires referencing software like Endnote and ReferenceManager to re-program part of their core architecture). So everyone going to send papers should adopt this new version (although many journals still ask for APA 5th style!).

A major improvement over the 5th edition is the extensive section on ethics of publishing, which outlines what counts as plagiarism, how much self-plagiarism is allowable and in which circumstances, etc.

All in all, I will use this new edition next to the much more comprehensive 5th edition for the foreseeable future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars needs a copy editor and proofreader, 24 Oct 2009
By 
white dog wordsmith (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
It is riddled with errors. Perhaps APA will hire a proofreader (or even an editor, too) before the 2nd printing. Use the 5th edn and wait until the 2nd printing before purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable guidance on how to prepare scientific work for publication, 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do we need a standard format and style in order to facilitate the world-wide dissemination of scientific knowledge? If so, then the APA Publication Manual is the best scheme so far devised. It is subject to continuous revision, so if you think some of the guidance is wrong or inappropriate, tell the editors - you'll find a feedback form on their website - and look out for the seventh edition.
Although early reviews of this sixth edition criticised the inadequate proofreading, I haven't myself looked for misprints; my copy is the third printing, and I haven't noticed any casual errors, so I assume that the process of correction has been successful.
One advantage of a well-developed scheme is that editors and peer reviewers can easily defend their requirements for amendments and/or resubmissions of manuscripts, thus - one can hope - reducing the sense of grievance felt by a rejected author.
For obvious reasons, the content relates specifically to psychology publications but the principles set out - including strictures on the presentation of data - easily extend to other sciences. From a British perspective, everything works fine, but you would be better off consulting the OED rather than Webster's for publishing in the UK.
An addendum for legal scholars: Appendix 7.1 explains how to refer to legal materials, but these instructions relate only to US materials. For guidance on British (and other overseas) legal materials, you still need to check OSCOLA at [...]
Overall, the APA Manual gives indispensable guidance on how to prepare scientific work for publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars usefull, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great helpful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars typo typo typo, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This manual is full of grammar and spelling errors, general missing or incorrect words. APA are not setting good standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars boring, but necessary, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
needed an APA manual for my thesis...needed something handy- just in case...I have found Endnote doesn't always conform to the Manual...the Manual has helped me resolve which to go with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love APA., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book solved all of my formatting problems. Any question you have, it can answer. An ABSOLUTE must have for any Psychology student in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for what I need, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was doing my Masters program and although I was up to par on APA format it never hurts to have this handy book around. Helps you through things you may question, especially with publications versus books etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Needed this badly, 12 Nov 2013
By 
N. Booth "Nicky B" (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does exactly what it says on the tin!
Writing up my studies for my phd and needed this wee prompt to keep me on track which it certainly did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good condition and on the estimated date of arrival..., 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recommend this product to everyone especially psychology students. It contains many things inside which u will need throughout your course and masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews