Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm, uplifting, achingly hilarious
I loved this book. A good friend recommended it to me. I knew very little about it, but I trusted my friend's good taste. Warm, funny, uplifting, refreshing - Love, Nina was the book I savoured on returning home every day. Nina Stibbe's acute but uncomplicated views and observations of the extraordinary world in which she inhabits are life-affirming. So difficult to...
Published 8 months ago by deepversedandshallow

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a demanding read!
....but nor does the book demand to be read. There are occasional deadpan gems which really are 'laugh out loud' moments, but the constant references to people by initials or nicknames gets irritating very quickly. Some of these are listed at the front (but not alphabetically - which would have helped); the others you have to assume aren't important enough to merit a...
Published 6 months ago by MIddlestitch


‹ Previous | 17 8 914 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I loved, "Love, Nina", 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Nina: Despatches from Family Life (Kindle Edition)
It has all been said, but I loved every word of this book, and ended it reluctantly, wishing for another box of letters to be discovered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars confident, funny view of life from an unconventional nanny and family, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Nina: Despatches from Family Life (Kindle Edition)
I love real life laughs not great big prose , but those books like primitive art which touch you at every turn ,this book I enjoyed whole hearted lay please give me more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and interesting, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Ms C. Ryde "Cath" (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Nina: Despatches from Family Life (Kindle Edition)
Letters from Nina to her sister every day, which makes them full of day to day detail, and they are funny and fascinating. Also easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First job in London and Growing Up, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Nina: Despatches from Family Life (Kindle Edition)
Funny, naive account of first Nanny job in London in letter form with her sister. Well known people appear in the day to day accounts of whom she has no knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, easy to read book, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Nina: Despatches from Family Life (Kindle Edition)
Great book. Written as series of letters from the author to her sister. Very funny. Had me laughing out loud on several occasions.
Would thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious reading, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a gem of a book. I thought from reviews that I would enjoy it & bought 3 copies, 2 of which are for Xmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable easy read, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Nina: Despatches from Family Life (Kindle Edition)
Read this book in virtually one sitting: short letter format made me want to "just read the next one" and then the same again.
Prime reason for buying was for the Alan Bennett insights and they didnt disappoint!
The author had A.B. observational skills herself and it was a totally absorbing and amusing insight into life in Gloucester Crescent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar, 18 July 2014
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
There isn't a single thing about this book I didn't enjoy, except that it wasn't long enough. I absolutely howled my way through it. It also reminded me of my own youth, but I tried not to get too depressed about that bit. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love, Nina: Despatches from Family Life (Kindle Edition)
Not enjoying this book at all nothing happens which is not necessarily a bad thing but not finding it funny or clever or poignant just dull. I am only continuing as it is a Book Club choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming and Comical Book, 12 Nov 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
20 year old Nina is nanny to a literary editor and her two young sons. This immensely enjoyable and funny book is an account of her experiences told in a series of letters to her sister Vic. Nina is literally plunged into a strange environment, surrounded by the scholarly and the famous. Her inexperience is accompanied by her natural and unfazed dealings with the likes of Alan Bennett and Jonathan Millar, unaware of their reputations or professional lives (Coronation Street actor and an opera singer, respectively), but more interested in their culinary skills and mechanical abilities. Nina has a sharp eye for the comings and goings of the household, capturing the quirks and details before writing them in almost faultless dialogue in the letters to her sister. The author has a rich seam of material to mine and she does not disappoint. This is a delightfully touching book and the funniest I have read for many a while - a real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 914 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews