Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars1,239
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2014
"Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 8" by Jeff Kinney is another installment of hugely popular and funny comic series that was previously published as online comic and due to its popularity deserved to be released in novel edition.

Its hero, called Greg Heffley is a 6th grade student who really wants to become popular, like most children of that age.
He is writing his diary which looks like it's written in the notebook, full of funny text and even funnier drawings.
Greg lives in an (almost) normal family with his parents and two brothers, one older named Rodrick who is heavy metal fan and other smaller, named Manny, who is whiny kid.
His best friend is Rowley Jefferson, boy of same age with annoying parents who constantly annoy and bother making Greg's parents look like the best in the world.

Greg is usual victim of older boys, finding him always at the wrong place and time.
Due to his constant desire to be cool, Greg is all the time pursuing some funny tasks like trying to enter Guinness Book due to building of biggest snowman or creating his haunted house...
But the only thing he manage to do successfully is acting as guard for kindergarten children while they're going home during lunch that isn't necessarily a bad thing allowing to get free chocolate and get away from part of math class..

In this last book Greg is having problems with his best friend, Rowley who left him in the lurch, and now Greg has to look for new friends that isn't an easy task in middle school.
As always Greg has an original idea and he will come to one to try solving this problem with the help of luck, leaving the dice to help him change his fortunes....

"Diaries of a Wimpy Kid" are great books if you are middle grade kid or parent to one due to the truthful image of all the problems that bother children of that age enabling reader to easily identify with him and enjoy his adventures.
Girls do not perceive Greg, he is always having problems with older brother, little one makes him always guilty for something, and his mother and father don't understand him.
And although it looks like that everything is against him, Greg is just an ordinary child going through his turbulent youthful years.

The book is nicely illustrated and filled with humor making it very entertaining piece both for kids and adults.

All of that makes this new installment another great book for teenager or even younger kid with which it can be certain they will have a good time reading it.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
"Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 8" by Jeff Kinney is another installment of hugely popular and funny comic series that was previously published as online comic and due to its popularity deserved to be released in novel edition.

Its hero, called Greg Heffley is a 6th grade student who really wants to become popular, like most children of that age.
He is writing his diary which looks like it's written in the notebook, full of funny text and even funnier drawings.
Greg lives in an (almost) normal family with his parents and two brothers, one older named Rodrick who is heavy metal fan and other smaller, named Manny, who is whiny kid.
His best friend is Rowley Jefferson, boy of same age with annoying parents who constantly annoy and bother making Greg's parents look like the best in the world.

Greg is usual victim of older boys, finding him always at the wrong place and time.
Due to his constant desire to be cool, Greg is all the time pursuing some funny tasks like trying to enter Guinness Book due to building of biggest snowman or creating his haunted house...
But the only thing he manage to do successfully is acting as guard for kindergarten children while they're going home during lunch that isn't necessarily a bad thing allowing to get free chocolate and get away from part of math class..

In this last book Greg is having problems with his best friend, Rowley who left him in the lurch, and now Greg has to look for new friends that isn't an easy task in middle school.
As always Greg has an original idea and he will come to one to try solving this problem with the help of luck, leaving the dice to help him change his fortunes....

"Diaries of a Wimpy Kid" are great books if you are middle grade kid or parent to one due to the truthful image of all the problems that bother children of that age enabling reader to easily identify with him and enjoy his adventures.
Girls do not perceive Greg, he is always having problems with older brother, little one makes him always guilty for something, and his mother and father don't understand him.
And although it looks like that everything is against him, Greg is just an ordinary child going through his turbulent youthful years.

The book is nicely illustrated and filled with humor making it very entertaining piece both for kids and adults.

All of that makes this new installment another great book for teenager or even younger kid with which it can be certain they will have a good time reading it...
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
Eight books in and still good. Jeff Kinney is one of the most consistently funny writers/cartoonists working right now. Kinney has placed Greg Heffley in the same temporal suspension that all great cartoon characters suffer through. Like Charlie Brown or Eric Cartman, he will never grow older. And this is good, because that means Greg never needs to learn from his mistakes. And that means these books will always be funny. Charles Schulz’ famous rule about comics—it’s the art of doing the same thing over and over again without repeating yourself—is evident here. This book is the same as all the other ones—Greg misinterprets situations, tries to avoid doing work, hates school—but it is still all new and surprising. One of the great and consistently funny things in these books, and especially here, is how adults are portrayed. Grown-ups aren’t idiots and they’re not mean, they just don’t get it. In Hard Luck, there are things like the “Find a Friend” station in the school playground, the school’s “Hero Point” system for encouraging good behavior, and Greg’s mom’s stash of replacements of his old favorite stuffed animal. These are all hilariously misguided attempts to ease kids through emotional trauma--well-meaning, but entirely tone-deaf. I don’t know if the intended adolescent reader will ever see these books as laugh-out-loud funny as adults do. It’s too close to what they actually go through.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I bought for my 13 year old daughter along with the books 1-7 and she loves themxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx she recommends them to everyone
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
(Using my dad's account but I'm his 13 year old daughter) The thing everyone likes about Diary of a Wimpy Kid is the humour. I think we can ALL relate to experiences from the book,, and if you don't laugh at least 5 times at this book, then just WOW.
Great book, it deserves every 5 star rating, worth every penny. Stay awesome Jeff!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
This book is a very great book and I have read the whole series.

If you haven't read this book then do because it is hilarious and not too big or too small in amount of pages.
You have to check it out and I would rate it 5 stars out of 5 *****!!!!!
I would recommend this book to about 9+ and boys or girls.

Overall I think this book is a great book and would highly recommend it if you haven't yet read this amazing book!!!!!!!
0Comment22 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
I have been a fan of the DOAWK series since the first book came out and they are good for some light reading and if I want a chuckle.

SPOILERS

I have loved books 1-6 I think (Cabin Fever) and that is when it started to go down hill...

Here are a few problems...

Rodrick I used to love his silly ideas of being a band member he is hardly mentioned in this book and "loded Diper" his band is not mentioned once.

Rowley He was funny and it was funny to see his parents fuss over him however he is kind of taken out of the book a bit because he has a new girlfriend and Greg has a fight with him.

Holly Hills she needs to be brought back! or at least give Greg somebody he fancies! I loved how Greg thought he was acting nice to Holly and she didnt really get the hint, she just magically disappears from the book.

There is many re used jokes in this book which means that the author is running out of ideas.

It seems like Jeff Kinney (author) has been trying to get so many jokes out as possible by adding as many characters as he can how many aunts and uncles are there altogether? Like 10? 15 out of all the book?

Now some Ideas for you Jeff if you're reading...

Try and find a better storyline then a short part of greg's life eg in this book you have just done the storyline about greg having an argument with Rowley which can get boring after a whole book! maybe in one part of the book Rodrick is moving out and getting an apartment however he is always still at there house maybe Greg is happy that he is moving out. or maybe the whole family move house in another part? maybe an animal? ANYTHING!

Basically you need a storyline eg Dog days had about his Summer and Cabin Fever was about his Winter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
I pre ordered this book for the release date although I received it a couple days after. But this review is about the book not the service!

So anyway I found the book very good. It took me about 2 hours to read and although I'm 16, I still really liked it. The title of the book really does some it up! It really is hard luck. Rowley gets a girlfriend so Greg is left all by himself and so he tries to find new friends- which is proven tough for someone in middle school! So the book revolves around Greg struggling to find new friends when his only friend is ignoring him. And also making other decisions based on luck!I really do recommend this book. I have all the books and although this one isn't my favourite, it is still really good!
At the end of the book, there are various things to do a few pages after the story has ended. There are a few fun quizzes and other things like 'How well do you know your friend,' 'Predict your future' and 'Things you should do before you are old.'

So I rate this book 5 stars. Don't listen to any of the reviews that give it 1 star. They're usually just complaining about the kindle version where the words overlap the images and aren't actually rating the story itself!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
The "Diary Of A Wimpy Kid" series is about a boy named 'Greg Heffley' Greg ,like any other 6th grade student, has this desire to be popular (Bryce Anderson,) and win over girls (Holy Hills.) So Greg Heffley comes up with these plans to make himself noticed. Like building the worlds biggest snowman (see in story.)He trys to accomplish these tasks with his best mate Rowley Jefferson who is almost opposite to Greg.

Greg lives with his mother who is always treating him like a 5 year old son and is always nagging at him to get some fresh air. He also lives with his dad who is disapointed on how hia family has turned out and he always goes on about storyies from when he was little (the olden days.) He also lives with his two brothers ; Rodrick who is a massive heavy metal fan and his youngef brother manny who is the runt of the family.

I dont want to spoil anything in this book but what i can say is that it is great read ;););)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I reccomend this book to younger readers from ages 7- 11 years. Too fully understand this sequel of many others, I do suggest you read the others in this collection. It is a good entertaining read, with a large usage of words genere of American. A simple read with funny illustrations. A definite buy for children!
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.