Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars110
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£3.07
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2013
What a fantastic read. Really enjoyed the way this book is written as it carries you through the high emotions and struggles of a wife coming to terms with the husband she thought she knew. The subject of child trafficking in India is at the fore of this gripping novel and the scenes set by the Author has you living the nightmare along with the characters. Looking forward to reading more from this Author.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Great read, couldn't put it down. Loved the alternate threads. Author has a good understanding of the underlying issues, excellent way to bring this topic into a more main stream enviroment, reads as a detective style novel and as an exploration of social issues both within Indian society and our own western world. Excellent
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Am an avid thriller reader and this is one of the best I've read in a long time. Couldn't put it down! Read it in one sitting - a superb page turner. No gratuitous sex or violence just a great plot and believable characters. The issues tackled are very real and I felt enlightened and prompted to look into the issues further. Can't wait to read the next one. Loved it!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
A fabulous read delving into the depths of child trafficking - and what's more, he supports several charities in India trying to put an end to this horrid occurrence. Wonderful, thought-provoking and well worth your time.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Giving this book a rating is difficult. In terms of quality it's probably 3 star; Amazon scale says 4 star is 'I like it' (which I do); for highlighting a gross injustice and major human rights abuse which needs exposing it would be a 5 star.

Let's start with the good things. It uses a great plot device; it gives some real insights into life in India and the shocking reality of Dalit trafficking; there are some really tense moments, and you want to find out what happens. It's a thriller. There is a romantic element. It lifts the lid on the human trafficking and modern slavery of India's Dalits (Untouchables). Read it!

The downsides are that using first person narratives makes it difficult to give some of the background in a realistic way - the description of the caste system while accurate is not delivered in a convincing way. Similarly, while you get a real feel for India, there is the occasional aspect which makes you wonder: is that really the way it would be done or spoken about? There's much that is good in the characterisation, and you do feel for the dilemmas that the characters face, and you can sympathise with the emotions they are going through, but every now and again you wonder, would they really do that? (And then there's my beef about poor editing and proof-reading with a few too many errors slipping through the net.)

Having said that, would I recommend it? It's well worth a read, it will keep you engaged. So yes.
Is it a literary masterpiece? No. But it is a very promising start for David Skivington, hinting at potential.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
It's like a case study going inside human trafficking. Not just a good read, but a glimpse into the dispairing hopelessness that must surely face victims and their families.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Highly recommended! A gripping story about an important issue, well worth a read! hope he writes more much like this!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
I took this away as my holiday read.
It gripped me straight away. I wanted to know what happened next and found it very difficult to put this book down. The story lines of love, protection, forgiveness and injustice are clearly visible and pull you further into the book.
The way that the issue of human trafficking has been raised has been well thought out.
There may be a few small inconsistencies but these in no way hinder the story or your ability to relate.

Having lived in India I felt that so much of the descriptions were true to form and took me instantly back.
I have recommended it already and look forward to reading more from David Skivington in the future!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
I was absolutely hooked from the first few pages! The book is written in a clever style which gradually reveals the story through two different perspectives and the images, atmosphere and story draws you in to a real page turner which could translate brilliantly to the big screen.

The author clearly has great knowledge, empathy and respect for Indian culture and his handling of the difficult social issues which are central to the novel has contributed tremendously to my understanding of these issues. Definitely recommended, and also one to watch for the future!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
This is a fantastic book on many levels. The author's obvious knowledge and passion on the topic of trafficking is apparent, he provides a meaningful and honest introduction to the topic for those like me who knew nothing about it. The past and present elements to the book are handled with skill, it doesn't get confusing and it allows for teasing references to what is yet to come making the tension almost unbearably good! The characters are genuine enough to make the reader really take sides and form opinions on them. This author is definitely one to watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.48

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.