Customer Reviews


1,206 Reviews
5 star:
 (789)
4 star:
 (230)
3 star:
 (103)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dark and Intense Journey
This is not one of those tales where the hero seeks revenge on the heroine, falls in love with her and seeks redemption. Instead, the plot, which is a cracking good read, has elements of a thriller, although it does contain some sweet romance. The main focus of the novel is how a sociopathic man seeks revenge on his wife who leaves him after he subjects her to emotional...
Published 14 months ago by Tina Williams

versus
50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, this book is atrocious.
I will start by saying that I purchased this book for free in a recent sale, and for that I am very grateful. Even so, I feel rather cheated, and definitely misled by all the positive reviews that have been left here for it. It is not, by any stretch of the imagination, a 5 star book. It's barely even a 1 star book.

I did, however, push through and complete...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. S. R. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2121 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dark and Intense Journey, 24 May 2013
By 
Tina Williams (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Will Pay - For Leaving Me (Kindle Edition)
This is not one of those tales where the hero seeks revenge on the heroine, falls in love with her and seeks redemption. Instead, the plot, which is a cracking good read, has elements of a thriller, although it does contain some sweet romance. The main focus of the novel is how a sociopathic man seeks revenge on his wife who leaves him after he subjects her to emotional and physical abuse.

In You Will Pay, Arena, a young South African woman, is married to Tom, a rich Australian. He undermines her confidence and subjects her to increasing levels of abuse. When this abuse turns more physical,she resolves to leave him and file for divorce on grounds of abuse. Despite Tom's chilling words that he will hurt her in such a way that she will never recover and she will suffer every day, she finds a modest apartment of her own and gets her life back and even finds a new man. Tom appears to have backed off and is cooperative over the split. Yet it all appears too easy.......

One day Arena finds herself in a nightmare situation and is again rendered powerless and vulnerable. She is sure that Tom is behind it, yet she has no proof. She suffers greatly for something she suspects that he is responsible for and must remain strong if she is to get her revenge and outwit a man who has all the cards stacked in his favour.

This tale contains violence, domestic and child abuse and I found it to be an intense read, with some really dark moments. However, there are scenes of hope, such as when Arena flees Tom and gets her life back together. There are also some moments of happiness and humour, from her relationship with the new man in her life, Bear, and from her new friend Soong. I liked the way Arena carefully plots and executes her escape, showing that she is a strong woman, despite Tom's efforts to subjugate her. I was with her all the way through the dark times in the book and was satisfied with the outcome which is told in Eve Rabi's unique and indomitable style!

Tom is a truly evil man and to elaborate any further on his deeds would ruin the story for those of you who want to read it. With the character of Tom, the author gets into the psyche of many abusers. Tom clearly relishes the control he wields over Arena and enjoys her pain, physical and emotional, a mark of a true sociopath. Bear, Arena's new man, is an adorable character, who clearly loves her and shows it in some tender and romantic scenes. He has secrets of his own and it is those secrets that come into their own as the plot unravels. Soong, the young mother and Arena's neighbour, also proves to be a loyal friend. Both Bear and Soong inject some humour and lightness into the plot.

Overall You Will Pay is an engrossing read, which I stayed up until the early hours to finish, holding my breath at the awesome ending. This read was a lot darker than Burn's World and even Gringa, the other books I have read by the author. It contains what I am beginning to recognise as Eve Rabi's trademarks: strong heroines who find the resources to cope with what life throws at them; characters and plots which stray into activities that are not always within the law and dark themes and (sometimes) humour. I recommend it to readers who enjoy an intense and unique emotional ride that will stay with you a long time after you have read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, this book is atrocious., 1 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Will Pay - For Leaving Me (Kindle Edition)
I will start by saying that I purchased this book for free in a recent sale, and for that I am very grateful. Even so, I feel rather cheated, and definitely misled by all the positive reviews that have been left here for it. It is not, by any stretch of the imagination, a 5 star book. It's barely even a 1 star book.

I did, however, push through and complete it, mainly because I feel it is the correct thing to do if you intend to leave a review. I wish I hadn't bothered, because while this book is a short read, I still feel as if I have lost time that could have been spent on other things.

The main problems are as follows:
-poor proof reading. I found several instances of omitted words and incorrect spellings- something that I often never notice if a book is interesting and engaging.
-bad characterisation. All the characters are shallow. The only one who felt in any way like a real person was the evil, abusive husband, and even then he was a fairly standard offering with no depth or development. The other characters were inconsistent and unbelievable, especially the police officers, who were so easily won over by an abusive husband despite having prior warning of his manipulative behaviour. I find it interesting that the 'bad guy' insists that the police are dumb while the 'heroine' feels they are not, when the author penning the tale clearly thinks they are halfwits.
-bad plot. I won't say it was predictable, but it was contrived, and felt forced. The last chapter in particular was atrocious, and completely unnecessary.
-bad speech. In fact, it was often cringe-worthy and painful to read.
-bad narrative skills. It was very jarring to have the main character (who is the narrative 'voice' for this story) constantly 'reminding' the reader of things that happened half a paragraph ago, as if we might have mysteriously forgotten about it. The references to real life music and actors was irritating to me, but I am prepared to accept that that might just be my personal taste. The constant rhetorical questions in the narrative, however, just felt patronising and pointless.
-bad sex. In fact, I would go so far as to say it was pointless sex, which was neither erotic nor necessary, written with glee but no skill, and served only to cheapen an already sub-par novel.

One of the worst parts of this book, however, was the utterly inconsistent attitude of the main character, and how intensely unsympathetic she was. She makes a huge song and dance about not being able to enjoy sex or relax/trust a man after the intensely abusive relationship she has been in, and then a few very short pages later she is letting a man she hardly knows fondle her and kiss, in public, AND in the presence of her children. This kind of approach to a character is not only bad writing, but it's also pretty offensive- both to women who have actually been traumatised by abuse, and also to the reader, who is expected to regard this behaviour as believable. The only thing worse than this entirely incomprehensible attitude towards her past abuse, is the leading lady's gleeful acceptance of major crime as a way to take revenge. This was not a clever plan, either, but one that leads to the death of somebody who, while detestable as a person, did not really deserve to die. I find it incomprehensible that the author feels the character could retain any kind of moral high ground, and yet, the tone at the end of the book seems to imply that this is the case. The last chapter only served to make the main character look like a giggling child, and frankly, she would have been arrested for incriminating herself with the way she spoke. The final scene was about as tacky and corny as any other I have ever come across, and again, was completely and utterly unnecessary.

I normally try to end a low-rating review with something positive, but in this case it is hard. The novel made an attempt at a good start, and some of the descriptions of an abusive marriage- while predictable- were compelling. It was just a shame that a moderately passable set-up was ruined by everything that happened after that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it!, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Will Pay - For Leaving Me (Kindle Edition)
Oh my her husband was pretty evil. This book was surprising cause even though it is a romance it is very dark.
I was cheering for the heroine, fuming at the husband and wishing the new couple the best of luck all the way.
Could have probably done a bit more building of the secondary characters but all in all I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Will Pay - For Leaving Me (Kindle Edition)
There's nothing worse than being able to predict a book in the first few pages. This booked kept me hooked all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Will Pay - For Leaving Me (Kindle Edition)
I got this on kindle and it was FREE.. I can honestly say this is one of the best books i have ever read..Revenge is certainly sweet in this book... This book is on par with Martina Cole and the only difference is it has fewer characters. I have told everyone to read this Free Kindle book... just read it and see if i am right...Once finished reading this book you do have the opportunity of purchasing Book Two the follow up of all the characters in Book One for around 1 something in cost (really minimal in price)However, oh my goodness and what a twist this one is, i have been reading this through the night feeling absolutely tired but hey no way was i putting the book down..Utterley Brilliant!!! Evi Rabi i am hooked! I intend to read all her books now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Will Pay - For Leaving Me (Kindle Edition)
This was a very good read and it keep me wanting to read more .. quite unexpected happenings and quite chilling in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didnt expect much as free, but absolutely fantastic!!!!!!, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Will Pay - For Leaving Me (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this for free as came up as a suggestion, I didnt expect much as not heard of the author before. I got to say just a few pages in and i was so hooked i even considered sneaking it into the cinema whilst the kids were watching their film! Needless to say i read i all in one day and have just bought part two! Definitely recommend and i rarely write reviews!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read, 7 Feb 2014
This review is from: You Will Pay - For Leaving Me (Kindle Edition)
This book was thoroughly absorbing.

Really tense. You are hoping all the time that there will be a happy ending.
Could not put it down. Who wants to do housework anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Will Pay - For Leaving Me (Kindle Edition)
Totally brilliant I was gripped to the end. In fact the minute I finished the book I want straight on again to download some of the others Eve Rabi has written. Needless to say am gripped by the also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Will Pay - For Leaving Me (Kindle Edition)
The only reason I read this was because it was free. I found it dire and won't bother with the other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2121 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews