Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A helpful and practical peek under the bonnet of Amazon
David Gaughran's previous book, Let's Get Digital, came out at a time when I was just starting my career as a self-published author. It reinforced my confidence that this was worth a try and gave me some great tips. Let's Get Visible is aimed at the flourishing community of indie authors now publishing their work online, all of whom are desperate for a way to make their...
Published 23 months ago by David Wailing

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pinch of salt?
I've read my fair share of 'trade secret' books and 'this is how I succeeded' testimonials. Some being informative, the others just merely obvious banter from authors who genuinely don't know the luck factor involved. This one came somewhat in between, being quite the fan of Gaughran's blog and his previous effort, 'Let's Get Digital'

I must confess, my...
Published 23 months ago by lee


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Visible: How To Get Noticed And Sell More Books (Let's Get Publishing Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Definitely worth reading. A real insight into the mystery that is Amazon. I had this book recommended to me and it was well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you self-publish, you need this., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Visible: How To Get Noticed And Sell More Books (Let's Get Publishing Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Read this author's 'Let's Get Digital' for how to get your MS publishable and published, then this book for step by step instructions on how to effectively market yourself as an author and your books.

Both books also have an indispensable list of resources on at the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant writing advice, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Visible: How To Get Noticed And Sell More Books (Let's Get Publishing Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
this the follow up to 'Lets get Digital' that I found very helpful. As a newcomer to digital publishing, I found David's advice very easy to understand and implement. (I am not computer literate so I find most advice much too complicated)
He explains every aspect of publishing ebooks with Amazon and how to make every decision count.
If you follow his advice, I am sure you WILL get noticed. I was getting nowhere fast, but now have the confidence to try his methods and see what happens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Indispensible Book For Writers, 8 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Visible: How To Get Noticed And Sell More Books (Let's Get Publishing Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Let's Get Visible: How to Get Noticed and Sell More Books by David Gaughran is the most thorough, easy to understand book I've read about how to market a book on Amazon. He explains clearly how Amazon promotes books and what a writer needs to do to get his book to the forefront. This book is a very useful addition to any writer's reference books and I believe it is indispensable for self-publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book. Full of useful insights and tips. An absolute bargain!, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Visible: How To Get Noticed And Sell More Books (Let's Get Publishing Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Let's Get Digital is full of useful insights and tips. The author,David Gaughran,has produced a first rate book on how to market your book on a variety of platforms. The strategies outlined in the book do not take up much time and are effective.

If you are looking to increase your book sales then this is the book to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable information for the self-published author, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Visible: How To Get Noticed And Sell More Books (Let's Get Publishing Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
David Gaughran's "Let's Get Digital" was the Bible for many of us who self-published our novels, and I am one of many who owe this author a debt of gratitude. Is the follow-up, "Let's Get Visible", as good? Well, no, but it's clearly written and worth reading for the tips it has on digital book promotion that can only help those of us still struggling to get the word(s) out. As sequels go this may not be Godfather II, but it's not Legally Blonde II either.
Gaughran goes in detail into how the Amazon sales ranking works (just sales - reviews, free downloads and price don't make a difference), as well as how Amazon creates its recommendations, popularity lists, top rated charts and category best sellers. This is all valuable information for the self-published author, even if some of it you probably worked out for yourself. "Let's Get Visible" also discusses the now diminished power to boost sales through free download offers, and explains promotions, advertising, KDP Select and other relevant issues and tools. It's a comprehensive guide to all that the self-published author needs to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Insightful and Honest Book, 29 May 2013
By 
T B M (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Visible: How To Get Noticed And Sell More Books (Let's Get Publishing Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
While the book is targeted towards self-publishers who have more experience, I found the information insightful and encouraging. David doesn't promise that if you follow a certain formula you’ll make millions. In fact he’s rather honest about his own trials and tribulations and how sometimes he gets jealous of other’s success. What he writes, though, makes sense. The first part of the book explains Amazon’s Algorithms. I know, when I first read that I ran for the hills screaming. Then I made a soothing cup of tea and read this section. Guess what? I understood it. If I can, I know the rest of you can. Part II discusses free giveaways, including when and why to do them. Part III delves into pricing and when to discount your book to gain more visibility. Part IV probes the pros and cons of selling outside of Amazon. The appendix includes an Advanced Author Toolkit.

The key message is how to get your book or books visible to readers. Currently there are over one million books in the Kindle Store. And each day more are being added. That’s a lot of competition. David’s book outlines tools and tactics to increase your visibility. But don’t think it’s easy. It takes patience and constant work. What I like most about his advice is that it doesn't rely heavily on social media and tons of time promoting your work. Let’s face it, writers need time to write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 May 2013
By 
T. Vicary "Tim Vicary" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Visible: How To Get Noticed And Sell More Books (Let's Get Publishing Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Lots of really useful advice of great interest to independent writers. You probably need to have published at least 2 books though to take full advantage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Success is an algorithm, 27 May 2013
By 
Roger Radford "Journalist & Author" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let's Get Visible: How To Get Noticed And Sell More Books (Let's Get Publishing Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Gaughran is a vital source of information for e-book writers past, present and future. There is much of interest here in his follow-up to Let's Get Digital, although the nature of winning algorithms he attempts to explain is probably beyond the ken of all but ardent statisticians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good balanced guide to digital marketing and pr., 19 May 2013
This review is from: Let's Get Visible: How To Get Noticed And Sell More Books (Let's Get Publishing Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This book explains how digital marketing works today. It concentrates on Amazon, possibly because other online bookstores have not yet recognised the opportunities presented by ebooks and print on demand, but it also provides an overview of these alternative outlets for those interested in exploring them. I learned a lot about popularity rankings and it's good to see that strategies I already use and some I am considering using have a proven track record. Best of all the book is bang up to date, which makes it this year's essential marketing text!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews