Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `Some truths take their time'
This is the story of Changez (Riz Ahmed of `Four Lions' and `Ill Manors') who we meet whilst being interviewed by a `journalist' Bobby Lincoln in 2011. We are then carted back to 2001 to explain how we got to be in a tea house in Pakistan discussing the kidnapping of a US citizen and lecturer. In 2001 Changez managed to land a job with top American consultant firm...
Published 12 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three story lines in one film is too crowded!
It started out well, then the story line seemed to get lost because there seemed to be three main focus points, and preferably the story should have concentrated on just one with the other two very much in the back ground. I felt very much on the sidelines as a viewer, and couldn't engage with this at all.
Published 6 months ago by Caroline


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `Some truths take their time', 18 Sep 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Reluctant Fundamentalist [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This is the story of Changez (Riz Ahmed of `Four Lions' and `Ill Manors') who we meet whilst being interviewed by a `journalist' Bobby Lincoln in 2011. We are then carted back to 2001 to explain how we got to be in a tea house in Pakistan discussing the kidnapping of a US citizen and lecturer. In 2001 Changez managed to land a job with top American consultant firm Underwood Samson. They are the people that turn up and make a company more efficient, mainly by re shaping personnel or `sacking' as we used to call it. He is spotted by corporate nasty played by Kiefer Sutherland.

Then September 11th happens and it is a game changer he also grows a beard which seems to attract way too much attention from the authorities even if it is a bit unkempt. So he returns to Pakistan having had his ambition singed by his overseas experiences, once at home he starts to mix with people who are much closer to their religion than him and have a whole different way of thinking. What follows is a story of intrigue and religion and a mighty clash of cultures in all senses.

This is a quietly intense film that is often full of suspense, the acting is all excellent. Bobby Lincoln is played by Liev Schreiber (`X-Men Origins' and `Defiance') and he is ruddy excellent. We also have an appearance from Indian screen legend Om Puri which was a nice touch.

This has good production values and nice attention to detail; and even at 130 minutes did not out stay its welcome. It is always hard to deal in a balanced way with such thorny issues as `fundamentalism' or `radicalisation' but I think director Mira Nair has done a very good job. This was an adaptation of the book by Moshin Hamad who also co wrote the screen play so they have tried to capture the spirit of the book and succeeded to a large extent. An intriguing and thought provoking film that I actually really enjoyed and hope you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the book., 2 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Reluctant Fundamentalist [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Loved the book and wasn't disappointed by the film. The scenes in Lahore were so well filmed you felt you were there. The casting is great but Kate Hudson character isn't quite as you would imagine from the book. It's a compelling story and very thought provoking. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, lovefilm's marketing blunder reminds us why it is so important., 10 Sep 2014
An excellent film, one that everyone should see. It shows how people would be justified in retaliating against prejudice and unfair treatment, and the self-control required not to. When that same prejudice and unfair treatment is meted out by the people supplying the DVD, it is beyond belief - on the sleeve, and just now on the screen, it says "Starring Kate Hudson, Liev Schrieber, Kiefer Sutherland". And?????????? Riz Ahmed is in almost every single shot of this lengthy film, his is an amazing performance......but apparently he doesn't deserve a mention. Could this be.........because he is not white? I cannot think of another reason. And people wonder why marginalised people get angry. Even the sleeve has a massive picture of Kiefer Sutherland, as if he's the main character... This is such a clear answer to the question, "Why do people turn to so-called terrorism?" that I almost wonder if it's deliberate?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three story lines in one film is too crowded!, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Reluctant Fundamentalist (DVD)
It started out well, then the story line seemed to get lost because there seemed to be three main focus points, and preferably the story should have concentrated on just one with the other two very much in the back ground. I felt very much on the sidelines as a viewer, and couldn't engage with this at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must see, especially for western audiences, to understand the conflict faced by many Muslims in a post 9/11 world, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reluctant Fundamentalist [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Mira Nair really captures Pakistan and the conflict many moderate Muslims are continually facing in a post 9/11 world. This film, based on Mohsin Hamid's book of the same name, really brings home a simple lesson learnt since 9/11: it is the response of the USA and its western allies to the attacks of 9/11 which has created a far more dangerous world; a world where moderate Muslims are conflicted, often harbouring anti West sentiments, yet harbouring no sympathy of support for Islamic extremism/violence.
The film features authentic Pakistani acting talent, as well as fabulous music such as Qawali by Pakistani maestro Fareed Ayaz. This is a far cry from Zero Dark Thirty, or Mighty Heart, which are so obviously shot in India, without any authenticity. Though this film is shot partly in Old Delhi, Mira Nair shows a much better understanding of modern young Pakistan than any Hollywood or Bollywood director/studio. Watch it on full volume, on the largest screen you have, and enjoy. It will make you think, and I hope help a western audience understand better what young Muslims are thinking and feeling in the post 9/11 world. Finally, Riz Khan is fantastic in the lead role; a British Pakistani himself, he lives the role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but..., 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Reluctant Fundamentalist [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I found a certain naivety in the characters in the first part of the film, this may have been intentional, but I felt it was over done. The later parts of the film are powerful, but in some areas I felt lacked subtlety. This again may have been intentional, to give light to the underlying theme of fundamentalism and simplicity.

I enjoyed it and would highly recommend. I may never find out if my criticisms are just. Probably not. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: The Reluctant Fundamentalist [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
A really good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I think you have to have an interest to appreciate the film., 11 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reluctant Fundamentalist [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I wanted to go to the cinema to see this but since it had such a limited release I couldn't so I bought it on DVD. I actually really liked the film but I think you have to have some sort of understanding or interest about Islamic extremism otherwise the film is just a little confusing.
The essence of the film is basically a young Pakistani, Changez Khan goes to New York to study and gets a job at a prestigious consultancy firm where he impresses the boss. Then after the 9/11 attacks the attitudes of people change towards him and eventually he ends up back in Pakistan being accused of Islamic extremism. It's is quite a slow film, there is lots of talking and not much action and the film ends with more than it's fair share of unanswered questions. The thing that makes the film great is that the acting and the casting are excellent. I particularly like Kate Hudson, her naivety and innocents came across well, and Riz Ahmed can do no wrong in my eyes, he is one talented fella! My only quibble with it is the slightly embarrassing sex scene. I am no prude and don't get me wrong I don't mind seeing Mr Ahmed in a state of undress, but It seemed unnecessary. I don't want to be mildly aroused when watching what is supposed to be a serious film.
I would definitely recommend this film to my more intelligent friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, thought provoking stuff., 22 May 2014
This review is from: The Reluctant Fundamentalist (DVD)
A beautiful, thought provoking film, that really taps into the ambiguity and complications of the struggle of the west vs Islamic fundamentalism. Done in a subtle and delicate way, that leaves you pondering and reassessing your own beliefs. Excellent stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, not as good as the book., 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Reluctant Fundamentalist (DVD)
Very watchable, it holds your attention. Easy to see how the main character was radicalised by post 9/11 life in the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reluctant Fundamentalist [DVD] [2012]
7.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews