Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War of the Running Dogs
I bought this for my Dad who was in the Malayan Emergency as a very young man. He is enjoying reading the book which he feels is an accurate portrayal of the war. It is not glamorised or exagerated, which is what he doesn't like about most books on this topic. He is enjoying it so in my view it was money well spent.
Published on 21 Jan. 2010 by FSC

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The War of the Running Dogs
I am not related to the author.
I found this book very interesting. I read it on holiday and finished it within a 24 hour period. The writer has a readable style and avoids boring one with too much detail. This was a successful counter insurgency operation, which is still informing tactics today in dealing with similar problems. Lessons learned /tactics applied...
Published on 26 Feb. 2010 by David M. Barber


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War of the Running Dogs, 21 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my Dad who was in the Malayan Emergency as a very young man. He is enjoying reading the book which he feels is an accurate portrayal of the war. It is not glamorised or exagerated, which is what he doesn't like about most books on this topic. He is enjoying it so in my view it was money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The War of the Running Dogs, 26 Feb. 2010
By 
David M. Barber (Beverley England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am not related to the author.
I found this book very interesting. I read it on holiday and finished it within a 24 hour period. The writer has a readable style and avoids boring one with too much detail. This was a successful counter insurgency operation, which is still informing tactics today in dealing with similar problems. Lessons learned /tactics applied include the importance of good intelligence and police work, which were replicated in Northern Ireland. I didn't know that some insurgents were paid cash to surrender and bring in others. It appears that they are trying this in Afghanistan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight into alternative ways to fight the commies, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know precious little of Malaysia or of the Malayan war and this book was a highly readable introduction to the topic. The quality of the writing was not always fantastic, but it did not really matter because the story being told and the characters in it were so interesting. Round about the same time as this war took place, the French and Americans were staging all out jungle warfare with the Vietnamese. The Brits took a different approach in Malaya and instead of battling it out with an invisible enemy in the jungles, they recognized that they had to win the hearts and minds of the people who were the potential recruits for the communists. How they did this makes for some fascinating reading, and provides some interesting insights into how wars can be won with brains, as much as with guns. I think there is some learning here for quite a few other battle grounds around the world at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best history I have read on this conflict, 28 Mar. 2014
By 
Gilman Grundy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Noel Barber's book on the war in Malaya is quite simply a rip-roaring account that is a pleasure to read. This is not a history for people who wish to read endless re-telling of the order of battle of various units, or dry-as-dust political wrangling, instead it gets right to the meat of the conflict - ambushes, arrests, bombings, defections, betrayal - and describes them in an engaging and easy-to-understand way.

This book does, naturally given when it was written, suffer from misplaced nostalgia for the British Empire, and perhaps unnecessarily dwells on the failure of the US to be able to emulate the UK's success in Malaya, but these are very minor failings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The War of the Running Dogs: Malaya 1948-1960, 5 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. R. A. Millard (Swindon Wiltshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book for my father's 80th birthday, he served in the jungle fighting the communist insurgents during 1949-52. He is delighted with this book and says that it is very factual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Malayan Emergency, 3 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a regular Army officer who took part in the fight against the Communists terrorists in Malaya, I found this book extremely readable and containing just the right amount of detail. A first-class account of the emergency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fiction masquerading as fact, 12 Jan. 2012
Although this account has come to be regarded as THE definitive story of the Malayan Emergency, it contains so many errors of fact as to make it more a work of fiction than history. It is mainly based on interviews with (Sir) Robert Thompson, one of the great bull merchants of the age, whose description of the events of Tuesday 16 June 1948 at Sungei Siput, Perak, Day One of the Emergency,is a mixture of pure(?)fantasy and lies, and one Donald Wise who was at least 200 miles away, and who was also somewhat economical with the truth.
Read 'Malayan Spymaster' by rubber planter Boris Hembry for the true story of the beginning of the Emergency (he was there!) and much of the subsequent fight against the communists at local and state level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The War of the Running Dogs, 19 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. Brian Everitt "burwell" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A friend of mine served in this crisis in Malaya during the mid fifties....so I bought him this book..he probably would not want to be reminded of this period in his life..but as I myself was almost drafted there..and after reading this book was very glad I did not make it....the narative is very descriptive of the events that took place over this eight year period which has a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malayan conflict, 26 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The War of the Running Dogs: Malaya 1948-1960 (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS) (Kindle Edition)
Gives an understanding history leading up to the beginning of the conflict ,something that us national servicemen were not informed of at the time .not that it would have made any difference to our actions but to understand the history perhaps would have helped to know what we were doing there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and full of local background., 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting to someone like me who served in Malaya during 1954 to 1956 but never knew the background to the political and Police activities. A good and informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews