Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars good quality DVD and well packaged
Quick delivery, good quality DVD and well packaged, recommend.
Published 1 month ago by Michael Clay

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The only correct word is DEAD
I have to say that I purchased this bluray, because the write up on the movie seemed positive and I also like movies that are set in the medieval period!!!!!!

The film is a disaster, it is worse than graduate film projects, the setting is dark and cheap looking as if they have gone into the Lake District with some amateur actors. They actors are literally...
Published 22 months ago by Dubai fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The only correct word is DEAD, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knight of the Dead [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have to say that I purchased this bluray, because the write up on the movie seemed positive and I also like movies that are set in the medieval period!!!!!!

The film is a disaster, it is worse than graduate film projects, the setting is dark and cheap looking as if they have gone into the Lake District with some amateur actors. They actors are literally reciting a script with no spontaneity and it is all so predictable. The effects what there are - are very poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars atrocious drivel, 11 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Knight of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
**** warning review contains spoilers***

The concept was reasonably good, and the first 2 minutes giving the intro to the story was acceptable, but from then on it was just an appalling waste of a few hours of my life that I will never get back. And the film isn't even so bad that its funny. Its just bad. Extremely poor acting from the majority of the cast, ridiculous plot full of holes, outrageously bad script and "special effects".
The mind boggles with questions such as What is the point in the band of assasins? Why does one of the knights randomly return to the cave they have just escaped from? Why does everyone bitten take different times to turn into a zombie? What was that love scene all about? Why is the woman in the valley there in the first place? Why does the "heroic priest" scream like a girl? Why does "Rafael" massively exaggerate his facial movements whenever he has to speak? Why does Rafael prance about doing martial arts backflips etc when simply turning around would suffice? Why does the "best" knight appear to have fangs? Why does the holy grail appear to have no power at all, except the power to make the pointless love scene occur. And finally, why oh why does the "best knight" pull an "i've just smelled a disgusting fart" face every time he has a zombie encounter?!
Save your time, save your money, buy Cockneys vs Zombies instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'M NOT DEAD YET., 30 Jan. 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Knight of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
In 1349 during the Black Plague in Britain a group of knights lead by a priest (Feth Greenwood) are on a secret mission, which you already know is that they carry the Holy Grail which unfortunately is not an effective zombie weapon. They travel through the valley of the cursed, one that looks like it should have a wizard named "Tim" and a killer bunny with fangs, but it doesn't, just zombies.

Finally somebody got this Black Plague thing correct, it was zombies. I really was growing tired of that rat/flea/sanitation global warming nonsense. Eventually they encounter Badriyah (Vivien Vilela) a "witch" who knows some earth magic and more importantly how to deal with zombies. Oh yeah, there are some bad guys after them too.

The film is consumed with them traveling over desolate land. You can easily skip about the first 30 minutes. The movie shows "hordes" of zombies in the distant, but it was too low budget for them to hack up more than a half dozen or so at a time. For historical cheese "Vikingdom" is better. And for zombies, just pick one.

Great historical film. Should be on the "Discovery Channel" right after "Noah's Ark."

Sex and nudity (Vivien Vilela). Normally I don't comment on the sex scenes, but this one had an incredible amount of slurping kissing. It was funny to listen to. 3 stars for stupidity enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not even worth a star, 28 July 2013
This review is from: Knight of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
as you can see by my title i am not impressed the old cast of crossroads look like oscar winners by the sad people in this so called movie any more wooden and they would have clothes on in a shop window,check out the scene where a crowd of zombies are seen there are only about 7 people in the scene but copied and layered by an 8 year old by the look of it,the actors?are just larp people with delusions of grandeur,note to camera man take the grey filter off,or better still if you are going to make more crap like this leave the lens cover on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 92 minutes of your life that you'll never get back., 15 May 2014
This review is from: Knight of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
£3 at the local supermarket? Black death? Zombies? Bargain, right?
No, absolutely not. (**Spoiler alert** - but then since you shouldn't bother watching, it hardly matters.)
There is no amount of alcohol in the world to make this movie bearable - the acting is atrocious (though to give the cast some credit, they had a terrible script to work with), the story (such as it is) difficult to follow thanks to the nonsensical actions of the characters (e.g. upon seeing where our protagonists had gone, bad-guy leader with tenuous reason to be chasing them says "I would've given you an honourable death", then despite apparently knowing that anyone who goes that way is doomed proceeds to follow them…), all manner of inconsistencies (apart from how does random-how-has-she-managed-to-survive?-woman know you have to cut off the zombies' heads to kill them, how come so many of the zombies are killed by being stabbed in the stomach? (I know, because it's cheaper to film, but still..), how does (the world's most amoral) monk instantly recover from an incapacitating stab wound? etc. etc.)
There's some quite nice views of Snowdonia though, and if you're stuck with a 1970s mindset in which a pointless brief flash of the female character's breasts makes any movie worthwhile then it might be quite exciting for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Miscast Zombie Mayhem, 25 Jun. 2013
By 
Ms. Theresa M. Derwin (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knight of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
Hunted by assassins, a band of crusading knights escorting the holy grail are forced into a forbidden valley of black death. What they discover is far more terrifying than the plague. Overrun by hordes of flesh eating zombies, they're only chance of survival is to hack and slash their way to freedom.
As to be expected from this premise, there is death aplenty, but it's such a shame they killed off one of the better actors early leaving the less talent actors to fumble through this weak script. It wasn't necessarily a bad film; the special effects were rather good and there was plenty of action, but there were missed opportunities here with the use, or lack thereof, of the holy grail. So much more could have been done with this religious artefact. Enjoyable in a basic 'brain-dead' way, pardon the pun, more could have been made of the mediaeval setting and the small cast. Perhaps the worst casting was in the role of Luther, the 'heroic' priest, who looked more like a camp Richard O'Brien than anything else. Overall, not a bad zombie flick, and I applaud the attempt to try something new, however, it was in the casting or mis-casting, that the issues lay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You'd have to be dead youself to sit through this tripe, 14 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Knight of the Dead (DVD)
I enjoy the occasional guilty pleasure and a brain in neutral gory actioner is one such. This however is nonesuch. It has the most laughably bad script and acting that I have ever heard and seen, and fight scenes that make the Muppets look like the Matrix. The actors look suitably embarrassed to be in it and it would insult the intelligence of the average medieval living dead person. It's an insult to the viewer - PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. COULD NOT BE LESS INTERESTING OR MORE AMATEURISH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother, 8 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Knight of the Dead (Blu-ray)
This is quite possibly the worst film I have watched
This looks like a very low budget film shot in some rural area of the uk
There is nothing special about the effects and the story is ridiculous
Wish I hadn't bothered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fed up of living, 7 Mar. 2014
By 
tubbydaddy (Pontefract UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knight of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film to pass time before going to work. It has a good premise - medieval period, black death, living dead. The rest of this film is atrocious. Briefly, a group of knights and what might be a monk are entrusted with the holy grail. They are then pursued by an army of zombies; and all but the monk succumb. I think a big part of this film's problem is the painfully evident low budget. A look at the credits shows that the director is a writer, producer, cinematographer and a few other things as well. Same goes for some of the other producers. The dialogue is pretty bad, there is a lack of depth to the script and the words are said rather than spoken. Half way through the DVD (I can't bring myself to use the word film) I had to stop and skip to the end. I was getting fed up of living. I only spent £3 on it, at my local supermarket so I haven't lost much financially. I have lost about 90 minutes of my life that I will never get back. That loss is much more significant. Take a tip and leave this DVD in the shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Fair Attempt, 18 July 2013
This review is from: Knight of the Dead [DVD] (DVD)
I really don't know why my wife rented this film. After a bit of narration over some really cheap looking graphics, I found there to be some well choreographed fight scenes, and whoever the location scout was did a pretty good job. The costumes weren't bad either. The problem was, that the script and the acting were simply too amateurish to rise above the obvious no-budget constraints of this project. The use of some sort of filter made the whole thing appear visually dull rather than give an effective look to the film, as I think was the intention. At times, things went out of focus and some of the players (who basically looked like a bunch of blokes from down the pub) delivered muffled lines. That said, I've witnessed equally weak acting and scripting (and often, worse) on Eastenders and other better funded stuff that gets on the telly, so I applaud all involved for trying to do something creative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knight of the Dead [Blu-ray]
Knight of the Dead [Blu-ray] by Mark Atkins (Blu-ray - 2013)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews