Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome stuff, perfect budget gaming chip
I bought this chip on release day (not from Amazon as it was unavailable then) and have used it in my very first home build PC and it's great! Before getting onto actual performance I think an APU in general is the best choice for a first build/small form, budget gaming build as it is a doddle to install with no faffing about installing a separate GPU and offers great...
Published 12 months ago by TVD

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars packaging was very poor.
packaging was very poor. the parcel was too large for the item and was moving from side to side causing both ends of the parcel to be open.There was no internal packaging to prevent that happening.Luckely the item is working
Published 5 months ago by Terence Oram


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome stuff, perfect budget gaming chip, 11 July 2013
This review is from: AMD APU A10 6800K Black Edition Quad Core Processor (Socket FM2, 4.1GHz, 4MB, 100W, AD680KWOHLBOX, Richland, Turbo Core 3.0 Technology, Virtualization Technology) (Personal Computers)
I bought this chip on release day (not from Amazon as it was unavailable then) and have used it in my very first home build PC and it's great! Before getting onto actual performance I think an APU in general is the best choice for a first build/small form, budget gaming build as it is a doddle to install with no faffing about installing a separate GPU and offers great value at every performance level.

Right, now onto performance... I have my A10 paired with 2133 MHz RAM (as should you all) to maximise bandwidth for the IGPU (on board graphics) which translates into a significant increase in frame rates when gaming. When gaming I am able to get ~25 fps on Bioshock Infinite at 1080p, medium settings with the odd setting on high. This is perfectly playable and a solid 40 fps average should be achievable with low settings. Just Cause 2, Sleeping Dogs and Arkham Asylum are a similar story (~30 fps with a few extra high settings compared to Bioshock Infinite). Don't be frightened by the word 'medium' - the pursuit of Ultra settings with solid 60 fps leads to stupidly over powered hardware and these games look awesome at the aforementioned settings. Crucially, it looks much better than Xbox 360 or PS3 games (which were only ever 720p anyway and lets face it, look absolutely fine). All in all, very impressed! *EDIT* I recently added a Corsair H60 liquid cooler to my PC and frame rates have shot up! I now get ~30fps in Bioshock Infinite and ~40-45fps in the other games mentioned! This does also reveal that the stock cooler isn't very good...

Plus, This is ignoring the fact that you can overclock the GPU from 844 MHz up to 1013 MHz which should improve things even further! That said, you will need better cooling as I ran the IGPU at 950 MHz and after a while the system either froze or came up with a BSOD (though this was not helped by the fact that I deliberately chose a slim, < 10 cm deep, micro ATX case - in a larger case, this may not have been an issue). Plus any gains may be reduced by the reliance on system memory bandwidth, but as I have established, the A10 can play recent games on medium(ish) settings at 1080p so I wouldn't worry.

Overall, this is a very good APU. If you are planning to use 1866 MHz RAM, however, buy the older (and slightly, EDIT: significantly, cheaper) A10-5800K as the difference is negligible in other regards and can probably be GPU OC'ed as well.

In summary, it's like spending ~90 on an Intel CPU and a further ~60-70 on a graphics card - all for just over 100!

However, the new Kaveri A10-7850K is out now so if you want the most powerful APU, that's what you want. It uses a newer graphics architecture and outperforms the 6800K slightly in most games, significantly in a few - though with driver updates, the gap is likely to increase. Interestingly, the 7850K's CPU has improved "instructions per clock" but is actually clocked 10% slower than the 6800K so if you plan to use it as a pure CPU, performance will be almost exactly the same. The 7850K has future potential to better use its graphics to speed up the CPU where possible, due to new and improved shared memory technology, but you won't see much benefit beyond a few specific applications for a fair while.

NOTE: Please be aware that if you buy an MSI mainboard, it may not be out of box compatible with this APU! (or indeed any Richland APU) I bought an MSI board back in May and the stock BIOS was version 1.7 which is NOT Richland compatible - upshot is that I needed to buy a Trinity A4 just to get the damn thing working! If you buy one now, it MAY work out of box, but it may not... (mine was manufactured in Feb, BIOS update was in April so it could go either way now)

*Edit* Just read the "most helpful review from Amazon.com" and he has a lot of useful stuff to say that I didn't touch on... However, the new Kaveri APUs use FM2+ socket - Richland and Trinity work on FM2+, but not the other way around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast and hot, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD APU A10 6800K Black Edition Quad Core Processor (Socket FM2, 4.1GHz, 4MB, 100W, AD680KWOHLBOX, Richland, Turbo Core 3.0 Technology, Virtualization Technology) (Personal Computers)
My first build with AMD CPU, didn't realize the thing gets really hot. The supplied heatsink/fan worked fine when I had the motherboard alone in the case (54-56 C full load), but as soon as I put other things in the case, it was getting hotter, and after I closed the case, it was reaching 72 C. Admittedly, I used it in a mini ITX build, in a no gamer case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, perfoms decently when gaming, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD APU A10 6800K Black Edition Quad Core Processor (Socket FM2, 4.1GHz, 4MB, 100W, AD680KWOHLBOX, Richland, Turbo Core 3.0 Technology, Virtualization Technology) (Personal Computers)
It's a really good value APU. If you don't know, an APU is basically a CPU and GPU in one, and buying this will cost you less than building a similar rig from a discrete CPU and GPU.

I use this with 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 2133 MHz RAM. Ram frequency is important for gaming with an APU, as it will increase performance. This is not really the case when using a discrete CPU and GPU. With a discrete GPU, it has its own dedicated GDDR5 memory, which is fast. With an APU, the GPU shares its memory with the CPU, so the RAM acts as the graphics memory. This is why RAM speed matters when APU gaming.

Make sure you get a motherboard that supports the 2133MHz or better RAM that you should be pairing this with.

I can run COD Ghosts 1080p Medium around 30FPS, usually ranging from 27 - 34FPS. I can run Splinter Cell: Blacklist 720p Low at around 45FPS. When going to 1080p Low with Blacklist, the frame rate is around 25FPS, which is why I play 720p. Portal 2 runs very well, but I can't remember my settings. Lego Star Wars 3 1080p High runs around 60FPS.

Hopefully you will find these benchmarks useful. I've had this for a while and will be upgrading to one of the new Kaveri APUs in January, specifically the new A10-7850k, which will improve performance quite a bit over this. If you're looking to build a PC, consider waiting for the 7850k, which uses a DIFFERENT SOCKET (FM2 vs FM2+). The socket is important as your motherboard needs to have the correct socket for your CPU or APU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD APU A10 6800K Black Edition Quad Core Processor (Socket FM2, 4.1GHz, 4MB, 100W, AD680KWOHLBOX, Richland, Turbo Core 3.0 Technology, Virtualization Technology) (Personal Computers)
As expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars literally hot out the box, 15 Feb 2014
This review is from: AMD APU A10 6800K Black Edition Quad Core Processor (Socket FM2, 4.1GHz, 4MB, 100W, AD680KWOHLBOX, Richland, Turbo Core 3.0 Technology, Virtualization Technology) (Personal Computers)
I havent had a chance to stress this APU to the max and can honestly say im afraid to, base clock I am idling at 75 thats with 3 120mm coolermaster fans, the heatsink and from a cold start, so either piriform is lying or the APU is genuinely VERY HOT would recommend a better heatsink for this APU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works well, 14 Feb 2014
By 
J. Churchill (England - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD APU A10 6800K Black Edition Quad Core Processor (Socket FM2, 4.1GHz, 4MB, 100W, AD680KWOHLBOX, Richland, Turbo Core 3.0 Technology, Virtualization Technology) (Personal Computers)
Good chip, good speed, not massively heavy on power draw. Although your not going to be running the latest first person shooter on it the graphics card it actually quite decent for an integrated chip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good APU, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD APU A10 6800K Black Edition Quad Core Processor (Socket FM2, 4.1GHz, 4MB, 100W, AD680KWOHLBOX, Richland, Turbo Core 3.0 Technology, Virtualization Technology) (Personal Computers)
Ticks all thew boxes, this CPU is everything you'll need with excellent overclocking abilities and built in high performance graphics. I have been running games in 720p on maximum settings. However I will be adding an XFX Radeon HD 7750 1GB GDDR5 Graphics Card to boost performance further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good compromise between power and cost, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD APU A10 6800K Black Edition Quad Core Processor (Socket FM2, 4.1GHz, 4MB, 100W, AD680KWOHLBOX, Richland, Turbo Core 3.0 Technology, Virtualization Technology) (Personal Computers)
I've been using the AMD A10 6800K for about 6 months in a self-built computer and I'm pleased with the speed and responsiveness of the system. The processing power is excellent for the price. The on-board graphics are good enough for video and simple 3D applications and have saved me the cost of a separate graphics card, but more demanding gamers will almost certainly want a dedicated card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast engine for Linux, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Tony (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD APU A10 6800K Black Edition Quad Core Processor (Socket FM2, 4.1GHz, 4MB, 100W, AD680KWOHLBOX, Richland, Turbo Core 3.0 Technology, Virtualization Technology) (Personal Computers)
Impressive engine for a new Linux Mint build.

Installed into an ASRock Extreme 4 mainboard with Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600MHz CL9 8GB DIMM and OCZ SSD.

On-board graphics easily meet the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars packaging was very poor., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AMD APU A10 6800K Black Edition Quad Core Processor (Socket FM2, 4.1GHz, 4MB, 100W, AD680KWOHLBOX, Richland, Turbo Core 3.0 Technology, Virtualization Technology) (Personal Computers)
packaging was very poor. the parcel was too large for the item and was moving from side to side causing both ends of the parcel to be open.There was no internal packaging to prevent that happening.Luckely the item is working
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews