Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it is a good game
, a lot better, i did the game in 7 hours, should have had more sub missions, and should have been longer, i felt bad when the game ended , i just wanted to keep playing, i bit of a shame. and a bit more depth, all said and down i enjoyed it
Published 3 months ago by monkey

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's naff, but its naff in a good way :-)
Right, let me explain. Firstly it is a naff cheesy game, with graphics that are not that good considering how far some games have come in the twilight of the ps3. The controls are, ok, the frame rate, is ok. The order wheel has been done before, band of brothers hells highway is similar.

So that is the basic stuff, and your wondering why I have it a 3 and said...
Published 10 months ago by M. J. Sparkes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's naff, but its naff in a good way :-), 27 Aug 2013
By 
M. J. Sparkes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3) (Video Game)
Right, let me explain. Firstly it is a naff cheesy game, with graphics that are not that good considering how far some games have come in the twilight of the ps3. The controls are, ok, the frame rate, is ok. The order wheel has been done before, band of brothers hells highway is similar.

So that is the basic stuff, and your wondering why I have it a 3 and said it was still good. I am an ancient gamer, i have been playing since c64's and love games, after smashing through bioshock infinite 1999 mode and loving it. I honestly enjoyed the bureau Xoom declassified. It is cheesy, the cut scenes, dialogue, and voice acting are nice and thunderbird esq. with naff in game lines that make you giggle. The graphics are not great, but who cares, the story line is nice and 60's paranoia fun. The controls are a tad clunky which is a bit of a bummer, but its really no big deal.

So i would say its worth a laugh, its nothing new, but its certainly not dreadful or disappointing, its a ood punt for a weekend rental if your bored and want a smile. I would say that it is also worth it when it comes down a bit in price, maybe 20 ish.

Just one important thing to mention, if you want it like xcom that came out a while back, then you will be gutted, its not like that at all.

It's a squad based shooter, with orders, average graphics, naff voice acting that is hilarious and will give you a giggle if you let it.

So dont get stressed, dont expect miracles, and you will be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it is a good game, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3) (Video Game)
, a lot better, i did the game in 7 hours, should have had more sub missions, and should have been longer, i felt bad when the game ended , i just wanted to keep playing, i bit of a shame. and a bit more depth, all said and down i enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Jury is still out.., 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3) (Video Game)
Like all good franchises in the gaming world, there has to be a runt of the litter.. And sorry 2K this is it..

From the off the if it felt rushed (More so with the day 1 update) rendering was allover the place and the enemy AI was easier to read than the gossip column in a magazine. The charactors were for the most part worryingly killable all thanks to the 'Squad Orders' wheel, which actually aided the enemy in it's quest to kill you! How many other people can safely say that the simple move order turned into a suicide run that got one of your best agents killed, and were you trying to move behind cover before he shot off like Bolt?. Another bug bear is the weird sensation that your weaponary even when you locate the alien hardware is somewhat lacking in the stopping power department.. C'mon we know Muton's are tough cookies but surely their own plasma weaponary ought to make a dent?

Anyway that's the end of the rant on the negatives.. Now for the positives.

I have to admit once you ignore the 'issues' it's not a bad game, the story is emersive and flowing, the skills tree is astounding especially if you make the odd mistake on what skills to pick. The voice acting is well done, and the missions are labour intensive which is what I like about the Xcom franchise in general; Missions where people will die if you take your eye off the ball and where hard grinding can lead to well deserved rewards.

2K in my book still have a lot to do to regain my confidence especially after Mafia 2, but I think the general scope of this game is showing that they are moving forward, I think that their work with Rockstar will aid them further.

Final Verdict? The jury is still out on the decision but it has promise, just fix the bugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good game, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3) (Video Game)
Takes a bit of getting used to and lacks a bit of polish. Probably more fun if you played and enjoyed xcom enemy unknown but it is hard to consider it a prequel since I can't really believe the events of the game could lead to the start of xcom enemy unknown with no prior knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bureau: Worth it for about 5, 29 April 2014
By 
M Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3) (Video Game)
XCOM is a popular RTS-RPG that has recently been revived by previous generation of consoles. It started with Enemy From Within but prior to that game's release there were trailers for The Bureau. That was many years ago and a long drawn out complicated production is generally cause for concern.

However The Bureau is actually a decent game and very enjoyable. I got my copy for 5 including postage with amazon. I feel like I got my money's worth, but I'd be annoyed if I paid full price for it.

The graphics are dated or stylish depending on your stance. I found them stylish and they suited the era the game is based is. Combat is pulled right out of Mass Effect, RPG elements, a squad, cover based shooting. Even multiple choice conversations. All these elements are not as strong as Mass Effect but it does have better controls than the former.

The plot is enjoyable, it is less than standard evil Aliens want to consume the world. There are elements of mystery and intrigue and the sleepwalker npcs are enjoyably spooky! The dialogue is good and again feels correct for the era. The conversation branching is pointless at best. Mainly allowing you to learn more of a situation rather than have any major plot effects. There are some choices that do effect something but they are so superficial they aren't worth thinking over.

Gameplay pacing is good. Missions are rough 1 to 2 hours long with mini missions that take 20 or so minutes. Time back at base takes up the rest of your time and you can engage in some pointless quests for npcs in the base.

Gameplay itself is generally enjoyable but can at times be highly irritating. The AI of your squad is just not there. They are basically turrets that require constant management to be effective. When you master handling your team combat gets easier. Enemy AI isn't anything to write home about either. Combat is made fun purely by the variety of foes and the assortment of powers that friend and foe can wield alike. Powers for allies include a lift, laser turret, mortar strike and combat stims that boost damage.

Controls are tight which is a good thing and the levels are linear with a few nooks to seek extra supplies. Weapons are a mixed bag, as soon as you obtain alien weaponry you seem to stick with it and the game doesn't help you choose your weapons wisely. You have to experiment yourself.

Its a fun game if you can get used to your squads AI, theres not a lot to come back for once completed as the campaign doesnt really branch. Its not amazingly long about 10 to 12 hours. For a long production cycle there isnt enough meat to keep you chewing which is shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok game, but nothing more, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3) (Video Game)
Played this game through, i usually like X com games. This has a new angle on how to play the games as it is more action based. I felt that the missions got quite repetitive after a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not the greatest, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3) (Video Game)
STILL FUN what more do u want. Amazon is very annoying in that it forces u to have a word count. Blah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good game that seems to have been unfairly maligned, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3) (Video Game)
It would have been better for the Bureau had it not tried to link with the classic xcom series - it's a much different type of game and this will always leave a bad taste in the mouth of fans of the original. That said it's a very good game in its own right, combining solid mass effect-esq third person style gameplay with an intriguing setting and great atmosphere.

The only criticism that I could level at this game is that very occasionally the companion AI would develop suicidal tendencies and that the pace of the game was a little rushed and could have benefited from a more softly-softly approach to build tension
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it could have been, 17 Jan 2014
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3) (Video Game)
I'll be honest, I stopped playing it after a few missions. It is not as fun as it could have been. Controlling the other characters is difficult and tiresome, and it has little if anything to do with X-Com. Buy it at deep discount only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Particularly liked the way the graphic made the game feel like ..., 7 July 2014
This review is from: The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3) (Video Game)
Very enjoyable and challenging on the highest level. Particularly liked the way the graphic made the game feel like a 60s scifi movie. ai was effective.

The only downside was that you had a feeling the game was rushed though production. There were a number of multiple choice dialogues at the base and in some of the cut scene however you always get to choose all the options and they have no effect on game play. This gives the impression they were planning on different story line options but changed their mind or run out of time/budget.

As much as I enjoyed the combat missions I had the feeling that this game could have been so much better, there were very limited mission choices and none of the R&D or base design you'd expect from an xcom game. Overall the game was a very linear real time squad shoot'em up with limited strategy.

Bottom line - enjoyable game, some good ideas, nice graphics but could have been so much more. Definitely worth playing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3)
The Bureau: XCOM Declassified (PS3) by Take 2 Interactive (PlayStation 3)
6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews