Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adds variety to an already complex game
The only real point of buying a copy of the game as opposed to downloading from Steam is to save £4 or if you want something for your `game shelf'. As I'm sad and own a copy of all the previous versions of Civilization I got my copy from Amazon. As previous reviews have stated, the installation process is tiresome but after a short(ish) wait I had the game up and...
Published 23 months ago by sheep

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cannot Install
If you're buying this game as a hard copy for the sole purpose of installing it without downloading it, DO NOT BOTHER!

For those who do not know, the default for all new Steam published games is for installation to occur via download. This is regardless of whether you have a disc or not. However, if you do happen to have a disc, there is no simple method of...
Published 21 months ago by MichaelCiv


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game that got even better., 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Best turn-based strategy game ever. It's very addictive, challenging, tactical and very good looking. The addiction of the political system turns the game even more complex considering the relationships with other civilizations and city states. This is an amazing game despite all the minimal flaws that may have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 13 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. Michael Adams (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
More of the same with twists and bonuses. The game is great and this does add a slightly new dimension with a different take on culture. I like some of the new leaders and troops. All in all I would recommend this to any Civ5 player. I was very pleased with supplier - the delivery was very prompt, after release date, and price was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tourist invasion, 5 Sept. 2013
By 
Patrick Mullane (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Overall pleased with the upgrade.
The positives are that the new diplomatic options and the choices of ideology, along with the pre-existing enhancements from earlier add-ons, breath fresh insight and playability into this excellent game.
The negative, is that I've noticed since installation that Civ-5 is running much slower and so have had to cut down on the graphics options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have played 120 hours on Civ V and just had to get the expansion. So far very happy with the new features and additions.. Item was received very quick, installed from the DVD, no issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality expansion, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Just as the reviews I read before buying this expansion expressed, this is a brilliant add on. Suddenly any type of victory is actually possible, as long as you know what you are doing. The game is not just fading into a losing or winning game by the mid term, you now still have a chance to turn it round. It makes it more exciting, it makes you watch others progress more and you have to alter your path due to what's going on around you. The extra civilisations are a nice addition for more varied gameplay and it now feels like a more complete game. I think I have enjoyed more games since this expansion pack than I ever have before, even going back as far as Civ2. Definitely a must buy expansion, probably one of the few in recent game history that has really been worth the extra money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FUN.ADDICTIVE., 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Make your own civilisation to stand the pace of time. This DLC is not as improving as G&K, but it is a beautiful addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some Great Bits, 25 Nov. 2013
By 
L. Bower - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
After trying the demo I thought this was going to be a great up grade to the game but they have change some of the elements I enjoyed. You can't go to war without everyone turning against you and the spies and religious elements can become very annoying. The new wonders, races and other science elements are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what i expected, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I did not know that you have to join a site so you can download something so you can play the game, i have tried but got a bit confusing so it is now sitting on a shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the Expanison to Complete Civilization 5, 8 Sept. 2013
By 
Harry (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Civilization V has not completely lived up to its full potential since its release. That is until now. Civilization V: A Brave New World is the final piece of Sid Meier`s jigsaw puzzle, which offers the series a breath of fresh air and re-energised it by giving it additional features, including a whole new perspective on culture and winning a cultural victory. Adding to the flavour of game victory, Civilization V has also strengthen the diplomatic and domination victory conditions by supplementing it with extra features, which goes hand in hand with the previous types.

Like always, everything can improve and nothing is perfect. Therefore, the former is the reason I have not offered this expansion pack for Civilization V the five stars it should deserve. In my opinion, A Brave New World is grander and enjoyable to play compared to the previous expansion, God's and Kings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Civilization V - who don't know this title?, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Expansion Pack (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Good expansion but still AI seems to be dumb at some point. It's just algorithm so I didn't expect too many improvements. Anyway - nice play, a lot of difficulty levels, a number of battles and reseach developments. And a number of other improvements and features. Good expansion pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World Expansion Pack (PC DVD)
£21.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews