Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First time on DVD..., 16 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD] (DVD)
This was originally broadcast as series four and five. Available for the first time here on DVD. Karl Howman stars as the optimistic Jacko taking on the world once again with paintbrush in hand. Written by the acclaimed comedy writers of The Good Life, John Esmode and Bob Larbey. Also produced and directed by John B. Hobbs.

With the collapse of Jacko's business 'Splosh' he returns to a whole new Bainbridge's without Lionel, due to him having passed away. Old friend Elmo returns from Australia a wealthy man. With his new found wealth he opens up Elmo Putney's Wine Bar. Who will ever forget the pink interior of that bar. It was the best interior of a bar that people seem to remember. Not even the bar in 'Cheers' or 'Early Doors' even match it.
In the final series with Veronica in love, she thinks about selling the buiness. Where will this leave Jacko and friends?

Watch these 14 episodes and all will be revealed.

Specials Features:
The specials features here are not very good with Cast Filmography previously being used before. Subtitles are standard issue on any release but are classed as a special feature here.

Other releases:
Brush Strokes: The Complete Series One & Two (25th Anniversary Edition) [DVD]
This was originally broadcast as Series One.

Brush Strokes - BBC Series Three and Four [DVD]
This was originally broadcast as Series Two and Three.

This is a must for fan's of the hilarious comedy series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 26 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD] (DVD)
After watching all four series I couldn't wait to watch the next but it wasn't available until now. Thankfully it has been put onto DVD for the world to see. The DVD is a great way to pass time and have a few laughs however it is slightly dampened by the fact Lionel Jaco's former boss has passed away and Jaco has lost his business. I think series four would have been a great place to stop and I would have changed the ending but that's me and to any fan of brush strokes it's well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good light hearted entertainment., 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD] (DVD)
I liked the programme when it was shown on TV years ago. I was not in the least disappointed watching it again on DVD. In fact I enjoyed it more. Brush strokes is a timeless classic. Jacko is a very likeable character and I start laughing before Elmo opens his mouth. Brush stroke rates alongside other British comedy such as "Only when I laugh", "As time Goes By", "Open all Hours" and many others. I have all the Brush stroke series now and I wish they had made more. It is good light hearted entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
G. Hill (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD] (DVD)
I now have the full set and it was such a classic programme in its day and even better now on dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy at its best, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
J. Mero (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD] (DVD)
This is what makes the best within comedy, amusing but poignant, with oodles of charm. And things don't go quite as expected. Acting is as usual top class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Last Episodes, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD] (DVD)
I was a fan of the show in the 80's. I couldn't remember how this finished, so it was good to see that. It was a little sad to see the whole cast all going their seperate ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As funny as I remembered it, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series. I love all the characters and have fond memories of this series. Well worth buying. Very funny comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as we remembered!, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD] (DVD)
What a pity these are the last in the series. We remember it from the original broadcast dates but family members in their twenties also love it. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY VERY GOOD /WOULD RECOMMEND, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD] (DVD)
I WATCHED THIS PROGRAM MANY YEARS AGO ,I REALLY ENJOYED IT THEN .
I HAVE NOW PURCHASED ALL SIX SERIES OF BRUSH STROKES,AND ENJOYED IT JUST AS MUCH.
THE ACTING IS VERY GOOD ALSO IT IS VERY FUNNY ,ITS A PITY THERE IS NO MORE TO BE MADE.
THE COMEDY PROGRAMS TODAY ARE NOT AS FUNNY AS THEY WERE THEN, THERE IS NOT ANY SWEARING OR VULGARITY IN IT ,JUST GOOD ACTING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good and worth it, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD] (DVD)
Good series to watch but not quite as good as earlier series when Lionel was in it but still amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD]
Brush Strokes - BBC Series Five and Six [DVD] by John B. Hobbs (DVD - 2013)
£15.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews