Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, fabulous scenery.
Got this as a Xmas gift and took it to our house in France to watch over the festive season. A wonderful blast from the past - but one that has stood the passage of time very well indeed.

Just as funny as I remembered, gloriously irreverent and with a wonder sense of time and place. A joy to behold.
Vive La France.
Published 6 months ago by Oven Cleaning Anne

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story still good but film quality poor
I managed to get a copy of this about a year ago off EBay and enjoyed the story and acting enough to make me buy this 'official' issue. I had expected that this latest release would have better sound and picture quality but this is not the case. As others have said picture quality is grainy & sound quality not great. There must be a way of getting a better copy from the...
Published 8 months ago by deltak


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story still good but film quality poor, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle [DVD] (DVD)
I managed to get a copy of this about a year ago off EBay and enjoyed the story and acting enough to make me buy this 'official' issue. I had expected that this latest release would have better sound and picture quality but this is not the case. As others have said picture quality is grainy & sound quality not great. There must be a way of getting a better copy from the original film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, Poor & Poor, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Kevin Simpson "skiprags" (Bournemouth. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle [DVD] (DVD)
Thanks Amazon, received this on the 2nd.November just before its release due date that's the good bit now I come to the bad bit. This has got to be one of the WORST DVD releases in terms of quality I have seen in quite a while, i know what other customers will say it was made over 40yrs ago blah! blah! blah! but the cover photo & others on the reverse, on the DVD sleeve, is as clear as its going to get & you DO get excellent series on DVD from 40/50 yrs ago I know because I have some myself. We the DVD/collector have been waiting a good few years for this series to be released onto DVD, now I can see why it has never appeared & why NO Blu-ray release was announced. It has got a lot of grain, scratches, the video stock it was filmed/recorded on is poor quality because this cannot have been filmed on film if it was then it must have been stored in a dustbin. Seems like, because of the poor quality, it was transferred from poor VHS tape onto DVD, & to produce a quality Blu-ray product for release would have cost too much in restoration & I don't think the quality was there to restore, which is a shame, because anything would have been better than this sorry excuse for a release. RLJ Entertainment (never heard of them) who released this should be ashamed of themselves this is not good enough!! this is just cashing in on the Christmas DVD market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VHS?, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle [DVD] (DVD)
After waiting for months - what a disappointment. The cast could not be faulted. The dialogue and storyline stick close to the book and there are even subtitles for those of us who saw it in 1972. The Picture Gallery shows what it should have looked like so I wonder if, given the BBC's desire to wipe anything of value to save a few pence worth of tape, this is taken from a `home-brew' VHS tape?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, fabulous scenery., 2 Jan 2014
This review is from: Clochemerle [DVD] (DVD)
Got this as a Xmas gift and took it to our house in France to watch over the festive season. A wonderful blast from the past - but one that has stood the passage of time very well indeed.

Just as funny as I remembered, gloriously irreverent and with a wonder sense of time and place. A joy to behold.
Vive La France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clochemerle DVD, 15 Dec 2013
This review is from: Clochemerle [DVD] (DVD)
Saw the original TV production, so great to have the DVD. Timeless in its humour and appeal. Absolutely brilliant. Excellent cast. Peter Ustinov's narration superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonjour, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle [DVD] (DVD)
This is brilliant British comedy, the way it should be. Well done for releasing this it has been a long time coming. Should be a re run as it has been missed by millions!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Je ne regrette rien, 8 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Clochemerle [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sorry, but I've got to disagree. There's better and worse out there in terms of quality and this isn't bad at all considering it's age, it's worn rather well, and considerably better than I have.
Classic cast, classic comedy, classic Galton & Simpson. And there's always cause to celebrate when someone takes the risk of digging into the vaults and releasing never before released classics. Never mind the quality - feel the comedy!
PS I believe RLJ is the new umbrella for Acorn - and they have a track record in caring about TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle [DVD] (DVD)
Very Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle [DVD] (DVD)
Brought back memopies of reading the book - too many years ago to mention!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clochemerle [DVD] (DVD)
Took me back to my youth. The acting is a bit dated by modern standards, perhaps, but the cast is magnificent and the story is still as enjoyable and full of twists and turns as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clochemerle [DVD]
Clochemerle [DVD] by Cyril Cusack (DVD - 2013)
17.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews