Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun and excellent cast, 14 Aug 2013
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans [DVD] (DVD)
This is a well made and highly enjoyable murder mystery romp. Closely following Agatha Christie's original story, this is a beautifully filmed adaptation. Extensive location filming adds greatly to the appeal and helps prevent it from feeling too dated. Lots of beautiful countryside and country houses give it a charming warm feel. There are flashes of humour and moments of suspense. This London Weekend Television really does date from one of the golden ages of ITV.

A strong cast is headed by Francesca Annis and James Warwick who would effectively play a Christie detective duo so well again a few years later as Tommy and Tuppence. Joan Hickson also has a memorable role as a posh yet garrulous Mrs Rivington, just four years later she would play her star turn as Miss Marple for the BBC, a very different role.

At more than 3 hours this is long film, the price paid for keeping so much detail. It is so well made and well paced it never drags. The original 1980 broadcast with ad breaks must have been a slog however without the luxury of the pause button.

The picture quality is fine. The bonus features don't amount to too much show effort by the DVD producers. The ad captions have been edited out of this film, which affects the musical score in places where it fades in or out suddenly. It's a shame they haven't been left in like Network DVD do with theirs, no matter, this is a highly enjoyable romp and recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Christie story., 14 May 2014
By 
A. Jenkins "Grandad." (Glamorgan.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans [DVD] (DVD)
If you enjoy Marple and Poirot, you will enjoy this too. A body is found on a beach and the person who finds it gets involved in finding out what rally happened. I really enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charming and true to the book, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans [DVD] (DVD)
This is a delightful murder mystery, typical of the Agatha Christie genre. Our hero and heroin are amateur sleuths with not a lot better to do, when suspicious circumstances surround a man falling off a cliff. Their investigations get them into scrapes and danger, but the drama unravels in the usual delightful Agatha Christie way, with equal helpings of humour and suspense, until the denouement.

This is not the place to start if you are not already familiar with Agatha Christie, especially as this film is three hours long, but if you have enjoyed Poirot and Marple and want more of the same, then you will enjoy this too. The acting and the locations are good and the clues just tantalising enough to keep you guessing to the end.

The three hour length of this film makes it truer to the books than the much televised Poirot and Marple, but to my mind that just means that you get more for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned Whodunit, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans [DVD] (DVD)
Agatha Christie performed as it should be - mystery, subtle humour and little bit 'tongue in cheek'. The star cast are excellent, especially the lovely Francesca Annis and her gorgeous clothes (even my husband notice those!) and equally gorgeous old cars. Three hours of good old-fashioned entertainment. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A television materpiece, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans [DVD] (DVD)
As an Agatha Christie fan, I can find hundreds of different reasons to like an Agatha Christie movie. Since I was 12 years old and I was reading the books, I was dreaming to see each one on the big screen and even more, to make a cinema-room in my house with a big screen of my own and watch my favorite films every day. I did not know then that DVD playes and discs would be invented, but even when they became available to everyone, the films were not as many as I would like. So, my congatulations to the people of the DVD company that makes available to anyone these television products which were seen only by British audience. Then, my congratulations to the British television people who decided in the first place to produce those films. Gongatulations to those who hire all those very talented actors. I knew sir Gielgud from "Murder on the Orient Exress", a fine gentleman in deed, but i could not imagine that Fransesca Annis was so marvelous -who, by the way, on the new TV series Miss Marple, in the story "at Bertram's Hotel" where she has a role, she looks ravishing as well. I am going to bye everything that Francesca Annis has done. Wonderful adition to the cast was Joan Hickson, the very serious Miss Marple of the old TV series which looks pretty, rich, flamboyant, even naughty in this DVD. How do you like that? Actors are devils. My warmest congatulations to the people that made the costumes, and the hats, fantastic. And many many thanks to anyone who decided that the original film would be 180 minutes long. An Agatha Christie fan has always an appetite for a litlle more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie Adaptations, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent adaptation of a rather complicated story. Nowadays it would be done in half the time and and lose the plot.
The strengh of this productionis the excellent cast and particularly good are the cameo parts by the likes of Joan Hickson(soon to give an unmatched performance as Miss Marple), John Gielgud and others. The leading players - James Warwick, Francesca Annis' Leigh Lawson and Eric Porter are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Francesca, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans [DVD] (DVD)
Alright, it is from the eighties. But good plot in a stunning landscape with Big houses, good costumes and cars, all playing in the Thirties.
Good Dialogues. English Subtitles for HOH or people improving english.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars murder, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoy Agatha Christie and this version of Why Didn't They Ask Evens is worth watching and worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans [DVD] (DVD)
good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Christie's Why Didn't They Ask Evans [DVD]
£10.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews