Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Entertaining - Highly recommended
Lucinda Hawksley's book chronicles the struggles women faced and the hardships they endured to obtain the right to vote in the United Kingdom. I highly recommended March, Women, March for its insight into the lives of the women who refused to let men 'keep them in their place'. First and foremost, March, Women, March provides a historical account of the women's movement...
Published 15 months ago by Melissa Mourton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Clear and factual
If you want a straightforward history of the women's suffrage movement this books gives it. The amount of detail is slightly uneven and the writing doesn't always flow smoothly but the story of the fight for electoral representation is
clearly presented.
Published 2 months ago by P


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and Entertaining - Highly recommended, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Women March (Hardcover)
Lucinda Hawksley's book chronicles the struggles women faced and the hardships they endured to obtain the right to vote in the United Kingdom. I highly recommended March, Women, March for its insight into the lives of the women who refused to let men 'keep them in their place'. First and foremost, March, Women, March provides a historical account of the women's movement but it is as much a 'good read' as documentary.

Hawksley's book contains intriguing excerpts from letters and diaries of the time and brings to light a number of lesser known facts including Winston Churchill's schemes to undermine the movement and the fact that women in New Zealand and Australia received the right to vote over thirty years before women in the U.K.

March, Women, March recounts the persecutions women suffered and the extreme measures they were forced to take in their quest for equality. Thoroughly interesting, well-written and immensely educational - March, Women, March is a must read for women of all ages and a great book for women to share with their male friends, sons and spouses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative book and an enjoyable read, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March, Women, March (Kindle Edition)
Ms Hawksley is to be commended for producing a factual book that is also a very enjoyable read. So often books of this genre are either dumbed down or resort to mere speculation in an effort to hold the reader's interest, this book does neither. The facts are presented to the reader in such a way that one is loathe to put it down.

Despite the reviews I was expecting the usual book on female suffrage - that is - the author going on at length about the Pankhursts and force feeding.
I was both surprised and delighted to find this book is full review of female suffrage and, unlike so many, it does not start and end with the WSPU and the Pankhursts. It is a welcome change to find a book on this subject that charts not only the history of female suffrage but the "back story" - such as the brave women who fought for women to allowed to own property,become doctors, and be treated fairly in divorce cases. Reading some books on the subject one could be forgiven for thinking that only the Pankhursts and Upper class women were involved in the movement. Ms Hawksley is at pains to mention the amount of other organisations involved which, of course, span the social classes. The non militant NUWSS gets the recognition it richly deserves. Unlike so many books this is not a hagiography of the Pankhursts and surprising facts emerge.
The book is packed with women fighting in the cause of suffrage, many are not well known today, but they all richly deserve their place in the history of the movement.
An excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative to the end!, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Women March (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book for the detail and knowledge it portrayed. I deliver women's service for a living so have a general interest in the subject, but there was much here and I didn't know and the datelines are truly fascinating. There were so many other women beyond those that are well known that did so much to try and further women's rights - it was also interesting to read about those (men and women) who were absolutely opposed and their reasons....this will be re read over the years and remain a constant on my bookshelf!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to get you wanting to know more, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March, Women, March (Kindle Edition)
I have given 5 stars because I was half expecting a book which just listed names and dates or dwelled over long on hunger strikers. As it was I found the book really interesting. It introduced much that I did not know about the subject and the brave women who fought for me to have the vote. I would like to see this as required reading in schools lest we forget. Interesting, informative and entertaining. Who could ask for more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it - you have nothing to lose but your chains..., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March, Women, March (Kindle Edition)
An excellent account of the women's suffrage movement that reads like a novel. The lessons & arguments today are very similar, perhaps the geography has just changed. There's a great deal of work to be done & this book is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March, Women, March (Kindle Edition)
A really interesting read and one I enjoyed immensely. Well worth buying for anyone interested in nineteenth and twentieth century history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars March woman march, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March, Women, March (Kindle Edition)
Extremely interesting read I learned much more about the subject than I dreamed possible those women were so brave and strong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very sound introduction to the world of the Pankhursts and Women's Suffrage, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Women March (Hardcover)
Bought this for my goddaughter who is studying this period for GCSE History. She was thrilled. It's an academic book, but written in a very approachable style and the information is just enough to whet her enthusiasm without her feeling bogged down. Plus there are so many people and events mentioned which she can pursue for further research. A good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Clear and factual, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March, Women, March (Kindle Edition)
If you want a straightforward history of the women's suffrage movement this books gives it. The amount of detail is slightly uneven and the writing doesn't always flow smoothly but the story of the fight for electoral representation is
clearly presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just the Pankhursts..., 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March, Women, March (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put this down, a heartbraking account of the women abused and tortured for their determination to achieve their rights. Essential reading for all women and if this doesn't encourage women to turn out to vote, then these women's suffering was in vain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

March, Women, March
March, Women, March by Lucinda Hawksley
5.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews