Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHO CAN SEE THE LIES?,
Emily (Rooney Mara) is clinically depressed. She has been seeing a psychologist (Catherine Zeta-Jones). Her white collar criminal husband (Channing Tatum) is getting out of jail, which leads to more depression. Having failed a suicide attempt, Emily is placed on medication and does the unthinkable. At this point the film goes into an odd mystery/thriller, one where...
Published 23 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perils of Pill Popping
A beautiful young woman remains clinically depressed even after her husband is released from jail for insider training. A failed suicide attempt brings her to the attention of a caring but ambitious psychiatrist (Jude Law) and it seems we are set for an exposé of the US drug industry, by turns reducing everyone to casual pill popping, often ruining the lives of...
Published 24 months ago by Antenna


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Side effect of staid acting; no oscar!!, 27 July 2014
I quite enjoyed the plot of this movie..

typically Hollywood mediocre filming;staid acting facade's aside (no real passion).. it was okay to watch due in the main to the plot. Could have been a good film, if only it had been 'grittier' and more 'real'..

The side effect; no Oscar !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this film, 20 April 2014
Really easy to watch, gripping thriller. Really enjoyed this film. Only chose this because it was free on prime but thought it was a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 20 April 2014
Really good, definitely not the ending I expected. I'm Not a big fan of Jude law but I must say he put in a brilliant performance. Worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One to watch at any time, 18 April 2014
By 
Odysea (London , UK) - See all my reviews
I have seen this movie 2x times now. It’s gripping every time. Even when I feel it’s so detailed and sometimes little slow, I am glued to the screen. Each of the actors puts in an amazing performance. The cast was picked perfectly. Channing Tatum is not in the movie much, if you are renting this film to see him ( he is not my favourite actor, never will be) you will love this film for it’s unpredictability and the plot. This is not an action packed thriller so if you are expecting fast chases and shooting you would be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really taut thriller -highly recommned, 16 April 2014
By 
ppannett (Guernsey, Chanel Islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Side Effects (DVD)
I was surprised by this as I couldn't remember why i ordered it and didn't recognise mosat of the people in it - so I wasn't going in to watch it with preconceptions.
I also couldn't really think where it was going during the first third and then one gets on a real rollercoaster ride.
Rooney Mara who seems to have added weight since the Girl Who and Zeta-Jones were splendid with Jude Law stuck in the middle trying to figure out how he was sliced up.
Thrillers that are plot driven without a fortune spent on special effects do work.
I was so impressed I watched the extras on the DVD and enjoyed those as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good movie, 8 April 2014
pretty good psychologocal movie, pitty not much of channing tatum in it, enjoyed jude tho, you could almost see the twist coming mid movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Movie, 7 April 2014
Great plot from start to finish, fantastic twists, full of surprises and very well acted. Absolutely loved it! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective Drama, 6 April 2014
Slow starting but with interesting Dialogue and Scenes establishing the main Characters well enough to keep you interested until a turning point at which you should find yourself fully immersed in what becomes a nicely unfolding psychological Mystery/Drama
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch, 23 Mar. 2014
This is a top notch film that is full of twists. It keeps you guessing throughout and is very well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!, 23 Mar. 2014
I fully recommended this film to anybody it is absolutely brilliant! I love the way it has been filmed and acted out truly something else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Side Effects [Blu-ray]
Side Effects [Blu-ray] by Stephen Soderbergh (Blu-ray - 2013)
£5.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews