Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
40
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2013
Now in it its 4th release Bob Harris's latest Old grey Whistle Test album is not called The Anthems for nothing. it's full of Anthems of the biggest OGWT artists , Queen, Tom Petty,Bob Dylan ,Fleetwood Mac. they are all on there as well as some acts from a litttle later in the shows life such as the Police, There are not that many live tracks on there but those that are on there are of the highest standard, the Who, The Kinks, Squeeze and the mighty Smiths all make live appearances.It seems that Bob has taken real care in coming up with the tracklisting with some real gems on there from Atlanta Rhythm Section,Santata and Boz Scaggs.. all artists which you wouldnt expect to find on any other compilation album.
Bob keeps rocking after all these years..
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
There is some good stuff on here,that cannot be denied,but and it's a big but;none of these tracks are performances taken from TOGWT.So where is the connection to the show?There is any number of similar compilations around so there is nothing special about this one.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Not a bad album for all of those who enjoy prog rock . Some of the tracks however would challenge that concept . It looks like it is bands of varied genre that appeared on TOGWT . Still worth listening to .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
A fab collection of songs by amazing artists, some tracks I'd never heard before and some strong favourites. If you're an ageing 70s rocker or hippy chick you'll love this
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I should have read the fine print i suppose but i just assumed that
any collection with "the Old Grey Whistle Test" as its title would contain
LIVE PERFORMANCES from the television show of the same name.
Not so as this is simply the OGWT taking advantage of contractual provisions that allow
them to release a certain number of tracks from every OGWT performer (live or otherwise)..
Since most basic recording contracts allow the record company to license tracks to compilation
lps etc without compensation (this all under the guise of promotion)..

This collection is a small example of the slimy goo that passes for "business as usual" in the industry…
This release is to be avoided, its disappointing that such an excellent show would sully their name
with this sludge…

WLS
Hamburg
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Good selection of some of the best Old Grey Whistle Test classics... brought back many memories of my youth. "Whispering" Bob Harris rules !!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
Really good Cd with the music we like, just what we wanted. Brings back good memories of what was an excellent television program.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
This collection is a must for all Old Grey Whistle Test fans, whether of the original series or recent reruns. A MacD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
Just what I expected really but nice to have them all on one collection. Some of the tracks are louder than others.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Takes me back to the good old days when new bands and new releases were eagerly anticipated, it was a great show.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.