Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel. I found myself totally immersed in the Victorian story, at the same time eager to uncover the truth behind the Wedding Certificate. It's a fascinating plot, with lives and events being revealed in a simple narrative style which I felt made it all the more realistic and emotional. I was impressed by the amount of research which...
Published 17 months ago by AJB

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Explained to death
I bought this book on a recommendation from an acquaintance.
While the subject matter was of interest initially the author soon got bogged down in detailed explanation, which became quite tedious after a while.
I found an error in this detail which then had me wondering exactly what else might be incorrect and in the end I gave up caring about the characters and...
Published 13 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Bought it today and couldn't put it down. Anyone interested in family history will enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars intriguing genealogical story, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
I bought this because I'm an amateur genealogist and I find stories about genealogy fascinating. I particularly enjoyed "The Marriage Certificate" because it's not just following an old family history. It starts off by an interest in an old marriage certificate which has no link to the finder - but curiosity leads him on, and it has a heart-warming ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
As a family historian myself, I found this book fascinating. I couldn't put it down. Very well researched and written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Read!, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who takes an active interest in genealogy, I thoroughly enjoyed this book which had a good storyline and touched on elements of the difficulties one encounters in researching family history that all genealogists will have experienced during their own research activities!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a tale!, 6 Sep 2014
By 
L. Elliott "Crochet Hooker" (Stirlingshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
A marriage certificate is an unusual place to start a story, I was intrigued and certainly not disappointed; the interplay between past and present stories built the story up nicely and the ending, whilst unexpected, was perfect!
I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. I am into family history - and found this chase exciting. I was a little confused initially as the several storylines from different periods were being related. However, once I had the families fixed I really enjoyed these continuing stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A plot line wasted, 22 Aug 2014
By 
PC, Kent (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
Reads like a school essay. The plot sounded fascinating and as a genealogist, I enjoy these types of stories. I really wanted to like it but the laborious explanations made me something I rarely do; give up on a book part way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
I love family history research and sometimes watch Heir Hunters. This book combines both strands of these. It was a great story with a lovely twist at the end although I must admit I had guessed as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars separated at birth, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
An intriguing story that with perseverance, an amateur Genealogist can discover wonderful things. There is hope for us all. Good luck in your personal searching. Excellent read of an intriguing story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
Well written and researched. It has given me some ideas on how to progress with my own work on my wife's family tree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Marriage Certificate
The Marriage Certificate by Stephen Molyneux
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews