Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel. I found myself totally immersed in the Victorian story, at the same time eager to uncover the truth behind the Wedding Certificate. It's a fascinating plot, with lives and events being revealed in a simple narrative style which I felt made it all the more realistic and emotional. I was impressed by the amount of research which...
Published 14 months ago by AJB

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Explained to death
I bought this book on a recommendation from an acquaintance.
While the subject matter was of interest initially the author soon got bogged down in detailed explanation, which became quite tedious after a while.
I found an error in this detail which then had me wondering exactly what else might be incorrect and in the end I gave up caring about the characters and...
Published 10 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel. I found myself totally immersed in the Victorian story, at the same time eager to uncover the truth behind the Wedding Certificate. It's a fascinating plot, with lives and events being revealed in a simple narrative style which I felt made it all the more realistic and emotional. I was impressed by the amount of research which must have gone into the book and how the author has managed to mix historical fact, human emotion and modern genealogical techniques into one brilliant story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air!, 9 May 2013
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
Although not a thriller in the usual sense, I found it as gripping as one and didn't want to put it down! Interesting subject matter and a very welcome change from the usual topics books are written around. Thoroughly recommend it. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. As a keen amateur genealogist myself, I could really relate to how addicted Peter became with trying to solve the mysteries he was uncovering as the result of buying an old marriage certificate that had caught his eye on an antique stall. The story was very well-written, and the characters believable, and I was gripped from start to finish! I hope the author will write some more novels on this sort of subject. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing!, 20 May 2013
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
This was such an interesting read. I read it in one sitting, and was gripped by the historical background, interlaced with modern research techniques. The story bowls along, releasing its secrets in a most entertaining way, and building up to a surprisingly tense denouement. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant genealogy read, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
I am also into genealogy, so as the story unfolded, understood all the ways that he tried to research Rose's life. It weaves from one generation to another beautifully. Not only is it a love story but a family history lesson as well ! Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
Not my usual choice of read, nevertheless, the element of mystery, believable characters, storyline and historical context kept me hooked to the end. This is an easy read and highly recommended for anyone interested in genealogical research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid And Informative Read, 26 July 2013
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
This book was engaging both due to the family history that forms the story's core, and the genealogical methods used to discover that history. Whilst the family may itself be fictional, the author writes of its members with such authority and knowledge of his subject that it is easy to see this as almost a universal tale of ancestry.
Although I feel that the plot drags a little towards the middle, it quickly picks up pace again and leads to an interesting finale.
A great deal of research has clearly been done, particularly with regards to dates and the nature of the Boer and First World wars. The writing style suits the content insofar as it is straightforward and designed to further the plot, rather than lingering for too long on descriptive detail.
It is a book well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Nov 2013
By 
robyn "robyn" (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
Great to see some genealogy fiction/mystery books out there.
I loved "The Marriage Certificate" and could well relate to Peter Sefton each time the postman arrived bring envelopes containing birth, death or marriage certificates.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, loved the suspense and the surprise at the VERY end was something I'd contemplated while
reading the book but had forgotten when I got more and more involved with the story.
Only problem is that there is, so far, not another book by Stephen Molyneux to read. I hope "The Marriage Certificate" is the first in a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marriage Certificate (Kindle Edition)
A good family story with intrigue and suspense making it difficult to put down, My bedtime read extended to the early hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Explained to death, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Albatross (Basingstoke,UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book on a recommendation from an acquaintance.
While the subject matter was of interest initially the author soon got bogged down in detailed explanation, which became quite tedious after a while.
I found an error in this detail which then had me wondering exactly what else might be incorrect and in the end I gave up caring about the characters and the outcome. I persevered until the end but even the last minute "beat the clock" scramble left me cold.
On the whole this was an interesting plot idea that was suffocated by too much minutiae and poor execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Marriage Certificate
The Marriage Certificate by Stephen Molyneux
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews