Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kitch and Wonderful Fun!
If you are a fan of Liberace's over-the-top jois de vivre, vulgarity and glamour you will love this dvd as I did! I watched it this afternoon - Christmas Eve - as there was nothing decent on TV and it was wonderful fun - perfect festive viewing!

This dvd really is a gem. It is Liberace himself giving viewers a personal tour of his glamorous home and his...
Published on 24 Dec. 2012 by M. Norris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Documentary about Liberace
Quite interesting to see, before the film with Mat Damon and Michael Douglas.A bit sad when you know he was living a lie,
not being able to come out as a gay man.
He does seem quite a lovable person eager to brag about all his belongings.

Lili Johansen
Denmark
Published 20 months ago by Lili Johansen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kitch and Wonderful Fun!, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
M. Norris "Glamour Fan" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World of Liberace [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of Liberace's over-the-top jois de vivre, vulgarity and glamour you will love this dvd as I did! I watched it this afternoon - Christmas Eve - as there was nothing decent on TV and it was wonderful fun - perfect festive viewing!

This dvd really is a gem. It is Liberace himself giving viewers a personal tour of his glamorous home and his priceless antiques, clothes, cars, pet dogs and kitsch ornaments. A fascinating peek into the life of a legend. He really did live in high style (who else would have their garden CARPETED?!) but he also came across as such a sweet and lovable chap - as the legions of middle aged female fans featured in the dvd prove. He was clearly much loved by the public. His guided tour of his home is intercut with concert footage which reveals the charisma, showmanship and artistry which earned him the money to run his lavish lifestyle.

I was left reflecting how sad it was that he was unable to come out as gay in his lifetime, and feels he has to make excuses to explain why he never married. Had he been born just a decade or two later he could have been open about his sexuality without it affecting his success or standing. It was also hugely unlucky that AIDs came along and took his life when (like the great Freddie Mercury) he would have survived it had the medication been available then to treat him.

All in all I found this documentary thoroughly entertaining, funny and heartwarming. Liberace never minded sending himself up to make people laugh, a wonderful trait in any gifted human being. God bless him, he really was fabulous, his dvd has made my day! Do yourself a favour, crack open a bottle of fizz and sit down to watch this, what a treat you have in store!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars world of Liberace (dvd), 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Of Liberace [DVD] (DVD)
As old as what these documentaries are - they are still Liberace - a legend in his own time and for us golden oldies the nostalgia is still there when we listen to this self indulgent man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I found this DVD most enjoyable, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Of Liberace [DVD] (DVD)
This was a very good DVD most natural and informative , showing his homes and his life style plus with Liberace explaining items that he possessed etc .I found it very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World of Liberace, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Of Liberace [DVD] (DVD)
A fascinating insight into the "over the top" life of an extraordinary showman. A well -made documentary as usual by Tony Palmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Documentary about Liberace, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Of Liberace [DVD] (DVD)
Quite interesting to see, before the film with Mat Damon and Michael Douglas.A bit sad when you know he was living a lie,
not being able to come out as a gay man.
He does seem quite a lovable person eager to brag about all his belongings.

Lili Johansen
Denmark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Liberace at his very best!, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Of Liberace [DVD] (DVD)
A true superb showman, and exceptionally talented pianist! His guided tours around his residences, with their lavish décor, has to be seen to be believed. No wonder he "cried all the way to the bank"! The guy was loaded, and then some !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Of Liberace [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film, I remember Liberace so a lot of fond memories of the genius of this musician. Maybe those who don't re member him may not share the same view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disc was damaged tried several times for refund but no ..., 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Of Liberace [DVD] (DVD)
Disc was damaged tried several times for refund but no luck,a year later I've given up but won't buy again. If I could give this a minus rating I would
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very genuine nice man, 13 May 2014
This review is from: The World of Liberace (DVD)
Back in the 'swinging' sixties I knew a 20 year old girl, completely with it, Mary Quant the lot. She worked for a London TV company helping arrange Contracts between the Stars and the TV companies. Of all the many and varied people she met Liberace stood head and shoulders above the rest simply because he was the most genuine, kind and easy person she dealt with. None of the histrionics and tantrum of many of the others. She helped him choose clothes to take back to the USA for his many staff which he always insisted on doing. And because of the stories she told us about him I have always felt a sort of fondness for him. Unlike quite a few of the others, many of whom are still household names today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mum was delighted with it., 14 Aug. 2014
By 
D. Browning - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Of Liberace [DVD] (DVD)
A good price and quick delivery. Bought as a present - She was delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World Of Liberace [DVD]
The World Of Liberace [DVD] by Tony Palmer (DVD - 2013)
£6.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews