Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collection of classic sci-fi tales.
This is an essential purchase for fans of Alan Moore as it collects his 'Future Shocks' (one shot stories, often with a comical twist) from the British sci-fi comic '2000AD'.
There are some fascinating takes on genre staples present: time-travel, alternate dimensions, the end of the universe, the existence of aliens, and the grinding, 'crap future', dystopia expected...
Published on 7 Dec. 2011 by T. J. Kennedy

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great book not for kindle
I have purchased graphic novels before for my kindle and they worke great, this however was a different story. Very lazy whoever transferred it over to the kindle. Even with my reading glasses on I couldnt make out the words, just too small and too much hassle to click each box.

So I dropped 2 stars off for that, I know the stories from old and they are great,...
Published 16 months ago by JimmyG


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collection of classic sci-fi tales., 7 Dec. 2011
By 
T. J. Kennedy "thomkennedy1983" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an essential purchase for fans of Alan Moore as it collects his 'Future Shocks' (one shot stories, often with a comical twist) from the British sci-fi comic '2000AD'.
There are some fascinating takes on genre staples present: time-travel, alternate dimensions, the end of the universe, the existence of aliens, and the grinding, 'crap future', dystopia expected within the pages of '2000AD'.

Many of the stories have the classic 'Twilight Zone' reverse at the end, but as you'd expect with the writer of 'Watchmen' they are very much unique creations. The artwork is varied, and of the uniformly high standard you would expect from such names as Dave Gibbons and Bryan Talbot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great book not for kindle, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Kindle Edition)
I have purchased graphic novels before for my kindle and they worke great, this however was a different story. Very lazy whoever transferred it over to the kindle. Even with my reading glasses on I couldnt make out the words, just too small and too much hassle to click each box.

So I dropped 2 stars off for that, I know the stories from old and they are great, how I wish they had been transferred correctly then a new generation could enjoy them, as it is a missed opportunity by the publisher. It has stopped me purchasing other 200ad products for my kindle,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, a little bit dark and often funny, 15 Aug. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "Andy" (Colchester, Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately I was out of the country, and probably a bit too young, to read these the first time round. I'm aware of Alan Moore and his many works but haven't read most of them. I'm also aware of 2000AD but had never read an issue before the free comic book day 2012 issue. That's where I read my first Future Shock and I loved it.

Coming across this book on Amazon the combination of Alan Moore and Future Shocks was too much to resist. I'm glad I didn't as the stories are really well written, a little bit dark and often funny. There are loads of good stories but "Last Rumble of the Platinum Horde", "Skirmish" and "The Wages of Sin" where an out of work repairman retrains as an evil galactic tyrant deserve special mention. If you like Alan Moore, Future Shocks or Twilight Zone style dark humour I'd recommend you buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a great blast from the past, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alan Moore is best known for the likes of Watchmen and From Hell, etc, and rightly so, but growing up in 1980s Britain I was in love with the comic 2000AD and the Future Shocks were always my favourite parts - like very brief sci-fi short stories, fully encapsulated in just 2-8 pages. There are so many stories collected here that there is inevitably some recycling in terms of the 'twists' in the end of each tale, but still they are great, the artwork is of a high standard and the charm of 2000AD shines through. Like if Philip K Dick grew up in Northampton, unemployed in the 1980s. Perfect toilet library material!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars defiled in spite, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Kindle Edition)
Great storytelling at its best, do you like v for vendetta? Then get this, twisted and funny stories weigh twist morality and great imagery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius at work, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Kindle Edition)
Stories written by moore in his early days at ad. It's amazing the stories he can create that can resonate with you with just 5 or 6 pages. Great imagination in every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Type too small, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Kindle Edition)
I have to agree with the other reviewers, the type is far too small even on a 10" tablet wearing my reading glasses it's hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, needs a big screen though, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Kindle Edition)
Even on a 7inch tablet, this is sometimes hard work to read. I initially thought there was no zoom function before working out a triple tap in Android Kinect software allows you to go through it section by section which is better. A pity it needs a decent sized device though as the stories themselves are wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars crudely scanned, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Alan Moore Future Shocks (Kindle Edition)
Very badly scanned and almost unreadable. Takes up only small part of page and impossible to zoom. There is a kind of frame view to blow up individual panels but it works so slowly and crudely it is more trouble than it's worth. Can't imagine how this got released in its current state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A totally HOHOHOHO! No need to say any more, just read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews