Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
What a great surprise! Gritty, complex, wonderful acting. The good guys do bad things, and the bad guys do good things. I'm looking forward to season 2 with great anticipation! Recomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best BBC drama in years., 9 Jun 2013
This review is from: Line of Duty - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
This is what The Shadow Line should have been. A brilliantly terse and tense conspiracy drama with twists that make sense and good performances. Ironically, unlike Good Cop which ended on a cliffhanger and irritatingly didn't get recommissioned, Line of Duty ends in such a way that it honestly doesn't really need or warrant a second series, yet is getting one. I'm not sure how they'll top the first series but I have faith they'll give it a good go. Neil Morrissey seems to revel in playing a nasty little man for once instead of his usual matey/geezer roles. All the performances from the main cast are strong and it's nice to see a major drama set in Birmingham, which much like Liverpool in Good Cop is portrayed as a good place with flaws as opposed to what might have been sensationalised as a hell hole by a lesser writer.

The only big criticism I have is the over-abundance of references to police procedure, mostly paperwork and unnecessary red tape. It's too obvious, not quite as prescriptive as Natural Born Killers which has to be the benchmark in anti-subtle ideology, but it's just a bit repetitive and isn't needed. It could have worked if it was actually the focus of the drama, but it isn't. Luckily though, the show isn't cluttered like Blackout or unfocused like Good Cop, so I'll take a slightly out-of-place thread in exchange for an otherwise tight narrative.

Highest recommendation possible for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic police thriller, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Line of Duty - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
This five part BBC drama screened on BBC2 in 2012 and became one of the most successful dramas on BBC2 of the year.
This two disc set features all five episodes of the drama along with a half-hour Behind the Scenes extra featuring the whole cast.
If you enjoy a good quality thriller set in the modern world, Line of Duty will not let you down.
Don't wait for it to be released on amazon in 2014, go straight to [...] where it is available now with free postage.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Line of Duty series 1, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
I started watching the second series and couldn't wait to also watch the first series as i missed it on BBC2 when it first aired. It literally had me not wanting to switch off, ended up watching the whole series in one day all episodes back to back. All I can say is superb British writing and acting, roll on the third series quickly please, I don't know what I'm going to do on a Wednesday night. Not very often will I love a whole series, normally there are a couple of episodes a tad boring but certainly not this!! Edge of your seat stuff, don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series., 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Totally gripping series. Had to sit and watch the whole series to the end. I could not turn it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Drama, 6 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Line of Duty - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Glad this is finally being released on dvd. I saw it on tv last year, and it had me gripped from start to finish. Is he or isn't he a bent cop? As for the ending - totally unexpected. Buy it and judge for yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Traumatic and Terrific, 12 Jan 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Line of Duty - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
When a cop starts thinking that the 'sexy cases' are all his, you know that man is in trouble. DCI Tony Gates is that man, played by Lennie James, who has it all and wants more. 'Line of Duty' is a dark, brooding, gripping police drama, that will have you on the edge of your seat. It is violent, prepare yourself. Not much to smile about in these five episodes.

The series starts off with a terrorist case that was bungled by the police, and a cover-up is underway. Except DS Arnott, played by, one of the bunglers won't play and wants to tell the truth. He is transferred to A-12, the Corruption Unit. This is not a popular unit, investigating your own. DS Arnott , as it turns out has an 'off' and 'on' personality, sometimes he is with his team, and sometimes he is not. What he does have is a brilliant investigative mind, and a good boss, DCI Hastings. Hastings is after DCI Tony Gates, he believes what is purported to be all good, is in fact a method of inventing statistics and cases to make Gates look good. His mission is to bring Gates down, and it doesn't take much. However, to get there takes five harrowing episodes, blood and gore, manipulation, police cover- ups, and a great deal of disbelief. As I said, this is really dark, you will need to take some breaks. Prepare.

Lennie James as Tony Gates is superb, we watch him manipulate us right before our eyes. Gina McGee, as Jackie, Gates lover, is the perfect mistress , Vicky McLure, plays Kate, the officer undercover who plays up to Gates, is in a position to find the truth, and she never wavers, ever! DS Arnott, has the series play around his investigation, however, his wishy-washy character takes away from his performance. This series is true grit, what we believe may really occur in the real world of policing in the UK. Series Two has been given a green light by BBC2, look forward to the next session. All in all the series was dark and contained more violence than I was prepared for. The new head of Gate's old unit needs looking after. I caught the clues, did you?

Recommended. prisrob 01-12-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing first series , came to it after watching series 2 on tv.
Couldn't t stop watching it . Had to watch 3 episodes in a row .
Gripping stuff from start to finish.
Fantastic acting .
Must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best cop show on TV?, 16 April 2014
By 
J. Brompton (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
I had watched this on the first showing but was inspired to buy series one after watching the excellent series two. You will not be disappointed as this is probably one of the best written cop shows ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill dvd, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Line of Duty - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
I'd watched this wen it first come out on bbc2 and was gripped from the first min so wen the, second series was aired I got my wife to watch it with me she too was hooked and ad to buy the first series for her to watch she wasn't disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

Line of Duty - Series One [DVD]
Line of Duty - Series One [DVD] by Martin Compston (DVD - 2014)
13.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews