Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited classic
Finally this film (which is a very superior television movie) is available at a good price.It stars Anthony Andrews in the title role.He plays the foppish hero brilliantly and is ably supported by Sir Ian McKellen as the dastardly Chauvelin . The director is Clive Donner who does a great job keeping the action flowing along with equal measures of romance and action...
Published 6 months ago by Hemesh Alles

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun...
It's a little sedentary for me, definitely not a true swash-buckler, more of a mild romp and great fun to watch. There is little violence to speak of and the only sword-play arrives right at the end
Published 4 months ago by Griffin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited classic, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Hemesh Alles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD] (DVD)
Finally this film (which is a very superior television movie) is available at a good price.It stars Anthony Andrews in the title role.He plays the foppish hero brilliantly and is ably supported by Sir Ian McKellen as the dastardly Chauvelin . The director is Clive Donner who does a great job keeping the action flowing along with equal measures of romance and action. Chauvelin is portrayed with very human emotions of jealousy for Marguerite ,the hero's wife (the lovely Jane Seymour) which makes him a real person and not a one dimensional villain.The film is hugely enjoyable and a must for any film buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD] (DVD)
Appealing story based on some historical reality taking place in the French revolution. The actors are performing great acting that is well felt throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun..., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD] (DVD)
It's a little sedentary for me, definitely not a true swash-buckler, more of a mild romp and great fun to watch. There is little violence to speak of and the only sword-play arrives right at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scarlet Pimpernel, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Lars Jönlid (gothenburg Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD] (DVD)
This is the not a so true story, of Sir Henry Blakeney who went across the channel during the french revolution to save some of the french nobless from getting "haircuts" highly entertaining ! Sink meee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, elegant (and just a little chilling) film from the Robespierre Terror 1792., 15 Jun 2014
By 
Berit Storset "margareta" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD] (DVD)
I really find it difficult to choose between this film and the much older version with Leslie Howard.
This version is in colours, whereas the older one is in black and white.
Both excellent, I think. So I ended up with buying both.
Here, Jane Seymour is an enchanting Marguerite, Anthony Andrews a very elegant Scarlet Pimpernel, and Ian McKellen a rather frustrated Chauvelin - in love with Marguerite, but very much under Robespierre's heel.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars oldies and goodies, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD] (DVD)
Charming, light , frivolous entertainment at its best. Good acting, lovely costumes and a pleasant taste when the film ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia on DVD, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD] (DVD)
this became a 'cult' film in the 80's and it's great to have it on DVD as my video wore out long ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SCARLET, 15 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD] (DVD)
ARRIVED WELL BEFORE ESTIMATED DATE.THOROUGHLY ENJOYED.WORTH EVERY PENNY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tony Andrews, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD] (DVD)
As a remake of Stewart Grangers "Scarlet Pimpernel" this is the BEST. just love Antony Andrews. I recommend it to all who love this sort of historic fairy tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic., 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched this film every time it has bee on TV. I have a copy of my own and wanted to let a friend in Switzerland see just why I love Jane Seymour! That's where this copy went.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD]
The Scarlet Pimpernel [DVD] by Clive Donner (DVD - 2013)
£14.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews