Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating story of the real life of a continental pro.
Before the advent of team sky, Cav & Wiggo mania, cycling was a peculiar sport in Britain practised by few and understood by even less, most participants like myself had a Father or other introduction to the sport, very few kids in the late 70's and 80's grew up wanting a road bike, never mind a professional cycling career.

Robert Millar's tour exploits were 5...
Published 18 months ago by gary marshall

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but a little dull.
Having previously read 'the secret race' by Tyler Hamilton I was hungry for more shenanigans from within the peleton so I quickly scooped up Charlie's book. However, although it is informative, insightful and witty in places, I couldn't help but yawn and skip pages due to similarly bleak anecdotes where nothing really exciting happens, there's a lack of truly interesting...
Published 16 months ago by nick johnson


‹ Previous | 16 7 813 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting account, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good read and certainly busts some of the myths and legends that surround riding in the pro peloton. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw review in Sunday Times,bought for friend (serious brwnie points) who raved about it,have since read myself and really enjoyed having an insight into the nuts and cogs of modern cycling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very inforative, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
some great info from behind the scenes of pro bike racing, and a good real life story about life as a pro rider
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portrait of a real life spent on the professional peloton., 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed every minute of it. Allowed me to take a peek into a life we all dream of but would probably not enter into if knew the details.

Thanks Charly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable read, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is obviously for cycling fans and to that end gives an insight into a cyclist that many of us were aware of but didn't follow. It's based in the transitional years regarding drugs, I don't think the book gave any secrets away or any greater insight into the life of a pro cyclist, it just logs Charly's career and how that affected his personal life.
I would recommend it but only to people seriously into their cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have waited for a long time for such an in depth and well written book on the nitty gritty of a domestique, I have read a lot of books on cycling and this is a revelation, so many books are on what has happened in the last few years of their lives and are really quite bland, Tom Southam's cycling experience have really added to the whole ambience of the book. Just hope Sean Yates Book from the same publisher will be as well written as this one, buy it, read it and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty depiction if life in the pro peloton, 20 Aug 2013
I wanted to read this book as it was about a side of pro cycling the average fan doesn't hear about. The role of the domestique is talked about a great deal but usually misunderstood. As the author says, anyone can fetch a bottle from the team car in the first hour when the peloton is cruising. A proper domestique earns his money on the final climb delivering his leader to victory before stepping into the shadows. Wegelius was that quality rider.

One refreshing aspect of the book is that it does not dwell on doping. Of course we all know what went on in those days and it doesn't need repeating. Wegelius' career perfectly parallels the EPO riddled races of the early 2000s through to the modern peloton with more ethical teams. If anything he suffered more from the hands of dopers than others due to his natural high hematrocrit but does not seem as bitter about this as say, Paul Kimmage does in his book. However, ultimately the book's mood is basically a steady downward spiral from around 2004 when he had a breakthrough season. Yes, it is negative but that is part of the book's attraction for me.

Also I enjoyed the author's insights into two leaders he worked for. Danilo di Luca is highly praised for his personal qualities and support for teammates. Cadel Evans is criticised for his poor team leadership and man management and negativity towards his employers at the time. But look at the reputation those two have in cycling in general now. This kind of view gives the book a unique perspective and for me, it was a good read and very different from most recent cycling books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 14 Aug 2013
By 
KLP "KLP" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present just as Tour de France started. Fascinating insight into how that world works. Much more enjoyable than just reading about the 'stars'. I would recommend this book - and not just to cycling fanatics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Honest, revealing & well written., 14 Aug 2013
This review is from: Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro (Kindle Edition)
Wegelius tells it like it is and gives an excellent insight into the world of professional cycling. Recommended reading for cycling fans who are curious about the real life in the peloton and those who are like me fascinated by what makes professional athletes tick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Domestique: The Real-life Ups and Downs of a Tour Pro (Kindle Edition)
A good read that follows the career of one of the pelotons unsung heroes! It follows the tried and tested recipe of most of the other pro riders life stories and gives a good insight into Wegelius's own rise to the top of his gain.
I particularly liked his explanation that led to his and Tom Southams actions at the 2005 World Champs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 813 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews