Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touching memoir
I've always regarded "Wish You Were Here" as one of the greatest British films ever made. I've watched it many times on DVD. Like "Four Weddings and a Funeral" it's one of those British films you never grow tired of. After its release in the 1980s, it seemed that Emily Lloyd's extraordinary talent had destined her for a permanent place in the hall of fame...
Published 8 months ago by Michael Murray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
Shows how mental issues go undiagnosed. A possibly great career ruined, but Emily won through in the end.

Enjoyed the book.
Published 2 months ago by randers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touching memoir, 25 Jan 2014
This review is from: Wish I Was There - I Was the Golden Girl of British Cinema…Then My Life Fell to Pieces. This is My Story (Kindle Edition)
I've always regarded "Wish You Were Here" as one of the greatest British films ever made. I've watched it many times on DVD. Like "Four Weddings and a Funeral" it's one of those British films you never grow tired of. After its release in the 1980s, it seemed that Emily Lloyd's extraordinary talent had destined her for a permanent place in the hall of fame. What we did not know at the time was that we were witnessing the beginnings of an archetypal tragedy: observing the start of a public career that would eventually run into the sand and privately end in a nightmare. Emily Lloyd's account of the intense pressure of the movie business and her descent into hell is absolutely compelling. Yet it always avoids the trap of being self-pitying. Indeed, it is told in a way that suggests that despite her enormous disappointments she has not lost her humanity and her great sense of humour. I have never been so touched by a personal memoir. All the best for the future, Emily. I hope you get back to where you belong soon, which is entertaining us with your unique talent. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Captivating Read, 12 May 2013
This review is from: Wish I Was There (Hardcover)
This is a searingly honest story about Emily's rise to fame at a young age and the repercussions this has had on her life. Thrust into the spotlight with 'Wish You Were Here', she was one of the most well-liked actresses of my generation and I always wondered what had become of her. This books tells her story. It is entertaining yet also sensitively written and at times her story does makes uncomfortable reading. But Emily is an inspiration to others for being so honest about the abuse she suffered as a child. She should also be applauded for bravely putting herself into the spotlight to talk about mental health and the challenges she has faced. Mental health is not something openly discussed, particularly in the fickle entertainment industry, and so I really admire her for having the balls to write openly about it. Hopefully steps like this will help break down the taboo surrounding it.
I would definitely recommend this. It's a great read. It's just a shame that she's no longer acting. The younger generation could learn a lot from her. I hope she gets the recognition she deserves for being so honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very insightful read!, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish I Was There - I Was the Golden Girl of British Cinema…Then My Life Fell to Pieces. This is My Story (Kindle Edition)
Always wondered what had happened to Emily, great book, would recommend this to everyone. What an eventful life, Emily is a survivor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish I Was There - I Was the Golden Girl of British Cinema…Then My Life Fell to Pieces. This is My Story (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting book. Very honest and sad in many ways, hope Emily gets back to acting and enjoys the rewards this time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight, 13 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish I Was There - I Was the Golden Girl of British Cinema…Then My Life Fell to Pieces. This is My Story (Kindle Edition)
I have seen the film and it was very interesting getting to know Emily and how difficult it is to survive in that industry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An honest autobiography, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish I Was There - I Was the Golden Girl of British Cinema…Then My Life Fell to Pieces. This is My Story (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. I loved the film wish you were here and know that Emily has struggled since so was keen to find out what has happened in her life. She is very honest and shows great incite into her mental illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. M. J. Garner (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish I Was There - I Was the Golden Girl of British Cinema…Then My Life Fell to Pieces. This is My Story (Kindle Edition)
I wondered what had happened to Emily. Easy to read and full of little bits n pieces that should only be shared by the author of an autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish I Was There - I Was the Golden Girl of British Cinema…Then My Life Fell to Pieces. This is My Story (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book and would recommend it. It gives a good account of Emily's life.

I only have two niggles.

1. The overuse of the word malaise. I understand that the book was centered around Emilys illness but I felt the word was used far more than was necessary and was the wrong word for what is a serious mental illness.
2. When Emily tells of leading men, male friends, acquaintances and the like, she writes that virtually everyone 'took a shine to her'. It was hard to believe that she noticed all the men fawning over her, yet hadn't realised Brad Pitt had asked her out. Twice. I'm not sure if this was her self confidence talking or because she was looking back on difficult times through rose tinted spectacles, but it meant that as I was reading I knew what was coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing story x, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish I Was There - I Was the Golden Girl of British Cinema…Then My Life Fell to Pieces. This is My Story (Kindle Edition)
So glad I read this amazing story. So sorry to hear what you went through Emily and are still battling with. I wish you well my lovely x I remember the shows you and your sister did at Milner Sq I used to live next door to you and have fond memories of those times. Lots of love to you and your family Sarah (Stevens) Allen xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All her teenage dreams came true and then she paid a big price., 21 Aug 2013
By 
Leyla (DIDIM, Turkey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish I Was There - I Was the Golden Girl of British Cinema…Then My Life Fell to Pieces. This is My Story (Kindle Edition)
I had never heard of Emily Lloyd. This may seem unusual in today's celebrity focused media-driven world, but at the time of her great fame I was a regular British teenager in the 80s (no internet, no video machine, only went to the cinema on special occasions....etc)
I bought this kindle book because it had a catchy title....I thought it interesting to read about the downfall of somebody who claimed to have been a golden girl of British cinema (albeit that I am no cinema buff) ....but I am a nosey parker. I ordered the free sample and it started as a catchy read so I bought the book. I'm very glad that I did.
I found it a really interesting read. It helped that the author is a similar age to myself and grew up in East London, an area I am familiar with. The author exploded to fame / stardom at just 16 in the 1980s. She clearly hadn't been grounded for this. All her dreams came true in terms of lifestyle, money, celebrity status but she reveals how it wasn't working out for her. She goes on to describe her crazy, undisciplined, star-studded lifestyle and how this left her feeling empty and actually accentuated mental health issues that had been underlying since she was a child.
Most interesting though is her story of how she has adjusted her lifestyle to continue living with her malaise, as she calls it. The lady has shown tremendous strength of character and continued to do some work to help others, including children. Emily Lloyd, has a strong family around her and she clearly draws so much strength and support from them.
I wasn't particularly endeared to Emily Lloyd "the star" but I thought the older, mature, regular Londoner who is working to be a better person on a daily basis sounds like a great person.
She writes that she wishes to act again. As I have never seen any of her work, I do not appreciate the loss to British cinema but I strongly that the lady finds peace, health and happiness whatever she chooses to do. Thank you for sharing your story, Emily Lloyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews