Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LeapPad2 + Rechargeable battery
My boys (age 4 and 7) have been using a shared LeapFrog LeapPad2 Explorer Tablet (Green) for about a year and love it. This new "Power" version is the standard Pink LeapPad 2 plus the LeapFrog LeapPad2 Recharger Pack all in one box. The LeapPad2 is a great toy but it eats batteries in the standard form with 4 AA's being depleted in just a few hours.

This new...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. R. D. Turner

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good as a toy but hard work for mum and dad in the long run
We've had a leappad 2 in the house now for about 2 years. It's a solid, well-made bit of kit with decent games that are well-categorised and do have some learning value.
However if you plan to connect this product to your computer to download freebies, new games etc... beware. When I opened the product to set it up on Xmas eve a couple of years ago it was a real...
Published 10 months ago by Z. Aslam


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LeapPad2 + Rechargeable battery, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. R. D. Turner (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power (Pink) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My boys (age 4 and 7) have been using a shared LeapFrog LeapPad2 Explorer Tablet (Green) for about a year and love it. This new "Power" version is the standard Pink LeapPad 2 plus the LeapFrog LeapPad2 Recharger Pack all in one box. The LeapPad2 is a great toy but it eats batteries in the standard form with 4 AA's being depleted in just a few hours.

This new version with the Lithium recharger pack is more expensive up front but will save money long term and gives more portability because batteries last longer.

The LeapPad is a Tablet style device which accepts cartridge games and downloads from a LeapFrog App store on your computer. Having a computer to dock the LeapPad with is essential. The games are not compatible with other iPads / iPhones / tablets or PC's so it is a closed system. Games range in price from about £3 to £25. Some of the best are only £7.50. The games have a theme (maths, reading, science, logic) and an age range from about 3 to 9. In the shops these games are colour coded like size labels on clothes hanger to aid selection.

The device has a built in camera, paint program, calculator and Pet game and you get one free game when you register the device. I chose Roly Poly Picnic which uses the device in tilt mode to roll a lady bird around a maze. Its a great free game. There is no Web Browser or WIFI connectivity. This is a closed device with no chance of kids seeing anything they shouldn't - not like an iPad. It is also safe to leave kids with as it is pretty sturdy and not too heavy. If you compare it to an iPad it comes up well short but as a toy it is great. The games hold my kids interest for about 20 minutes at a time and am happy with that. I don't want them staring at a screen all day!

The best games we have found are:
Leapfrog Leapster/LeapPad Explorer Mr Pencil Game
Leapschool Cooking with Hap (£7.50 download)
Leapfrog Explorer - Mini Games Greatest Hits Volume 1
Leapfrog Explorer Learning Game Disney Pixars Monsters University

I must point out that both my boys have improved their drawing and handwriting with this device. The attached stylus pen works equally well with my left handed youngest and right handed eldest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good as a toy but hard work for mum and dad in the long run, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Z. Aslam "Z" (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power (Pink) (Toy)
We've had a leappad 2 in the house now for about 2 years. It's a solid, well-made bit of kit with decent games that are well-categorised and do have some learning value.
However if you plan to connect this product to your computer to download freebies, new games etc... beware. When I opened the product to set it up on Xmas eve a couple of years ago it was a real pain. The Leappad Connect application, which you need to download and install) is absurdly large, slow and not particularly intuitive when you first turn it on.
To get the device working properly I had to upgrade the firmware - which involved 20 mins of browsing forums on the net.
The device then worked decently well for a year, apart from the main issue that everyone complains about - it eats AA batteries at a stupid rate.
However recently they updated the Leappad Connect application and I was asked to 'upgrade it' (with no ability to avoid the upgrade). This I did, and followed their instrucitons carefully. After 20 minutes of clikcing on 'OK' buttons,unplugging the device, plugging it back in etc... I was finally finished. However in the process all of the kids data on the device has been wiped. All their saved games, photos, videos, art projects, avatars - two years worth of stuff. Gone. They were not impressed!
Technical support has been a joke - someone in an offshore support centre (judging by their grammar) sending me two-sentence replies that in no-one's dreams could possibly solve the problem.
The new wi-fi enabled version of this toy might be better. If you are tempted by the heavy price discounts to get this version be careful - it looks like LeapFrog are treating it as an 'end-of-line' product with support to match. Buy it if you never plan to connect it to the internet and just buy the cartridge games - but otherwise you've been warned.
And if you are trying to choose between this and a cheap tablet .. well you can guess what my advice would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Great Closed Tablet For Kids - But Beware App Prices!, 17 Oct 2013
By 
H. Pierce (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power (Pink) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I feel compelled to write that on the merits of the Leap Pad 2 Power Tablet, my five year old daughter would score it a full five out of five. I, however, as the bill paying parent, have deducted a point because it is just such a costly operation getting games onto the tablet! Unlike an open tablet, where designers all compete to get you to download their apps, you are held to the mercy of LeapFrog. As such, the prices of apps are a lot more than I am used to having to fork out, particularly as my five year old has a voracious appetite for new and interesting games! Having said that, there really are a lot of plus points to this latest version of the the LeapPad.

The LeapPad 2 Power is marketed as a learning tablet for children aged around 3-9 years of age. I think it is unlikely that the average 8 or 9 year old is going to want to still be using this. I would imagine that by then they would want a 'real' tablet. I do, however, think that the average 3-7 year old would still be interested in this.

The screen size is just right for a child of this age group. Any larger and the LeapPad 2 Power would be too big to comfortably hold for long. It is also surprisingly weighty, and my daughter prefers to rest it on her lap for this very reason. The unit is plastic, and feels quite sturdy. Thus far, having used it for over a month, it has not become damaged in any way that I can see. It is not scratched, or scuffed in any way, and I think that this indicates quite a child-friendly casing as standard.

This version finally has the rechargeable battery pack and AC adaptor! How on earth it has taken this long to incorporate it into the standard issue box is astounding. Parents do not want to be rushing out to buy new batteries every few hours, and by having the power pack in the standard issue set it saves the added hassle of trying to purchase an additional item alongside the LeapPad itself. You don't even have to remove the batteries to recharge the, as you would have to if you had invested in your own set of rechargeable batteries for it.

The LeapPad 2 Power has two cameras, one front-facing and the other rear-facing. This allows your child to use the camera and video camera functions, with ease. Being able to take pictures of herself proved hilarious to my daughter, so they have obviously responded to the features that young children love best. Pictures can be altered using art apps, and it gives your child a chance of editing photos at a small controlled level.

There are a real variety of different apps available for you to download for your child. Not all of them are as expensive as the ones you can purchase in a box, but none of them are particularly inexpensive. There are eBooks, games, videos, music, creativity, flash cards, and foreign language apps. There really are a myriad of choices available, and they all have an age rating to help you decide on the most appropriate for your child.

Overall, I cannot fault the fact that the LeapPad 2 Power can be used for fun and to aid your child's educational development. It is clearly something that will be greatly enjoyed by the average child, and can be altered, via new apps, to progress with your child. If the apps were just a little less costly, then I would wholeheartedly score it the full five out of five. Due to the cost of app purchases, however, I think it is only worthy of a four.

Very good closed tablet for children aged 3-9, but investigate the app costs before you purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great product - however screen broke after 4 days use. Not robust!!!!!, 2 Jan 2014
By 
J. Henderson (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power (Pink) (Toy)
My daughter had this for christmas. She loved it. Rated for 3 to 7 year old you would expect it to be more robust than it is. One bang later resulted in the screen cracking!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic upgrade, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Bob and Billy's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power (Pink) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having had both of the previous 2 versions of the Leappad, we are delighted to have this new and improved version. At last, a rechargeable battery pack! Hoorah! No longer do we have to fork out for endless AA batteries :)

The actual Leappad is still brilliant, great games to download or buy, and even better is the fact that previous purchases can be downloaded all over again so nothing has been lost from out Leappad account.

The camera is great too, lots of fun with some picture fun.

My son, aged 6, loves it. He's been playing with leap pads since he was 4, and I don't see him getting bored anytime soon. So I'd recommend for any child between 4 and 8.

Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy ever, I bought 2, 7 Jan 2014
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power (Pink) (Toy)
Bought 2 of these for my 3 year old daughter and 7 year old daughter for christmas. Really fantastic, they take them everywhere . Great for learning, taking pictures, filming and playing games. Also stops them playing on my I phone. Great buy for young kids. There's still so much more we can do on it but we not got to that point yet .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational, fun and will last your child for years - just watch the price of the Apps!, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power (Pink) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The LeapFrog LeapPad 2 Power Tablet is pretty much the same as the previous LeapPad 2 Explorer model with the added bonus of including an additional 9 hour rechargeable battery pack and AC adapter which wasn't included with the standard Explorer. Indeed, the added bonus of having a rechargeable battery pack included is more of an extra than you might at first think. Being able to easily recharge the LeapPad's batteries without needing to remove them from the device is just so much easier. The recharging palaver with the previous LeapPad 2 model was its one little niggling fault. And here the makers have addressed the issue.

For those that are not already familiar with the LeapPad 2 Explorer and/or LeapPad 2 Power tablet, it's a learning tablet that is aimed at children from three years old all the way up to around nine years old. The tablet itself is reasonably small (about 7" x 9"), but is still quite chunky, with a good old weight to it (especially for very small hands). The tablet is constructed utilising a hard plastic casing which feels like it could easily become scratched, chipped or cracked in the hands on children. I therefore firstly strongly recommend purchasing a silicone LeapPad Explorer Tablet Gel Skin protective casing in order to protect the tablet against any accidental knocks and scrapes. These cases can also be stretched over the rechargeable power packs on the reverse, meaning that you don't need to remove them every time you want to charge the batteries (unlike the standard Explorer model).

After inserting battery packs, the LeapPad Power is ready to have its four free Apps downloaded and installed, as well as all of the other setup procedures completed. To be fair, this was an absolute doddle to do. Just go online to the official LeapPad website, follow the online procedures to link up a PC/laptop to the tablet, and after following all the steps which will take about 10-15mins, you'll be ready to go.

Once my wife and I had chosen our four freebie Apps, we then perused the numerous other apps that are available to buy for the LeapPad. Flicking through the various pages of Apps available shows just how big of a choice there is. But wow!!! Some of them are a little on the pricey side. I strongly recommend that you go onto the Leapfrog website, go to the App Centre, and have a look at the various Apps and prices BEFORE purchasing the LeapPad. Some of the games and 'Ultra eBooks' are the equivalent to modern console game prices - especially if they involve popular cartoon characters.

Anyway, once you're all set up, with your first Apps downloaded and ready to use, you'll find that the LeapPad 2 Power is incredibly easy to get familiar with and learn how to use. Each menu screen tells you what you can do, directing you through the App with a twee American voiceover that helps the child learn what to do at each stage.

Another thing I should point out is that the touchpad screen seems a little on the delicate side for kids below about five years old. So I'd also highly recommend purchasing a set of LeapPad Clear LCD Screen Protectors so that your child doesn't ruin the touch screen when accidentally pressing too hard.

The LeapPad 2 Power also has a two built in cameras / video records, positioned on the front and back, allowing your little ones to snap off pictures of themselves as well as whatever's in front of them. With the various art and creative Apps available, your child can then play around with these pictures, incorporating their face into video settings and artwork.

The LeapPad 2 Power really is geared towards being educational and creative in a fun way. With the games on offer there's always a learning element attached to it, such as with spelling, counting, questions etc. Furthermore, the parents can also monitor their child's development with these games, with their online parent monitoring page which is installed onto your PC/laptop at the beginning.

To be honest, we expected the LeapPad 2 Power to be pretty good considering the various reviews and write-ups you can see across the net. Apart from the cost of the Apps, everyone seems to absolutely love the tablet. And both my wife and I 100% agree (as do our two kids). And what's really good about the tablet is that it can be enjoyed from three years old all the way up to nine years old - just by downloading more advanced Apps as your child gets older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 May 2014
By 
Jo (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power (Pink) (Toy)
Bought for my daughter, she loves it!! Its very educational too, she has been learning quite a lot on it, reading, counting etc only negative is, it went off few weeks ago & I had to plug in my laptop to update, instructions not very clear & then messed up settings on my laptop!!! Apart from that though, is great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Gadget for Little Ones, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Sanjay (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power (Pink) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The LeapPad is an "educational & fun interactive multi-media toy" (phew) designed for kids from 3 to 9.
My older daughter already owns an original LeapPad which she loves. The only major flaw with the original LeapPad was the horrendous battery life. We could easily get through 4 AA batteries within a few hours! This upgraded LeapPad 2 addresses this issue by the inclusion of rechargeable AA batteries which can the recharged in-situ. It is claimed to last 9 hours.

It comes with a writing app, art studio & Photo Lab similar to the old version. This version also comes with a music player and Utility Suite (Calculator, Calendar, Note Pad & Clock). There's also a Story Studio which is excluded on this version.

This version uses the same cartridges as the earlier one which means we can use the older games.
Using the same mini-USB connection you can connect to your PC. When connected mine downloaded an important update and fired-up the horrendous LeapFrog Connect application. The next few minutes were spent downloading the free apps.
This is where things went wrong. It refused to download my "free" game THEN it spend 20 minutes downloading who-knows-what.... I HATE this software!
Anyway, eventually I had an updated LeapPad 2 Ready to use.

This being a closed system means that the apps are quality controlled & parents can choose exactly what their young-ones experience. The bad side of this is that the apps are quite expensive... up to £25.
Given that a tablet computer can be bought for a little over £100 and that many of the apps are free or can be bought cheaply, the economics of the LeapPad system are questionable. However, although I have reservations about the hardware & software, the games & apps are plentiful and of high quality.

A great device but not perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy teacher!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power (Pink) (Toy)
I bought this for my little girls 3rd birthday, She has now had it for 2 weeks, She is learning how to do things fairly quickly, Like writing - tracing letters with the stylus, You can download more Apps thru the Leapfrog website when the tablet is linked to your Laptop / Desktop via USB cable, Which is supplied with the tablet, Also having the " LeapPad2 Power" you get the rechargeable power pack, Very handy as the batteries should last about 9 hours before recharge.

You can get a good variety of different games from the likes of Disney, My little one has Doc McStuffins (Problem Solving), Minnie Mouse Bow-tique (Reading), Bubble Guppies (Science & Social Studies), Crayola Art Adventure (Creativity) Lots of learning, So many more to choose from, Its a good idea to keep an eye on the prices as the games I bought were all under £10, I would not pay any more than that, Finally the tablet itself has passed the "sturdy" test As it has been dropped a couple of times onto our laminate flooring from about 3 feet in the air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LeapFrog LeapPad2 Power (Pink)
£46.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews