Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampire Weekend - Take the city gates by storm
With hindsight we would do well to remember how many critics thought that Vampire Weekend's eponymous debut might be their first and last record. The "Upper West Side Soweto" template did seem to offer limited development opportunities and suspicions lingered that this was just a slice of novelty cultural tourism by (at best) a bunch of privileged preppy white boys and at...
Published 14 months ago by Red on Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
An album I bought from watching televised Glastonbury. It's good but in my opinion, it's 1 of those groups that I like better if I can watch them visually as they perform.......
Published 10 months ago by battenburg


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampire Weekend - Take the city gates by storm, 13 May 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
With hindsight we would do well to remember how many critics thought that Vampire Weekend's eponymous debut might be their first and last record. The "Upper West Side Soweto" template did seem to offer limited development opportunities and suspicions lingered that this was just a slice of novelty cultural tourism by (at best) a bunch of privileged preppy white boys and at worse four Ivy League bozo's. Their excellent sophomore album "Contra" started to suggest a band with much greater staying power who were moving into very interesting darker corners. Now their third album "Modern Vampires of the City" confirms a new album that is an undoubted keeper by a band who must now be ranked as best amongst their peer group. Repeated listens confirm an almost perfect pop album strong on infectious song-smithery, populated with hooks large enough to catch Tuna and lyrics so smart you can award an A+ diploma to each track. Yes MVOTC is essentially about New York but within its vinyl grooves are songs which tackle themes of faith, death and after-life albeit with a broad smille on their face. While at one time the band may have seen "the dawn in the colours of Bennetton" this superficiality has passed and the opener "Obvious bicycle" it is so beautifully melancholic that it could appear on a Mercury Rev album. The same applies to "The Unbelievers" which sounds like Buddy Holly's "Peggy Sue" rewritten for the 21st Century with a splash of world music thrown in for good measure. Ezra Koenig's skills are brilliantly honed on an album standout "Step" which is both a doo-wop track with harpsichord and shows that he has studied his Brian Wilson songbook well. It is a gorgeous song that cries out for the repeat button. The foot is further pressed down on the gas pedal for the buoyant single "Diane Young" surely destined to be the 'alternative' pop record of the summer? It is worth checking out the "making" of this song on the net which forms part of the excellent series of videos where the band enlist as their "Director" the actor Steve Buscemi to hit the streets to hustle New Yorkers into buying tickets to their Roseland Ballroom concert.

Darker hues are fleshed out on the rubbery pop of "Everlasting Arms" a lush pounding song with a infectious drum undercurrent, wobbling bass and on repeated listens a rather funky sheen. Then we have the ubiquitous "Ya Heh" which has just about colonised every music blog for the last month with its regretful lyric of "America don't love you", huge cartoon character backing to the infectious chorus plus an ending to die for. Lookout in addition for "Hanna Hunt" which shows how Koenig's songwriting craft is maturing at warp speed not least the wistful line "If I can't trust you then damn it Hannah, there's no future, there's no answer." The ultimate sign of a great pop band in this reviewers humble opinion is to construct a pop song at around two minutes and make it indelibly mark. The 1.45 seconds of the final track "Young Lion" achieves this with a gentle rolling piano and melody that sticks like superglue. Granted it is still early days with "Modern Vampires" and one of the longest tracks on the record "Hudson" has yet to really land a blow. This is countered by the sheer fun and outrageous audacity of "Finger love" which could happily grace an Animal Collective album and fit like a glove. The spoken interlude in the song is followed by Keonig recalling "Remembrances of holy days in Tarrytown and Rye/I don't wanna live like this, but I don't wanna die". Finally "Worship you" reminds you of the theme tune for the old TV series Bonanza, surely always a great sign?

While "Modern Vampires of the City" may not be the best album of 2013 (time will tell) it is by a country mile the most enjoyable listening experience of the year thus far. It is a life affirming album by a band entering their prime. The good news is that any doubt around the longevity of Vampire Weekend is dispelled by this record. This fact alone should be a cause of celebration. A while ago one Amazon reviewer had the audacity to describe Vampire Weekend as the new Talking Heads. They are two very different beasts but in the context of this new album we get a huge pot pourri of whimsical, esoteric lyrics combined with a mix of elements of punk rock, art rock, avant-garde, pop, funk, world music, and Americana. Does this sound familiar? Whatever the case "Modern Vampires" is a completely joyful album which you are going to want to own pronto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grand artistic statement on malaise in modern America, 7 April 2014
This might take some justifying, but I feel Vampire Weekend’s third album Modern Vampires of the City should not only be regarded as the best album of the year but also as a grand artistic statement on malaise in modern America. From its very cover art – a 1966 photograph of the New York skyline in what remains the smoggiest day in the city’s history – Modern Vampires of the City caps off a near-perfect trio of indie pop albums with a subtle comment on the cloud of despair which currently hangs over post-recession USA.

Each album has seen Vampire Weekend slowly but surely evolve into a unique and experimental indie outfit eager to drag ‘the New York sound’ into a new musical frontier. In my opinion, Modern Vampires of the City is the ultimate genre-bending culmination of the songwriting partnership of Ezra Koenig and Rostam Batmanglij, seeing them continue to dabble in everything from harpsichord-utilising baroque pop on ‘Step’ to the classically-arranged masterstroke of the string arrangements on ‘Don’t Lie’.

The Afropop-inspired indie giddiness of Vampire Weekend and Contra is given due focus on the likes of ‘Finger Back’, ‘Worship You’ and ‘Ya Hey’ but the overall mood has been dialed down a tone to a dejected but ponderous sound. This can be jarring upon first listen – particularly in its most melancholic and experimental moments – but if you give Modern Vampires of the City the time it deserves it soon becomes clear it is their strongest effort to date.

Ostensibly, Koenig’s songs on Modern Vampires of the City are a mixture of nostalgic reflections on his youth and love songs, but his lyrics also appear to verge on social commentary exploring how 21st century America is still in thrall to fundamentalist Christian evangelism. ‘Girl, you and I would die unbelievers bound to the tracks of the train,’ Koenig sings on ‘Unbelievers,’ a surprisingly upbeat love song which many an agnostic would appreciate. ‘Oh good God, the faithless they don’t love you,’ he sings on ‘Ya Hey’, ‘the zealous hearts don’t love you, and that’s not gonna change.’

Koenig’s lyrics therefore take on an undoubtedly sincere but otherwordly feel, aided in no doubt by Batmanglij’s involvement as co-producer in lending musical expression to multicultural musical forms. By continuing to do so with such fortitude, this album sees Vampire Weekend make a significant leap both in maturity and in terms of advancing their musical and songwriting ability.

Even though Vampire Weekend remain rooted in the musical geography of New York City and address Koenig’s distinctly American life experiences, Modern Vampires of the City should provide ample evidence that they are indeed one of the most innovative and experimental American pop bands currently working. It will be interesting to see where they go from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, ever enticing., 13 May 2013
By 
A. G. Lamas (Santiago de Compostela, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Modern Vampires of the City" sees Vampire Weekend distancing themselves from the Afrobeats and artful preppiness that dominated their previous two albums; here, the Ezra Koenig led band shows us a more intimate side, while dealing with deeper, more trascendental issues: there'll be no mentions of "Vuitton" in this album, whereas God gets two songs (the wonderful "Ya Hey" and "Worship you") and the marvelous "Step" succeeds in letting us see the band's underlying idea: "Wisdom's a gift, but you'd trade it for youth", Koenig croons. Musically, this lyrical change finds its counterpart in the introduction of new instruments - a piano guides the sweet "Obvious Bicycle" - and a more minimalist approach production wise. Nevertheless, the album - considerably quieter than the two preceding LPs -still packs a couple of good punches: the drum-heavy "Finger back" and "Diane Young" - the latter being a energetic showstopper, whilst ever continuing to explore what appears to be the album's leitmotiv: the growing-up process (Diane Young/Dying young).

It might prove too cumbersome for some, but I think this third effort from VW will win the band some converts: it's still VW - keen on double entendres, haughty references and musical experimentation - but they seem to have stuck the landing: we find the band at the top of their game, effortlessly improving on what were already a couple of very high quality albums.

This, according to band, is the closing installment of a trilogy. I for one am excited to see what they have to offer next.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampire Weekend's 3rd album is another 5 star delight!!!, 14 May 2013
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The opening track Obvious Bicycle has that familiar Vampire Weekend sound, that we all fell in love with. Overall Moderern Vampires Of The City has a slightly darker edge to it then the last two albums, but I'm glad to say that feel good factor of their music is still there in the main. There are no weak tracks here, but other stand out songs for myself are as follows: Unbelievers, Diane Young, Hannah Hunt, Everylasting Arms and Ya Hey.
This is a contender for the best album of the year so far and I hope it gets the success it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to make a third album seem easy, 13 May 2013
By 
Truman (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Vampire Weekend are simply unlike any other band at the moment: they're instantly recognisable, effortlessly cool and they make wonderfully inventive music. Thank goodness this album lives up to expectations.

I instantly fell in love with their first self-titled album, but follow-up Contra took a few listens to endear itself and Modern Vampires is the same. I wasn't at all sure about the technical jiggery-pokery of the vocals on lead single Diane Young but I absolutely love the song now and I think the rest of the album will follow the same pattern. I already like it more and more with each listen.

A big sigh of relief then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great third album!, 19 Aug 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Vampire Weekend's third album 'Modern Vampires of the City' is their best to date.

This indie band has always been a favourite of mine, but I held off buying until I heard the radio friendly 'Unbelievers' and the catchy 'Diane Young'. Those two tracks led to me almost immediately purchasing the album, and I was not disappointed.

Whilst definitely sounding different from their past releases, you can't mistake the sound of Vampire Weekend, and the quality of the music has stayed the same. Most of the songs are now less 'poppy' and more mature. The same good rhythms, vocals and interesting, complex lyrics are still here in spades. My hand-down favourite track is the beautifully composed 'Step' (quickly sneaking into my top 25 most played songs) which deserves to be the next single. There is a good variety of songs on this album, whilst there are still some 'poppy' and 'upbeat' tracks here (to keep in with that signature style which made them popular), there are others, slow songs which are perfect for just chilling out to.

Also, the album photography was extremely well done and the best I've seen in a while. I know it's far from essential when reviewing a CD, but I loved the packaging, the script-like lyric book and the Manhattan setting photographs were a nice touch.

If you like Vampire Weekend, I highly doubt that you'll be disappointed by 'Modern Vampires of the City'. If you don't already own their past couple of albums and are parcel to indie/rock/alternative music, I think this is the best to start off with. Here is a quality experimental record that has something for every listener to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect pop, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyable to hear pop with class, shades of early House martins, Big Star, Blurs Park life - but like all good new music it is none of the above, it is wha it is. Thoughtful, catchy, foot tapping in places you will feel the need to get up and move.
Really made the most of the vinyl opportunity, with a lovely pressing (ok we should take that as read) but a fold out poster with lyrics on the reverse making and the album art really pops at full size, the whole package is a thing of beauty.
The cherry on the top = they have bundled a CD - just in a clear plastic slip case, so you can rip to your smart phone or use on the many CD devices that are in cars and elsewhere in your life.
Great album, great vinyl and packaging - Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ace, 19 Jun 2014
By 
D. Lawry (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent album. Consistently good songs. Variety abounds. Interesting sounds and lyrics. Lots of religious imagery and it is not always easy to know what it is all about but it seems to be more substantial than most stuff going around. I guess my only criticism is that some of the songs are a chorus or verse too long, which I think detracts from their punchiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Patchy, 11 May 2014
By 
D. N. Frew (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Vampires of the City (MP3 Download)
I loved both previous albums (Vampire Weekend and Contra) with all tracks on both albums firmly in my top rated playlists. This album is not as consistent. I love Diane Young, Ya Hey, Finger Back, Worship You and Unbelievers. Diane Young is probably in my top 10 tracks ever.
However, Hudson is awful (1-star - firmly flagged for deletion if I run short of disk space.) and six other tracks I gave 2 stars, meaning I never want to hear them again.
I thought of gong back to listen to them again so I could write a more in depth review, but instead I have just put the five 5-star tracks on repeat. Life is too short to listen to music you hate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 14 April 2014
By 
amiedevon (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a gift for my boyfriend 'just because' and he loves it, plays it in the car all the time. Great driving music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modern Vampires of the City
Modern Vampires of the City by Vampire Weekend
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews