Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE PRICE
I had this pre-ordered and i received it 5 days later (I stay in East Africa), as usual my blur ray arrived well packed, though i am totally disappointed by the packaging, its a very thin cheap piece of paper that forms the case that holds all the discs in their respective boxes. This for me is the let down of the whole package, for such a distinguished Producer in...
Published 23 months ago by MATTHEW CHAN

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vanilla Blu Ray
Great selection of movies. Some will argue that it is not the best collection possible, some will argue it is the best selection to showcase what the Blu Ray is capable of. My complaint is that these are pretty much as close to vanilla discs as you will get in Blu Ray. Extras are very limited on nearly all of the movies, very disappointing.

Even a £4 dvd of...
Published 23 months ago by redsfan86


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE PRICE, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray] [1995] (Blu-ray)
I had this pre-ordered and i received it 5 days later (I stay in East Africa), as usual my blur ray arrived well packed, though i am totally disappointed by the packaging, its a very thin cheap piece of paper that forms the case that holds all the discs in their respective boxes. This for me is the let down of the whole package, for such a distinguished Producer in Hollywood, the studio chooses this sort cheap packing. It does not look next to my collection of digibooks and steel books, even next to the other blu ray collections with the ordinary packaging.

Thankfully this is the only downside, they are 4 disc cases, each contains 2 discs, as it has been stated clearly over here by other reviewers, all movies are region free except Déjà Vu , which is strictly region B, Amazon needs to change this mistake.

Now on to the quality of the movies, i am pretty sure these are the old transfers that have been floating around, no new improvements have been made to the movies, but there are still excellent on blur ray, though its now very easy to notice the age of movies like Armageddon, don't get me wrong, I aint saying Armageddon looks bad, its still stunning on blu-ray, The rest of the movies stand out very well. No complaints from me.

Now for the sound, I am huge fan of DTS HD, closely followed by Dolby True HD, Unfortunately only Armageddon out of the whole collection comes with DTS HD master audio 5.1 soundtrack, which really gets all the speakers going when necessary, All the other movies have the standard 5.1 dolby digital soundtrack and no DTS HD master Audio soundtrack, but thank the lord they put a LPCM 5.1 soundtrack on the rest of the films, the thing about uncompressed PCM is that everything is very crisp, i watched the remaining 7 movies with the LPCM 5.1 soundtrack option (Not a fan of ordinary Dolby Digital 5.1 on Blu rays) and they where stunning.

As for features, dont expect any, the very few that are available are very very few.

All in all it's a great bargain for all these movies, except for the packaging though, nothing else should stop you from buying this, though i am very sure, we shall soon see a new Bruckheimer collection with brand new transfers, just wait, the studios always get us like that don't they, lol.

SPECIFICATIONS:

Gone in 60 Seconds:

Video

Codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio

English: LPCM 5.1 (48kHz, 24-bit)
English: Dolby Digital 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles
English SDH, French, Spanish

Discs
25GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)

Playback
Region A,B,C

The Rock:

Video

Codec: MPEG-4 AVC (23.45 Mbps)
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio

English: LPCM 5.1 (48kHz, 16-bit)
English: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)
French: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)

Subtitles
English SDH, French, Spanish

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)

Playback

A,B,C

Déjà Vu:

Video

Codec: VC-1 (23.17 Mbps)
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio

English: LPCM 5.1 (48kHz, 16-bit)
English: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)
French: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)

Subtitles
English SDH, French, Spanish

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)

Playback

Region B ONLY

Armageddon:

Video

Codec: MPEG-4 AVC (26.32 Mbps)
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio

English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 (48kHz, 24-bit)
French: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)

Subtitles
English SDH, French, Spanish

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)
D-Box

Playback

A,B,C

Crimson Tide:

Video

Codec: MPEG-4 AVC (24.00 Mbps)
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio

English: LPCM 5.1 (48kHz, 16-bit)
English: Dolby Digital 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles
English SDH, French, Spanish

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)

Playback

A,B,C

Enemy Of The State:

Video

Codec: MPEG-2 (19.60 Mbps)
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio

English: LPCM 5.1 (48kHz, 24-bit)
English: Dolby Digital 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles
English SDH, French, Spanish

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)

Playback

A,B,C

Pearl Harbor:

Video

Codec: MPEG-2
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio

English: LPCM 5.1 (48kHz, 16-bit)
French: DTS 5.1 (48kHz, 16-bit)
Spanish: DTS 5.1 (48kHz, 16-bit)
English: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)
French: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps) (less)

Subtitles
English, English SDH, French, French SDH, Spanish, Spanish SDH, Dutch, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)

Playback

A,B,C

Con Air:

Video

Codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1
Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Audio

English: LPCM 5.1 (48kHz, 16-bit)
English: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)
French: DTS 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps)
Spanish: DTS 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1 (640 kbps) (less)

Subtitles
English, English SDH, French, French SDH, Spanish, Spanish SDH, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)

Playback

A,B,C

Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, great value, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray] [1995] (Blu-ray)
The box comes with 4 slim Elite's cases each contain 2 discs. All disc have uncompress Dolby 5.1 and all region encoded except Dejavu which region B locked. If you don't mind about package artwork, this box is really worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the price.... Region-free(*).... what's NOT to like? Saves money, space, and time {finding the Bruckheimer flicks.}, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray] [1995] (Blu-ray)
Man! My Blu-ray player has a-l-m-o-s-t as many miles on it as [retired Army/Navy] I do!
My [Japanese] Panasonic Blu-Ray player was shipped to America, then, sent from Dallas,
Texas to a Schweinfurt, Germany U.S.Army base...
Retired, I---now---live in Germany with my "American" Region-A(only) BD/DVD-player.

I got a bargain, here! Eight GREAT movies!

This collection contains seven (7) Region A; B; and C discs, except one of the eight discs:
"De Ja Vu" is only region B.(*)

I gave the "DeJaVu" Blu-Ray away...in a seperate case that ONCE had the Region A DVD,
and put t-h-a-t disc in the BD-case that, now, has the DVD version. Works... for ME!

Some will complain that the eight movies are boxed in four---double disc---cases; but, t-h-a-t
saves s-p-a-c-e, for ME!

The movies are:
ARMAGEDDON .......... and THE ROCK
GONE IN 60 SECONDS and CON AIR
CRIMSON TIDE ......... and DE JA VU
ENEMY OF THE STATE and PEARL HARBOR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vanilla Blu Ray, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray] [1995] (Blu-ray)
Great selection of movies. Some will argue that it is not the best collection possible, some will argue it is the best selection to showcase what the Blu Ray is capable of. My complaint is that these are pretty much as close to vanilla discs as you will get in Blu Ray. Extras are very limited on nearly all of the movies, very disappointing.

Even a £4 dvd of Armageddon is loaded with extras!!! Great selection, shocking poor extras and bonus material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value box set, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray] [1995] (Blu-ray)
This is an excellent value box set, it contains 8 movies in 4 slim cases.

They're all decent movies with good transfers, with the exception of Pearl Harbour which looks fantastic but in my opinion not a very good movie. Anyway with the 8 movies on offer there is a good mixture of dumb action movies and slightly more cerebral thrillers.

All in all, 8 Blu-rays for £20, what's not to like? It would make an ideal xmas or birthday gift for any guy that enjoys action/thriller movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A no brainer, like Pearl Harbour, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray] [1995] (Blu-ray)
Booked these on pre-relaese for £19.99. Two discs per cover. Watched three so far, and all had uncompressed sound option
One of my best ever Blu-Ray bargains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars £20 .. for 8 films on blu ray ??? awesome, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
Owen Roberts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray] [1995] (Blu-ray)
a nice collection of blu ray films . be warned if you like your extras .... it's just the films only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 23 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Ruth Barham (New Forest, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray] [1995] (Blu-ray)
Brought this for my husband for fathers day and it was well received. Great action packed collection, brilliant value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great films, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray] [1995] (Blu-ray)
Great films - awesome picture quality but the sound on some of the movies is pretty low. Budget blu ray versions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Blu-ray starter pack, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray] [1995] (Blu-ray)
I paid £10 for this collection, I won't bore you with individual film reviews, IMDB does that well enough, the set has 2 films per case, the picture in full HD is great, the sound also is great, particularly on Deja VU & Con Air. Perfect for an action film lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jerry Bruckheimer Action Collection [Blu-ray] [1995]
£21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews