Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Quality but Too Short.
This does have some great 3D footage in the highest HD quality - as well as a very good surround soundtrack and interesting commentary from Leonardo di Caprio. But after 45 minutes it's all over and just feels too short - you want more and the two extras are only in 2D and not that interesting.

The footage is made up from two distinct sources - the NASA footage...
Published 19 months ago by Bruce

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much 2D!
Not enough 3D

Some great scenes on this disc, however far too much is 2D in a window which is 1/4 the size of the normal screen, probably lucky if you get 20 minutes in true 3D. All of the Hubble images are 2D with a 3D 'star light effect', can't fool me!

Shame as I don't believe it had to be like this.

Also, it felt rushed to me and it...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. I. Sefton


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Quality but Too Short., 8 Oct. 2013
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Hubble [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This does have some great 3D footage in the highest HD quality - as well as a very good surround soundtrack and interesting commentary from Leonardo di Caprio. But after 45 minutes it's all over and just feels too short - you want more and the two extras are only in 2D and not that interesting.

The footage is made up from two distinct sources - the NASA footage of astronauts working to service and repair the orbiting Hubble telescope and actual footage of images created from Hubble, of far-away gas clouds and galaxies. The former is interesting and the shots in space of the astronauts working above the earth are truly spectacular - the 3D imaging really makes it feel like you are there.

Even more spectacular, are the two sequences that have you flying through light years of space to see stars forming in dust clouds and far-off galaxies that are billions of light years away. However these are just not enough, you really feel there must be more that they could have shown. The astronaut training and preparation was stretched out and the really stunning images were held to the end.

Overall I am glad to have seen these images and some are definitely worthy of many replays - but the sequences of Hubble data, while being the true highlights, are also the briefest - leaving you feeling slightly short-changed.

I would say that this has to get four stars for the sheer quality of the stunning images - but maybe 2-3 stars for value and time given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much 2D!, 14 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. I. Sefton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Hubble [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Not enough 3D

Some great scenes on this disc, however far too much is 2D in a window which is 1/4 the size of the normal screen, probably lucky if you get 20 minutes in true 3D. All of the Hubble images are 2D with a 3D 'star light effect', can't fool me!

Shame as I don't believe it had to be like this.

Also, it felt rushed to me and it could have taken a little longer during some of the visits the shuttle made to the Hubble.

Worth the watch but it's not an item you will watch again and again and it certainly doesn't show off the 3D magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First full length 3D DVD purchase., 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Hubble [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
An interesting subject where the 3D puts you right there in a place you could never be in real life. Its like being an astronaut yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Hubble [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Absolutely amazing what us meer mortals can achieve, but unfortunately its only 44 mins long.
More images from hubble and trips through the stars would have been excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Great, Fantastic, 23 Jun. 2014
By 
StephJ (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Hubble [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A beautiful film in 3D Made me really feel I was in orbit watching this DVD through my Cinemizer glasses. I'll watch it over and over again. Spectacular footage. Great sound too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMAX Hubble, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Hubble [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This has to be the the best 3D experience I have ever seen , the documentary is very informative and seeing the universe in such clarity is a must for any astronomy fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imax Hubble 3D Blu-ray, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
David Welford (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Hubble [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Though I do appreciate that those with 3D are in the minority, I suspect that it is the back of many of your minds that one day...! Also of course most of the 3D blu-rays come with a 2D version so you can watch now and upgrade later. I have recently bought `IMAX HUBBLE 3D' which everyone I have shown it to have been spellbound by the images in space and the trip via pictures captured by Hubble to the farthest reaches of the solar system and other galaxies. The film is narrated by Leonardo DiCaprio and follows the 2009 flight of the shuttle Atlantis, and the dangerous final mission to repair successfully the Hubble telescope. Originally shown in 3-D IMAX screens, with much of the footage shot by the astronauts, this looks incredibly good shown on my Panasonic 6000 projector viewed on an 8ft home cinema screen. If you sit really close to the screen you could almost believe you had your own Imax experience at home. The 3D images are superb and it makes you really appreciate the incredibly difficult technical achievement of establishing and maintaining a Space Station. The film also gives a feel of what it is like to be blasted into space and life on-board the Station. The Hubble telescope has given mankind a tremendous leap in knowledge in the search for the origins and extent of the universe. Only complaint, it is at 40mins the film is a bit on the short side. I thought this `Hubble Imax' was a better purchase than the somewhat similar `Imax Space Station', because of the additional superb 3D images from the Hubble telescope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very little real content for 2D viewers, 13 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. H. E. Mcmorran (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Hubble [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This picture actually has very few great images, even within a 40 minute run time. There are 1 or two images like on the cover, the rest is just mundane, with maybe a couple of nice pictures of the hubble. Just go to hubble website for better images, and if you want this then be prepared for plenty of fake stars and gimmicks from the 3D crowd, that stick out like a sore thumb in the 2D version.

I wouldn't pay more than 5 pounds for the content, and only if I had 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some stunning 3D shots, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Hubble [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
IMAX 3D Blurays seem to have lost their premium price, and this one's the pick of the bunch. The story of Hubble, in 45 minutes, with some simply stunning 3D shots of our universe thrown in to boot. At this price it's a steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the Shuttle and the Earth and I don’t think I could have got bored! The Hubble images were of course upscaled 2D ..., 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Hubble [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This disc holds to the old theatrical lore of “always leave them wanting more” the film could have had another hour of astronaut’s on EVA showing the Hubble, the Shuttle and the Earth and I don’t think I could have got bored! The Hubble images were of course upscaled 2D to 3D but stunning images none the less. The play time was just too short so only 4* although I knew the running time before buying so I may be being a little harsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

IMAX: Hubble [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£13.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews