Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multiple Audio Languages!!
The following Audio languages are available on the three movie discs (Mad Max Collection and Limited Trilogy with petrol can packaging, BluRay):
- Original Australian English (only Mad Max 1)
- English Dubbed (only Mad Max 1) / English for Mad MAX 2 & 3
- Francais
- Deutsch
- Italiano
- Espanol - Castellano & Latino
- Portugues
-...
Published 10 months ago by Frank

versus
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UK blu-ray
The first two films are post-apocalyptic action classics. Violent cartoonish fantasies that made an International star out of Mel Gibson who stars as charismatic antihero Max.

The third film was aimed more at Hollywood and suffered from quirky humour and a subplot concerning a bunch of feral children that spoils the overall tone of the film. Still the...
Published 11 months ago by Blood Freak


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior action movie cycle, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To anyone who hasn't seen or at least heard of the Mad Max series... "where have you been all your life?" It was nevertheless a little shocking to be reminded just how old this franchise is - the first in the series was released in 1979! The films have aged remarkably well, as one might expect, I suppose, of anything with a dystopian, post-apocalyptic theme. Remarkably well.

The story begins as Max, a road cop in a society where law and order has mostly broken down, does battle with a band of nomad bikers. Burnt out by the horrors he has endured, Max takes his young family on holiday to get away from it all, only to be followed by his implacable enemies. The second film is more clearly set in a post WW3 landscape where Max, alone now, wanders the wasteland in a self-perpetuating search for fuel. He eventually falls in with a group of survivors who are besieged by savage hot-rod driving crims and rediscovers his lost humanity. In the third film, Max gravitates to a "wild west outpost" called Bartertown and is thrown into the gladiatorial arena that provides the town's occupants with justice and entertainment.

The plot line is for the most part undemanding and uncomplicated and the characterisation is more or less non-existent. What the films provide, however, is some of the best action movie/road movie thrills ever committed to celluloid. The crash sequences in the first two have to be seen to be believed and it's perhaps a miracle that Australia didn't lose a generation of stunt-riders as a result of these films. In many respects, the second film is far and away the best of the bunch (and how many sequels can claim that distinction?). The first is standard cop-war fare but particularly well realised and both of these benefit hugely from being Hollywood independent. Some of the production techniques are a little clunky (speeding up the film to make driving/riding sequences "faster") but the set design but the excellence of the action sequences allows one to forgive so much.

Despite the rather ordinary acting (Gibson will never win any awards from me) there are some excellent characters lurking in the films. Hugh Keays Byrne as the Toecutter (MM1) is particularly good, as is Bruce Spence (the wonderfully realised Mouth of Sauron in Peter Jackson's Return of the King), the gyro captain (MM2) who makes a quasi-comeback in the third film (is he playing a different character the same way or the same character differently? We just don't know!). My favourite supporting act and winner of the "Crookedmouth Performance I'd Like to Have Seen Lots More Of" Award has to be Geoff Parry as the Toecutter's understated, sinister and crushingly ironic second-in-command Bubba Zanetti.

Unfortunately, the third film, Thunderdome, is an over-complicated, commercialised, camped-up mess. I can only guess that Hollywood had got their teeth into the series and wanted to improve its appeal (as if that was necessary). It's still a good, highly watchable film but most definitely the weakest of the bunch. I'm somewhat concerned about the fourth film in the series (if it ever gets made).

If you enjoy action movies and haven't seen these, then your life isn't complete. My individual ratings are as follows:
MM1 - ****
MM2 - *****
MM3 - ***

These are vanilla disks with no extras at all, but with subtitles and overdubbing in several European languages, including French, Italian and Spanish. It's worth noting that the default setting for MM1 is with the truly awful American language overdubbing for American audience members who hadn't heard of Australia. I could launch into a geopolitical diatribe about that, but I'll spare you my opinions and assure you that if you change languages during the film to Australian English you can get to the original (and far superior) Aussie voice track. MM2 is the 91 minute version. I'm not sure if this is the uncut version or not.

Kid: Hey Mister! What happened to the car? Looks like it's been chewed up and spat out.
Bubba Zanetti: Perhaps it was a result of anxiety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Max trilogy, 1 Nov 2008
By 
G. Jones (WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
what can i say WOW just how i remember them i used to watch these films as a kid with my dad late at night arr memories. I did have them on VHS tape but quality was rubbish so i thought id upgrade SO AFTER READING REVIEWS ON HERE (thanks Reviews) I FINALLY BROUGHT THIS set of films and i have had many a mad max night. really good buy at this price and amazon were spot on in everything paid the extra cost for post to get them faster.so any one who like me is the other side of 35 and liked these films originally GET THEM WELL WORTH IT GREAT DEAL GREAT FILMS. there is talk on here about these films that they aren't the originals or the accents aren't right but to be fair when the wife and kids have gone to bed grab yourself a few beers and some munchies and watch these films PURE BLISS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inferior product courtesy of Warner Bros., 15 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Mad Max Trilogy [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The lack of extras is one thing, but Warner UK have really stiffed fans with the inclusion of an HD-MA audio track of the horrible "American dub" of the first film, and given them a low-quality version of the original Australian soundtrack.

For those who really want to get the full Mad Max experience, you'll have to mix-and-match discs from around the world: Mad Max from Australia, and two standalone releases of 2 & Beyond Thunderdome from America. All will play on UK Blu-ray machines, but it's an expensive business to get something which should have been released as standard.

Very poor, Warner. Still, this is the company which forced the strains of "As Time Goes By" on the start of many films with their new logo, including Friday the 13th, so they have a passion for retroactively b*ggering up movies from the outset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars no está en español // not dubbed into spanish, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In spite of what is written in other reviews, none of these three films is dubbed into spanish.
dubbing: English, French, Italian
subtitles: Enghish, French, Italian, Dutch, Arabic, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Romanian, Bulgarian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Max Trilogy, 6 May 2009
By 
Mr. Mark Ryan (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Three of the best post-apocalyptic movies in one boxed set - Great stuff! From the lower budget but intense action movie that is 'Mad Max' through to the hollywood blockbuster ' Beyond Thunderdome', Mel Gibson is at his best. Following the tales of Max as the Road Warrior these movies are filled with violent, hard hitting action sequences whilst weaving careful stories; all set in a backdrop of near future Australia. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mad max, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 3 Films are my favorites. The quality of the picture and the Sound is very good.Recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mad Max Trilogy [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Spot on,works wizard.can't ask for more.
Delivery was as expected quite quick even for budget delivery option.
Would recommend this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars uk region 2 blu ray., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mad Max Trilogy [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I cannot do justice to other reviewers.So i will not try.All 3 have a nice picture quality mm2 seems uncut slightly longer boomerang and crossbow bolt in the leg.Mm1 complete as the video the attack and rape and trashing of car was almost completely excised.My only complaint is the later mm1 release on video in the nineties in widescreen was nearer 2.66.1 as was filmed in todd ao were this is 2.35.1.Mm3 the weakest of the three.The ausie soundtrack mm1 i found it hard to hear the dialogue but the engine noises were so loud i was turning the volume up and down and trying to find an happy medium.But for the price you cannot go to far wrong purchasing this item.also very little in the way of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare yourself, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mad Max Trilogy [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
After seeing this movie I realised how unprepared I was for the coming apocalypse. when Britain runs out of fuel and becomes a haunted wasteland what would I do? So I welded an old wheel barrow onto the front of my vauxhall corsa, painted it matt black and got myself a west highland terrier from the dogs trust, now me and my westie prowl the M4, scavenging for mars bars and over-priced cheese toasties at service stations up and down this blighted landscape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything form looks, contents to shipping and delivery was simply excellent!
Movies are classics and I am very happy to have them on display in a Mad Max fuel can replica like that!
Its just priceless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mad Max Trilogy [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
The Mad Max Trilogy [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by George Miller (Blu-ray - 2013)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews