Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars335
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2000
Bruce Lee unfortunately was not able to see the final cinematic release of Enter The Dragon. He was already extremely nervous about how the movie would fair at the box office. He was a perfectionist, one of the purest exponents of Chinese Martial Arts ever to be filmed. This alone is reason enough to watch his films. Every single fight scene in Enter The Dragon was methodically coreographed by Bruce, even those when he was not present in the scene. His techniques are pure and brilliant. Sure, some people criticise this movie for having a thin plotline, but then that could be said of most of the early bond movies. Enter The Dragon is brilliant 70s kitch from beginning to end. It is like Dirty Harry, Bullit and Lee mixed into one. The soundtrack is also noteable from Lalo Schiffrin. Utterly superb.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 February 2010
Was reluctant to buy this blu ray as the reviews I had seen spoke of poor quality video and sound so I was pleasantly suprised at the quality of this film on viewing.

The film quality itself is overall suprisingly very good and much improved over the DVD versions I own. I don't claim it to be up there with the latest and greatest releases on blu ray but for a 37 year old film that wasn't particularly made to a high standard its great.

The sound quality is an issue though the mix of dubbing and sync problems aren't great but doesn't render the film unwatchable. Most of the Extra's made previously available on DVD seem present and correct and the imfamous nunchak scene that was removed from the 1st UK DVD but later reinstated on a subsequent relase is there too.

All round a classic martial movie and well worth a watch
22 comments|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2001
Enter The Dragon is considered by many to be the greatest martial arts movie of all time and it's almost 30 years old. It was made on a small budget which doesn't show, even in comparison to recent movies of the genre. It has exotic locations on a worldwide scale such as Kowloon, a cast of thousands and a credible actor, John Saxon who was at the time a big star but stayed second billing to Bruce Lee because when Lee was on screen nobody else got noticed anyway. There's the excellent music score by Lalo Schifrin who was the man behind the original Mission Impossible theme and of course...Action! With such varied and visually stunning styles as Tai Chi Chuan, Hapkido, Tai Kwan Do, Karate and Lee's invention Jeet Kune Do the action has never looked so unpredictable. This new DVD edition was well worth waiting for. If you've got any other version of this movie, get this anyway. For the first time in the UK it is completely uncut, with the infamous nunchaku scene reinstated, and it's even got extra scenes placed in the movie which were not even in the original cinema release. Where this special edition really shines though is in the extras. Along with the trailers and a workout documentary from 1973, it has extras on it that have been made specifically for this edition such as an interview with Lee's wife Linda Lee Cadwell who can be the only person to have known the truth about his life unlike so many other imitations such as Dragon - The Bruce Lee Story which although hugely enjoyable was inaccurate and over stylised. In the boxset you get 10 exclusive postcards, a copy of the press release brochure and lobby cards. The soundtrack has been reproduced to brilliant effect and the improved picture quality could not have been better, with the visual quality of a movie from today. If you like Bruce Lee, martial arts or action movies in general and don't buy this...You're losing out! Region 2 users usually get a bad deal with extras compared to the rest of the world, but it's nice to see that a lot of time and effort has been put into this ultimate special edition box set. Own this now!
22 comments|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
The Film
If you've never seen this movie, and like Martial art films then this one is for you.
Bruce Lee plays a Shaolin monk who is recruited by a government agency to go after a traitorous member of his temple. Han, is the head of a crime syndicate that distributes drugs and prostitute and the government needs proof of his criminal activities and that's where Lee comes in. Han lives on a remote fortress island and never comes to the mainland but once every three years he holds a martial arts tournament. Lee is asked to enter this tournament to gather proof of the criminal activities and supply this information to the government so they can bring an end to the drug cartel. He goes to the Island and enters the tornament and has to compete against martial artists one of which killed his sister years past which he recently discovered after speaking to an old man.

While on reconnaissance, Lee is being captured after an epic fight and the film ends with a fight to the death in a hall of mirrors.

I have to say this film is excellent and while the acting is questionable now, for me the nostalgia of this film and Bruce Lee makes it worth watching over and over, i love it!

Extras:
Documentaries included on the disc:
1.Bruce Lee: A Warrior's Journey 1 hr 40mins (looking into Bruce Lee's life and career)
2.Curse of the Dragon. 90 Mins (Looks at the life and death of Bruce and Brandon)
3.Blood and Steel: The Making of Enter the Dragon 30 Mins
4.Bruce Lee: In His Own Words 19 Mins
5.The Linda Lee Caldwell Interview Gallery 15 Mins
6.Also included is the original electronic press kit from 1973, a series of trailers for the film, and a short clip of Bruce Lee working out on his own.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2010
This is a terrific transfer and a terrific movie with the God of martial arts Bruce lee enchanting you even after almost 37 years of its release. and it is Bruce lee who is outstanding... though Jim Kelly and John Saxon make their presence felt with cameos.. but it is the magic of Bruce that enthralls one and all. And with the extras , the beautifully remastered movie..(though it is not the Dark Knight or planet earth) with clearer pictures and crisp sound. plays on my region 1 blu ray player... so i would say go for it.. it is worth your money...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2010
I have seen this film many times on DVD. I think it is a good film with good fight scenes. I think the character named Williams is good.

Picture Quality: 4/5

I think this Blu-ray is an improvement over the DVD. I think the it looks good. I think the colours and such looks very nice, compared to my DVD.

Audio Quality: 3/5

Cheap and lazy Warner Bros didn`t even make a lossless 5.1 audio track. We only got the standard, and highly compressed lossy version from the previous DVD. If it was up to me, it would be mandatory to have every BD that is released to have a lossless audio track.

It does sadly not work like that, as you can see. I think this film would`ve sounded better if we got a lossless audio instead of the common lossy one. The DD 5.1 sounds just ok in my opinion. It lacks good bass from most the punches and kicks.

Film: 4/5
Overall: 4/5
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
I waited a long time for wb to stop cashing in and make enter the dragon in 5.1 dts hd master sound worth the wait as the video has all so been improved. with lots of extras on the disc thing I have never seen before and the art card pack This is the best enter the dragon out there and its still fully uncut must have kung fu movie for all fans + uv copy all for 7 pounds.

project17awakening
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
British Intelligence recruits martial arts expert Lee to compete in a tournament on an island that is hosted by a dangerous criminal mastermind in an attempt to uncover his criminal operations.

The last completed feature film from one of the world's most renowned martial arts masters brings about a highly action packed plot with some splendid choreography and for many, showcased some of Bruce Lee's best talents in acting and art.

This being the first Bruce Lee film I have seen I was pleasantly surprised by his clam nature throughout but gathering enough gusto and vitality to portray the martial arts protagonist. His vision and expression for kung fu and fighting is brilliant, perfectly demonstrated in the final act and throughout.

The plot begins with Lee being taught the arts and finally appreciating the inner qualities of a true martial arts expert, which is enough for the British secret services to pick him up and send him off on a mission to exploit the dangerous criminal.

When Lee is given the outline of the history of Han the criminal, I was immediately reminded of a James Bond lined story. Now, when released that would have been a fantastic plaudits but now the perception of Britain's most famous spy has been changed over the last four decades. When Sean Connery opened the gates in the 1960's in Dr No everyone immediately saw something suave and unique, an appreciation of crime with added humour and excellent sophistication. After some awkward films and the descent in the late nineties and early noughties the perception and formality received many bad publicity but Daniel Craig's reprisal has revitalised the franchise and through all the films, it is easy to see a bit of this 1973 picture live on throughout.

But is it as good as the early Bonds? Well yes because it takes a martial foreign art and places it in a very English story. Kind of like the Leo Di Caprio Romeo and Juliet picture, a modern setting with old language. This is brilliant technique, a refreshing and gutsy attempt to define action and mystery.

Initially the plot steadies itself and when we learn about the tragedy of Lee's sister it becomes a quest for revenge. This initial back story is lost until one fleeting moment, as is the unbalanced narration.

The film's biggest selling point is the action, delivering full throttle power to the hearts of the viewers. The one on one fight sequences are well staged whilst the climatic good versus evil moment is wonderfully placed in the halls of mirrors, which is fair to say is even replicated in The Man with the golden gun, but this is by far greater. In a way it is even scary.

Lee's film brings around a fantastic feeling of full throttle action that can occasionally feel dated but regardless, is irreplaceable kick action.

8/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2001
With his untimely death, Enter the Dragon stands as the lynchpin of Lee's film legacy. It's one of the best action flicks of the '70s and a bona fide milestone in martial arts cinema.
Lee is at the peak of his form, showing off his astounding grace and prowess in fight sequences he himself choreographed.
It was with this film that Bruce Lee made the tranquil, passive martial artist - who's a demon unleashed in combat - into an international screen icon. Any action fan who hasn't seen Enter the Dragon (are there any?) definitely should.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 October 2002
Can't really add much - the film is fantastic. Forget the plot, you want the fight scenes, where Bruce avenges his sister, where he beats Han, the Numchuck scene, the subtle humour (the snake, the "fighting without fighting bit....), I just love the film.
There have been some "racism" comments over the years regarding Jim Kellys early demise; in defence of the film I always thought the only reason Han beat him was because he got distracted by a faceful of Dove and took a stone hand in the face. Pure bad luck.
But I agree, he's a far better fighter than John Saxon, and it would have been nice if he'd stuck around in the movie for longer.
Peace.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)