Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, unique insight, could'nt put it down!
I was a fan in the early 80's before he got big and it was truly illuminating to read about his early years and what he was really getting up to!. Much more interesting than his bio. Totally recommend.
Published 6 months ago by Jonathan Hepworth

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As Above So Below
I'm writing this review at about 85% of the way through the book and, although it makes interesting reading, I'm a little disappointed with the overall direction that it takes. I am finding the book very "event driven" as opposed to telling a story of a persons life, the book seems to jump from one persons comments to the next with nothing in between explaining why...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. R. Young


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As Above So Below, 29 May 2013
By 
Mr. R. Young (Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Above, So Below - The Unauthorized Yngwie Biography (Kindle Edition)
I'm writing this review at about 85% of the way through the book and, although it makes interesting reading, I'm a little disappointed with the overall direction that it takes. I am finding the book very "event driven" as opposed to telling a story of a persons life, the book seems to jump from one persons comments to the next with nothing in between explaining why certain situations occurred. It could have almost been written as a series of bullet points.
The whole book also seems very negative. Now, being a devoted Yngwie fan for over 25 years I know he hasn't exactly been an angel, however this man is all about music and using his unique talent to express himself - for me, this wasn't portayed very well in the book.
Hats off to the author though for tracking down all the people who had an affect on Yngwie's life (that must have took some doing) and for persuading them to be quoted in this publication - especially Amber !! One thing missing though are comments / feedback from the great man himself and that's why this needs to be read alongside Yngwie's autobiography "Relentless" which I've already purchased and will read upon completing this book.
All in all worth a read for any fan of Yngwie Malmsteen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, unique insight, could'nt put it down!, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Above, So Below - The Unauthorized Yngwie Biography (Kindle Edition)
I was a fan in the early 80's before he got big and it was truly illuminating to read about his early years and what he was really getting up to!. Much more interesting than his bio. Totally recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well worth a read, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Above, So Below - The Unauthorized Yngwie Biography (Kindle Edition)
Haven't read Relentless yet, but good quotes from the many band members! A Rock n roll lifestyle to the maximum .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read but so very painful...., 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Above, So Below - The Unauthorized Yngwie Biography (Kindle Edition)
This is a good book. It should really be read in conjunction with "Relentless', Yngwie's official autobiography. If you are a fan of Yngwie's music, then reading these books should reinforce the old adage that `the music should speak for itself'. After all, the characters, aggression, arguments, assaults, tragedies and downright madness behind his music do not make pleasant reading. The sheer number of people hurt intentionally or otherwise by the Yngwie behemoth is sad.

Yngwie's autobiography is clearly his personal spin on the story whilst Anders Tengner's unauthorized but well documented version seems to be more balanced. I know which version I believe!
It is interesting to note the sheer number of people who have been on the receiving end of Yngwie and despite all that has happened to them continue to maintain that deep down he is a really very nice guy. Perhaps he is? Read both books and then you decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT buy his sugar-coated autobiography, buy THIS, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Above, So Below - The Unauthorized Yngwie Biography (Kindle Edition)
20 years ago, as a beginning guitar player, I thought Malmsteen really was what he APPEARED: a master of his own destiny, a brilliant genius.

20 years later, this book showed me that I was looking at a myth I had constructed myself: Malmsteen was, is , a deplorable, ridiculous clown with serious mental issues. I had heard he was difficult, but not THAT bad. This book blew my mind, it interviews about 50 people who knew him well and tells you details that Malmsteen will NEVER have the balls to admit in his half-assed autobiography.

The guy is a loser with serious self esteem issues who would beat his chest and talking crap (he's a Viking, etc) and get his ass beaten in fights, only to whimper 'wait for me, guys'.

After reading this book, I lost all respect for him. What a stupid individual, he didn't know what the hell he was doing. Read for yourself, it's absolutely one masterwork of a biography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews