Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent - most beautiful edition available
I am delighted to see this publisher turning its talents to the classics because it has such high production values and attention to detail. This is Seven Pillars Of Wisdom as T E Lawrence intended it - a sumptuous edition, with all the original illustrations and maps from the first edition, even including the original phrase in Greek script. Thank you, Apostrophe Books!
Published 21 months ago by Admiral6004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seven pillars of confusion
I can see why it's a classic, the descriptions of the landscapes are fabulous and Lawrence's summaries of personalities brilliant if not necessarily fair. But if you want a clear chronology of the Arab revolt this isn't it. Part travelogue, part mystical musings, this is not an easy read but it does give you an insight into a complex personality. The kindle version goes...
Published 14 months ago by david marchant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent - most beautiful edition available, 8 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Beautifully Reproduced World Classic - Special Edition Including Every Illustration (Kindle Edition)
I am delighted to see this publisher turning its talents to the classics because it has such high production values and attention to detail. This is Seven Pillars Of Wisdom as T E Lawrence intended it - a sumptuous edition, with all the original illustrations and maps from the first edition, even including the original phrase in Greek script. Thank you, Apostrophe Books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very long read, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Beautifully Reproduced World Classic - Special Edition Including Every Illustration (Kindle Edition)
I have always wanted to read this book and particularly in light of the troubles in the region today. With detailed description of the land and peoples it made me realize that little had changed since this book was written. Very useful for anyone studying the area today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars seven pillars of wisdom, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Beautifully Reproduced World Classic - Special Edition Including Every Illustration (Kindle Edition)
I have read this many times and each time I amazed by Lawrence's interpretation of military situations and his man handling abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seven pillars of confusion, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Beautifully Reproduced World Classic - Special Edition Including Every Illustration (Kindle Edition)
I can see why it's a classic, the descriptions of the landscapes are fabulous and Lawrence's summaries of personalities brilliant if not necessarily fair. But if you want a clear chronology of the Arab revolt this isn't it. Part travelogue, part mystical musings, this is not an easy read but it does give you an insight into a complex personality. The kindle version goes well, shame there aren't more maps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning, highly detailed understanding of the origins of the Arab Revolt, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Beautifully Reproduced World Classic - Special Edition Including Every Illustration (Kindle Edition)
This is an oustanding acccount of the rise of the Arab Revolt to reclaim lands which had been under the Ottoman Empire for hundres of years. This required the oustanding leadership of Feisal but this could not have been achieved without the support and co-operation of the British forces based in Egypt. This is epitomised by the legend which has become a household name and lives as a high profile individual from The Great War - T.E. Lawrence. Lawrence was an extraordinary character whose life seemed to have lost some meaning after that war in which he ws so pivital in helping to achieve the aspirations of the Artab World of that time. I am sure this book should be required reading for anyone seeking a deep knowledge of the origins of the Arab Revolt and the complicated relationships between the many and varied tribes which Lawerence did so much to bring together to achieve the final entry into Damascus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An undisputed Classic , but diificult for ordinary mortals to understand, 11 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Beautifully Reproduced World Classic - Special Edition Including Every Illustration (Kindle Edition)
The story of Lawrence has fascinated me (and many much more knowledgeable )since I was a boy. It can be said that the book is almost a must read for a roundly educated person. That accepted it is not easy reading, for all but the most appreciative of T.E Lawrence literary style. This book achieves one thing (probably never intended by the author) to create a desire to learn more and explore the impact this extraordinary man had on the history of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Beautifully Reproduced World Classic - Special Edition Including Every Illustration (Kindle Edition)
So far so good. I've only just started to read this so it is difficult to comment fully. I've always wanted a copy of this book and since it is now 100 years since the start of World War 1 it seemed appropriate that I should buy It.
I suspect it may give some insights into the continuing problems in the Middle East
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully written book about the Arab uprising in WW1 against ..., 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Beautifully Reproduced World Classic - Special Edition Including Every Illustration (Kindle Edition)
A beautifully written book about the Arab uprising in WW1 against the Turks. Even if it does over inflate Lawrence's role, the seeds of the current problems were clearly sown in this book and the author foresaw this to some degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it can be a 'slog' sometimes but fasinating account of the time during the Great War against the Turks in, 20 Nov. 2014
By 
Ronald Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Beautifully Reproduced World Classic - Special Edition Including Every Illustration (Kindle Edition)
One of the classics that I always wabted to read, it can be a 'slog' sometimes but fasinating account of the time during the Great War against the Turks in Arabia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not easy..., 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Pillars of Wisdom: A Beautifully Reproduced World Classic - Special Edition Including Every Illustration (Kindle Edition)
A world classic perhaps, but really tough reading in the real world of 2014. The writing feels 100 years old, and the writer was an elite of his time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews