Customer Reviews


903 Reviews
5 star:
 (660)
4 star:
 (186)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


160 of 168 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate!
I have long been a fan of Robert Harris and was pleased to be given this novel as a birthday present. I devoured it in a couple of (longish) sittings. I recall studying the Dreyfus affair at school but these were hazy recollections at best. Having read the novel I am now seeking out a good non-fiction book on the topic so that I have a better appreciation of how well...
Published 11 months ago by D. P. Mankin

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough but a little pedestrian by Harris's former standards
I have enjoyed several Robert Harris books, especially Fatherland, and to be fair, Harris’s writing, especially his smooth and punchy use of dialogue, has improved considerably since earlier work. The actual ‘Dreyfus Affair’ was a complex, sordid and prejudicially-charged series of military, legal and social incidents which France at the time was keen to...
Published 6 months ago by Laurence Paul


‹ Previous | 135 36 3791 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
Robert Harris has done it again. I found this a great read. It made me curious to know more. Also very relevant to the modern world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dramatisation of the Dreyfus affaire, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
Cleverly interwoven fictional personal account with the historical facts. Well up with Fatherland in readability and plot development. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Historical Novel, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
Both the period and the characters are rich in detail, a great read!! Read it in one go on a long haul flight, could not put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First heard about the Dreyfus affair 70 years ago. It was then boring. Robert Harris made the story a wonderful read., 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
A first class dramatized account of an otherwise boring incident in French history. An excellent, gripping read. When I ordered the book I did not then know it was about the famous story of Captain Dreyfus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phantom Menace, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Dr. P. Ostovar "iPod Dude" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Hardcover)
This is yet another fantastic story with a true historical context by Robert Harris. As always with his books, the issue is being able to put the book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unusual and fascinating topic, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Holly Baker (Kettering, Northants England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
There is a moment after a few chapters where Robert Harris' skill kicks in and you are gripped. Highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great new version of an old story, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Michael Ward (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
Wow I loved this, it is a dramatised version of a real series of sad events in French Military and Judicial history, and it is GREAT.

Extensively researched and brilliantly told. It is Richard Harris at his best.

Can I say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing and informative, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
Like many people I was aware of the Dreyfus affair but really knew very little about it, Robert Harris's book has changed that. The ingnomy, pain and villification for Alfred Dreyfus was unbelievable. He survived the horrors of Devils Island and returned to serve again in the Army that had treated him so disgracefully, that took real courage. He and his family had to endure so much prejudice and hatred.
Georges Picquart the man responsible for persisting in the campaign to right the injustice was also a very brave man, he had to put up with much approbation. He kept on because he knew it was right to do so.
A really great informative read, well done Robert Harris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping historical novel, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
An excellent novel built around the Dreyfus affair but extremely thoroughly researched. I found it a fascinating read from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant read. Unputdownable. And every other cliché you can think of for excellence. Because that's what it is: excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 135 36 3791 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Officer and a Spy
An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris
3.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews