Customer Reviews


748 Reviews
5 star:
 (541)
4 star:
 (160)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


153 of 161 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate!
I have long been a fan of Robert Harris and was pleased to be given this novel as a birthday present. I devoured it in a couple of (longish) sittings. I recall studying the Dreyfus affair at school but these were hazy recollections at best. Having read the novel I am now seeking out a good non-fiction book on the topic so that I have a better appreciation of how well...
Published 10 months ago by D. P. Mankin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to his usual standard.
Although it is a spy/detection story there is no suspense in the book we all know what happened at the end of the Dreyfus affair, if you do not then do not read on.

We have Dreyfus being stripped of his rank etc. at the start of the book and being reinstated at the end. In between the main protagonist slowly uncovers what happened and works to overcome the...
Published 9 days ago by Douglas Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 375 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riverting, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
I bought this to read on holiday and basically read it cover to cover before I got to my destination
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Chapeau", M. Harris, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Alastair Black (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Hardcover)
I have read and re-read every Robert Harris book apart from "The Fear Index".
Within the first five pages of every book I start off by thinking "Why the hell did I buy this, what is so interesting about(for example)Cicero or aqueducts in Naples?"
But then , but then, after ten pages you are hooked into the story and you really can't put the book down until the end.
A tribute to the skills of the writer, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weel-known story told with flair, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Hardcover)
Robert Harris's books never cease to amaze me.This time he has come upwith a very wellknown story,but it seems that I have been reading it for the first time though I know it well.Amaster story teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Hardcover)
Robert Harris writes with elegance, good timing and a fine eye for structure, I think. I enjoyed this book enormously and would recommend it to anyone who either likes a good read or who is appalled by the injustices of this world or both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
Ensure you will suffer no distraction while reading this book. A most engaging read requiring on-going attention to the characters and events. This book swallows you in, but I found it to really bite at about the 67% mark. I read some of the other reviews prior to buying this book and can only support further the high acclaims it has generated. Best advice if you are unaware of the true events - I think - would be to avoid any investigation and read this first. Buy it, read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Man in Dangerous Freefall...., 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Hardcover)
I know about the Dreyfus Affair, in the sense (from 'O' Level History) that I know there was a Dreyfus Affair. But until I read this novelistic reimagining of the case, I had not realised its truly shocking nature or its incredibly divisive effect on France at the end of the 19th century. Narrated by Georges Picquart, the intelligence chief who first casts doubt on the conviction of the supposed spy Alfred Dreyfus, this is a gripping and thrilling story. It is also a very well- realised account of a man (Picquart) in dangerous freefall, at the mercy of a corrupt institution (the army) and a malevolent state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The shaming of the French, 21 Dec 2013
By 
A. B. G. Camps "a.b camps" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
Best book of the year for me. Tells the tale of Alfred Dreyfus the French army officer wrongly convicted of spying for the Germans and sent to Devil's Island to rot. Great tale written in the first person by a newly promoted French colonel .The bravery of the protagonist and others (Emile Zola) makes this a great read.Undercurrents of anti-semtism strengthen the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Remarable Read, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. J. N. Plant (Stoke-on-Trent, Staffs.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
Robert Harris gives credit for the idea of writing this book. It is astonishing no one has done it before. To take a story that many of us know that of Alfred Dreyfus, a French officer wrongly accused of passing secrets to the Germans. Such was the anti-Semitism in Europe in the later 19th century that any defence offered by Dreyfus was largely ignored. He was found guilty and sentence to spend time on a island off S. America. The story is told by a fellow officer, Picquart who witnessed Dreyfuss stripped of his rank and then because of his appointment to an investigation bureau discovers that Dreyfuss is not guilty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating story about an appalling mis-carriage of justice, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
The Dreyfus case has always fascinated me and this book does the story justice. It was easy to see that being an Alsatian Jew made him an easy target of accusations of treachery only 20 years after the disaster of the Franco-Prussian War, but this was compounded by senior politicians and Army putting loyalty to their institutions and their own reputations ahead of justice. The odd part is that we might wish the subject of this injustice to be a hero and a good man. Harris is not tempted to depict him as such for he was clearly very unlikelable which made him an easy target.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific read, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Officer and a Spy (Kindle Edition)
This novel, closely based on historical fact, has real pace and atmosphere. As recounted from the 'inside' by an officer involved in the affair - I say no more so as not to spoil things for those who haven't read the book - there may be a small disappointment for those who expect more of the public side of the affair to be involved. So Zola's famous pamphlet 'J'accuse' plays a very small part, as do many other details traditionally usually part of this story. Instead, we have a totally credible exposure of the corruption and prejudice in the upper echelons of the French government, judiciary and military of the time, leading one to wonder how much, in general terms, it may still prevail today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 375 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Officer and a Spy
An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews