Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different kind of buddy movie!
Everyone's familiar with the concepts behind a buddy movie: two wildly different characters are thrown together to fight injustice/ unite against a common foe etc and hilarity ensues en route. On that front, Robot & Frank is no different to any other buddy movie but for me, was something a little bit special.

Oscar nominated actor Frank Langella is fantastic as...
Published 20 months ago by John Milton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny?
In a rural area just outside New York,an ex jewel thief lives on his own,a poor husband & not a very good father.His daughters job involves alot of travelling but his son visits every week.His kids worry that he is not coping so as it's the near future & trying to help,they buy him some help,a robot butler.The robot has Franks health & well being as important in its...
Published 5 months ago by SCREEN77


‹ Previous | 111 12 1316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film!, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot & Frank [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I can recommend this film, it's Funny!, it's a interesting look at a friendship, between a Man and his Robot!
The situations and adventures within the film, bring up some interesting dilemmas between Frank and his Robot!
I would hope there could be a 2nd Film?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but not bad, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot & Frank [DVD] (DVD)
It was very funny in places, but I thought that it was going to be funnier. Was not keen on the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robor and Frank Blue Ray DVD Humerous?, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot & Frank [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It was a very interesting DVD which has some very interesting points to cover. I am not so sure about the humour part. There was some but when your an older person maybe it is too close to reality and Alzheimer's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gentle humour, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot & Frank [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sweet and tender. Quite funny. Langella is great, as always, and Sarandon walks on water as she usually does.
The performances make the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of charm, 17 Aug 2013
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robot & Frank [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I enjoyed watching this a lot. It's a nice simple idea, Frank is an old cat burglar who is struggling with the onset of dementia. He has trouble looking after himself and is losing his memory. His son is trying to get him into a home, but Frank refuses, so the son buys him the latest in robot helpers. The robot is programmed to improve Frank's help, but initially Frank is hostile to the idea.

The film progresses in a gentle manner, Frank warms to his new companion and starts teaching it some of the tricks he learnt in his days of crime. The film is about Frank's relationship with the robot, in parts it reminded me of the better parts of AI. The robot's character is on the face of it a simple one, it obeys it's programming, but is quite clever in how it resolves conflicts in the decisions it has to make.

It's a gentle film, but a lot of fun to watch and even manages to provoke some thoughts and a few chuckles. The performances from the main characters are all solid, although some of the supporting cast aren't great, but not bad enough to spoil the film. A recommended watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars poignant, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot & Frank [DVD] (DVD)
a gentle film showing how the elderly can be quite lonely and the rapport that sprung up between a pensioner and a robot, Quite amusing and sweet.I will watch it again !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Surprise, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot & Frank [DVD] (DVD)
This film was a surprise. "Set in the near future" didnt exactly draw me to this film but a friend recommended itnd I am delighted he did. It is a gentle story of a relationship, with comedy and good characterisation, so it held you until the end and the end brought a twist. Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comedy at it's best, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot & Frank [DVD] (DVD)
I choose a 5star rating, because it is one of the best films I have seen lately. It is the kind of film that appeals to all ages, from 16 year olds to 85 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice family film, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot & Frank [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i enjoyed this film .it was good value for a blue ray.i hope there will be a follow up film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heart-Warming and Processor-Cooling, 22 July 2013
This review is from: Robot & Frank [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
despite not hearing much about this film I think it is definitely worth a watch, Frank Langella plays his part inch-perfectly but maybe not quite as good as his Robot companion.

I found this film Heart-Warming and Processor-Cooling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robot & Frank [DVD]
Robot & Frank [DVD] by Jake Schreier (DVD - 2013)
£3.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews