Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent biography
I first read this biography about Vivien Leigh by Anne Edwards when it was released in the mid 1970s through a book club I subscribed to at that time. I found the actress a fascinating subject. She is described as a complicated and contradictory character to those who knew her well in her lifetime. Determined, sometimes ruthless, in her ambition both in her professional...
Published 20 months ago by vivienne ryan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Vivien Leigh : A Biography
As an admirer of Vivien Leigh's talent on screen this biography made sad reading. It was amazing to read that even when her bouts of manic depression were very bad she still courageously strove when they had temporarily passed to go on stage and on screen. Perhaps the real world was too painful. It is an interesting book, which could be described as an account of...
Published 9 months ago by Ms. E. Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent biography, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivien Leigh: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
I first read this biography about Vivien Leigh by Anne Edwards when it was released in the mid 1970s through a book club I subscribed to at that time. I found the actress a fascinating subject. She is described as a complicated and contradictory character to those who knew her well in her lifetime. Determined, sometimes ruthless, in her ambition both in her professional life as an actress as well as in her private life. She secured against all the odds one of the most famous parts in film history that of Scarlett O'Hara in Gone With the Wind which made her an international star and won her first film Oscar. She also starred in other famous film roles as Lady Hamilton which she starred with Laurence Olivier (who she married in real life), Cleopatra, Anna Karenina and Blanche du Bois in a Streetcar Named Desire for which she also won an Oscar. Although she tried to equal her husband, Sir Laurence Olivier, on the stage she never felt equal to his talent. It was, however, her manic depressive illness which later drove a wedge between this famous theatrical couple and they later divorced. I would highly recommend this biography to anyone interested in the actress for its detailed account of her life which is well referenced by letters from those closest to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put this beautiful but tragic book down, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivien Leigh: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
The worst thing was finishing it... I absolutely loved this book - the most tragic and utterly beguiling film actress of all time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivien Leigh a true star, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivien Leigh: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
I love reading about the true old time classic actors and this one does not fail. A real story about a real person. Really entertaining and because it's warts an all makes it even better. I cried at the end because I felt I'd lost a friend as well.
I loved this book and anyone who is a fan of biography will love it too.
Jenny M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight of a fascinating lady, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivien Leigh: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
A pleasure to read from start to finish. Incredibly interesting with great insights from those who knew her. It has left me with a wish I could have met her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - Hard to put down, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivien Leigh: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
A very well researched and well written book. Very sad in places. She never really came to terms with losing Olivier to a younger but very unattractive woman. Battled her demons but it was her physical health rather than her mental health which failed her in the end. In other biographies, scant mention has been made regarding the relationship with her daughter; so it was interesting to learn that they were nit estranged at all. If you are a fan of Vivienne' s you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vivien leigh, 18 Feb. 2014
By 
jean (bexhill on sea) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivien Leigh: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
a very good book - revealing the problems that she encountered all her life. gave a look at her troubled side which we knew was there but not totally understood. this book needs to be read carefully as there is a lot of detail regarding the films and shows in which she appeared, as well as her complicated private life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivien Leigh: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
A touching insight to an iconic actress. A wonderful read that reveals a surprising and sad life. A definite recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vivien Leigh a good portrait of her life, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivien Leigh: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
I liked it very much ,.I would recommend it to anyone who can remember Vivian Leigh..Truly a great film star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Vivien Leigh : A Biography, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivien Leigh: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
As an admirer of Vivien Leigh's talent on screen this biography made sad reading. It was amazing to read that even when her bouts of manic depression were very bad she still courageously strove when they had temporarily passed to go on stage and on screen. Perhaps the real world was too painful. It is an interesting book, which could be described as an account of progressive mental disorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit thin, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivien Leigh: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
An odd book in some ways and rather like an essay,I felt it didn`t capture the essence of Vivien Leigh and somehow it missed the boat for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vivien Leigh: A Biography
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews