Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Promised Land
This is an excellent 3 disc box set of Elvis' 1973 visits to Stax recording studio. The music ranges from R&B, Country to more Pop orientated tracks. There are some mighty fine tender ballads - that are heart-breaking to say the very least. Elvis is in fine form, buoyed by the success of the tv show `Elvis: Aloha from Hawaii via satellite' watched by 1.5 Billion earlier...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis At Stax
This is a good and very listenable collection but many Elvis fans will already have the vast majority of the music that's on here, as I have, the masters on numerous previous releases (original albums or collections), and many of the alternate takes on FTD releases or "Rhythm & Country". It does sound better on this release, however.

The opening track on Disc...
Published 9 months ago by C. Manley


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Promised Land, 9 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis At Stax (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
This is an excellent 3 disc box set of Elvis' 1973 visits to Stax recording studio. The music ranges from R&B, Country to more Pop orientated tracks. There are some mighty fine tender ballads - that are heart-breaking to say the very least. Elvis is in fine form, buoyed by the success of the tv show `Elvis: Aloha from Hawaii via satellite' watched by 1.5 Billion earlier on in the year.

Cd 1. (59.23mins). There are 17 outtakes in all, a mix of groovy R&B tracks, Country to beautiful ballads mixed in with a bit of studio banter. The quality is so high (and these are outtakes) but he set the bar extremely high didn't he. There are so many highlights but standouts for me - `Promised Land' (Take 4), `For ol' time sake' (take 4) and `It's midnight' (Take 7). 9/10.

Cd 2. (61.48mins). Consists of 10 outtakes that again breathe something different into each one of these tracks. `Take good care of her' is outstanding as is the unfinished rehearsal of `It's diff'rent now' - there are so many beautiful lyrics in this song which he pours his heart out on (nice to hear a different version than on the 70's Masters Box Set). There are also 10 master tracks from the first session recorded in July, many of which are sublime - especially `Sweet Angeline'. 10/10

Cd 3. (53.17mins). 18 master tracks from the December session, including `My boy', `Loving arms', `Good time Charlie...' and `You asked me to'. All fantastic tracks. 10/10.

The package also comes with a really nice 44 page colour booklet that has some great photo's in it. Overall the sound quality is great. A couple of niggles, the size of the set is an odd 8x8 inches but its beautifully done with a die cut front cover. The discs are a little difficult to get out of there slip pockets but this is a minor niggle of a great package. Really glad I brought the 3 disc version and not the single disc as the outtakes are worth the extra money. Highly recommended. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Hot Elvis wax!!, 9 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Elvis at Stax [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Take a trip to the PROMISED LAND - Elvis At Stax 2-LP is a fantastic melting pot of swaggering R&B and some of the greatest ballads ever recorded - all in fabulous sound - I'm playing it on a REGA RP6 and the sound is smooth and warm sounding; a prime Elvis vinyl audiophile release! There's nothing better for a discerning vinyl fan than dropping the needle on a red-hot wax release - this FANTASTIC Elvis vinyl is no exception - the sound is - simply SENSATIONAL!! It's an excellent Elvis@Stax overview: a sweet black candy heavyweight vinyl 180gram with vintage orange RCA labels (with cool RCA/Legacy mini logos ).
Sadly there's no gatefold sleeve or booklet, but with music this good, does it matter? Standouts: The infectious R&B grooves of, "Find Out What's Happening" --" Raised On Rock's" pumping bass and lyrical story -- a pool of tender, sweet, heartfelt ballads - add some gospel and funky horns -- and a Chuck Berry cover that melts speaker grills. Rock, soul, pop, country & R&B - it's all here on Elvis' 1973 STAX recordings extravaganza!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good record of 1973, 28 Aug 2013
By 
Mark Greenley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis At Stax (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Elvis was still at the top of his game in 1973 and this is a great CD set to show off his range. It's a shame that by the end of that year he would then be plagued with illness on and off for the next four years but still be able to give so much musically to the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail the King !, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis At Stax (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
This is fantastic and worth every penny. On the outakes Elvis sounds like he is having a ball and the band excel at funking up his sound. I had no idea how productive the Stax sessions were, and I can't recommend these recordings highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Elvis at Stax recordings, 19 Aug 2013
By 
OMG! It's got a plug! - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis At Stax (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
This is a superb collection of music that Elvis recorded during two sessions at Stax Studios in July and December 1973. It's a delicious melting pot of soulful country, R'n'B, ballads and pop. Elvis is (unsurprisingly) in fine voice and he highlights that nobody before or since sings a ballad quite like him. He's backed by some of the best musicians in the business and during the outtakes you get a sense of just how much fun Elvis had recording these tracks. The sound quality is crystal clear and it's just an out and out joy to listen to.

***If you buy the single CD edition of this album DIRECT from Amazon, in addition to the CD you get all the 55 tracks that comprise the Deluxe Edition immediately auto-ripped to your Amazon Cloud Player that you can then listen to or download at no extra cost!***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis At Stax, 3 Jan 2014
By 
C. Manley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis At Stax (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
This is a good and very listenable collection but many Elvis fans will already have the vast majority of the music that's on here, as I have, the masters on numerous previous releases (original albums or collections), and many of the alternate takes on FTD releases or "Rhythm & Country". It does sound better on this release, however.

The opening track on Disc 1 (I Got A Feelin' In My Body Take 1), with the pre-song warm up, is fantastic, and the warm up does add quite a lot to the enjoyment of the song in terms of build-up etc. I would definitely recommend downloading that.

There are some other good tracks and the booklet is excellent background, but 3 CDs worth is probably a bit much and despite the hype leading up to the release and in the booklet, I'm not convinced Elvis was really consistently at his best in these sessions - listen to Three Corn Patches for example.

Depending what's on it, the single disc coupled with downloading Disc 1 Track 1 in isolation is probably sufficient for most, but Elvis fans might already have a lot of this material on other releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Winter King, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Gary Hanna (Newry, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis At Stax (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Elvis at Stax the deluxe edition is a must for any Presley fan as they capture Elvis' last great recording sessions finally placed in their proper context. While it is fair to say that the July sessions haven't got the sheer power and energy of the December ones it is also crucial to note that ; "Find out what's happening"; and "I've got a thing about you baby" are truly outstanding.
It is however the December sessions that really hit the mark and finally being able to listen to them in one continuous play is a sheer joy. The first disc of R&B and Country outtakes is really something as Elvis warms up before each track and then unleashes his awesome talent backed up by the stunning guitar of James Burton, listening to him play with Elvis you really ask yourself is this the finest guitarist of them all. He reflects and compliments the spirit of Elvis' style. I sometimes feel he is to Elvis what Lester Young is to Billie Holiday.
The booklet that comes with the deluxe edition is beautifully illustrated and while the CD's can be hard to squeeze out at first this is a minor problem. Also be aware anyone new to these recordings and expecting the soulful sound of Otis Reading or Booker T and the MG's, Stax is present in name only. These recordings took place in the legendary studio location but the band is Elvis' own creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessary album, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis at Stax [VINYL] (Vinyl)
For many years in Memphis (And I know the city well) the fact that Elvis had two recording sessions at Stax was only known to his many fans. There was a Stax exhibition just off Beale a while ago & I noticed there was no mention of Elvis being there. I mentioned this politely to the man in charge & I could tell he did not believe me.. "Stax was for Black artists & Elvis recorded at Sun" etc. I ventured that American Sound also had Elvis recording there, but he did not know that either! Incidentally, Stax is now realising the pulling power of Elvis to get visitors into their new building, although there is still precious little recognition of Elvis being there. (Actually in a way they are right, because the building Elvis recorded in, the old cinema, was pulled down a least a decade ago & the new building has no connection with Elvis) As Elvis fan I would definitely pass on this tour if you don't want to be frustrated. But this album is very good. The 2nd sessions there produced some amazingly good tracks, not one bad song, with Promised Land being a standout. Buy the album, but if you ever get to Memphis avoid the tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis at Stax, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Maggie S "MDS" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis At Stax (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Received the item undamaged and on time. I have all the original tracks on another CD but this album is a gem. A worthwhile additiom to my Elvis collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis At Stax (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
Many many great songs filling 4 discs. With off-mike laughs and conversations and different takes to different songs.
Case and discs in perfect condition. Great artwork.

An audio version available to download and put on you Amazon music player, to save ripping the 4 discs into your laptop/computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis At Stax (Deluxe Edition)
Elvis At Stax (Deluxe Edition) by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews