Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good replacement for halogen but not as bright
I bought one of the EnergyBrite (Amazon ASIN: B00CNVM9NA) and one of the SuperLED (Amazon ASIN: B008U6S48Q) to trial before committing to further purchases.

I installed them both in my bathroom alongside 2 50 Watt halogen lamps.

Both LED Lamps are working OK and both LED Lamps seem to be as bright as the 2 Halogen lamps. It's hard to say for sure if...
Published 11 months ago by N. Dey

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars check your 12v transformers first
I bought these in July 13 as a replacement for the 50w halogen bulbs in my kitchen.

Firstly, they are not as bright (but not a million miles off) as the halogens;

Secondly, the light is very sterile - no one will look anywhere near their best under this light (i'm sure this isn't the bulb's fault - i have warm white in my living room which is far...
Published 6 months ago by OSpevack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good replacement for halogen but not as bright, 18 Sep 2013
By 
N. Dey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EnergyBrite, MR16 5W 12v LED Bulb 24x 5050SMD LED's GU5.3 Warm White 3000k--120Beam Angle--50-60W Equivalent--5050mm Same Size as Halogen,Energy Saving (Kitchen & Home)
I bought one of the EnergyBrite (Amazon ASIN: B00CNVM9NA) and one of the SuperLED (Amazon ASIN: B008U6S48Q) to trial before committing to further purchases.

I installed them both in my bathroom alongside 2 50 Watt halogen lamps.

Both LED Lamps are working OK and both LED Lamps seem to be as bright as the 2 Halogen lamps. It's hard to say for sure if the LEDs are brighter or dimmer than the Halogens and it's hard to say which of the 2 LED Lamps is the brightest. The SuperLED @ 5.5Watts uses 10% more power than the EnergyBrite @ 5.0Watts so I am a little surprised the light levels seem to be the same

The main difference is the face of the lamps. The SuperLED is covered by glass and the EnergyBrite isn't covered (no glass, it's possible to touch the individual LEDs).

I am going to buy more or both lamps. SuperLED lamps for the bathroom and kitchen because I feel more comfortable with the glass covered lamp. EnergyBrite for the spare bedroom & study room as these lamps seem to use less power.

EDIT:
I have fully replaced all of the halogens in my spare bedroom with these lamps and it is now really clear that the halogens I replaced were brighter. These lamps are fine for the spare bedroom but they are not going to be bright enough to replace the halogens in my study. I will have to find something brighter for the study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Streagan (Guildford, Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EnergyBrite, MR16 5W 12v LED Bulb 24x 5050SMD LED's GU5.3 Warm White 3000k--120Beam Angle--50-60W Equivalent--5050mm Same Size as Halogen,Energy Saving (Kitchen & Home)
I wrote a critical review of this product previously. I am correcting it now. When I first bought the product I put it in and the light was unsatisfactory. I recently decided to move the bulb to an out-of-the-way spot. The light was VERY bright. I have used another one and it is also very bright. If you are having trouble with yours try and reseat it in its plug, reverse the pins, etc. until you get a good light. We are now very impressed. This is brighter than halogen and produces a bright, strong, white light. It is NOT soft and warm. You should choose something different for that effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brighter than expected, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EnergyBrite, MR16 5W 12v LED Bulb 24x 5050SMD LED's GU5.3 Warm White 3000k--120Beam Angle--50-60W Equivalent--5050mm Same Size as Halogen,Energy Saving (Kitchen & Home)
Much brighter than expected. Might have to go for the next one down. I like the 120 degree light spread.
Came on time and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stars above, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Christopher D. Knight (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EnergyBrite, MR16 5W 12v LED Bulb 24x 5050SMD LED's GU5.3 Warm White 3000k--120Beam Angle--50-60W Equivalent--5050mm Same Size as Halogen,Energy Saving (Kitchen & Home)
these seem to be a very robust solution I have had no failures over the last 9 months having bought 12 bulbs the light is a little more directional than the old halogen lights but this can be got used to quickly and the light is a little more blue however they make excellent replacements and cost a fraction of the money to run. The best test was in our kitchen diner where they were more than acceptable as the only source of light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a try., 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EnergyBrite, MR16 5W 12v LED Bulb 24x 5050SMD LED's GU5.3 Warm White 3000k--120Beam Angle--50-60W Equivalent--5050mm Same Size as Halogen,Energy Saving (Kitchen & Home)
Three of these have cut my 150 watt bathroom lighting down to about 10 watts which considering they're in for several hours per day is a great. The light is a good match for the previous 50w halogens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 12 Volt LED lights, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. A. Shore "alsho" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EnergyBrite, MR16 5W 12v LED Bulb 24x 5050SMD LED's GU5.3 Warm White 3000k--120Beam Angle--50-60W Equivalent--5050mm Same Size as Halogen,Energy Saving (Kitchen & Home)
Despite the general hype these are not, yet, direct replacements for tungsten halogen 50 Watt lamps. Warm white are a more comfortable colour than white perhaps but are not quite as bright.
They are worth a try though and at 5 Watts are cheaper to run than 50 Watt units, especially when you have 10 of them in your kitchen ceiling and children and partners can't be bother to switch them off!
There might be a conflict with the transformers however, although if you put several on one transformer you wont get anywhere near the maximum load. One lamp may not be sufficient to energise the transformer. Special LED transformers are different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright clear light, good for the bathroom, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EnergyBrite, MR16 5W 12v LED Bulb 24x 5050SMD LED's GU5.3 Warm White 3000k--120Beam Angle--50-60W Equivalent--5050mm Same Size as Halogen,Energy Saving (Kitchen & Home)
Replaced halogen bulbs in the bathroom. Bulbs fit well and are certainly bright enough. Looking forward to a cheaper energy bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap to run, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EnergyBrite, MR16 5W 12v LED Bulb 24x 5050SMD LED's GU5.3 Warm White 3000k--120Beam Angle--50-60W Equivalent--5050mm Same Size as Halogen,Energy Saving (Kitchen & Home)
easy to install; but be sure what light you want - warm, cool, daylight etc as it ought to be a long time before you need to change a unit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars check your 12v transformers first, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EnergyBrite, MR16 5W 12v LED Bulb 24x 5050SMD LED's GU5.3 Warm White 3000k--120Beam Angle--50-60W Equivalent--5050mm Same Size as Halogen,Energy Saving (Kitchen & Home)
I bought these in July 13 as a replacement for the 50w halogen bulbs in my kitchen.

Firstly, they are not as bright (but not a million miles off) as the halogens;

Secondly, the light is very sterile - no one will look anywhere near their best under this light (i'm sure this isn't the bulb's fault - i have warm white in my living room which is far more forgiving and pleasant);

Thirdly, i directly replaced the MR16s i had - and have spent the last 7 months trying to figure out why a few of my television channels on my Virgin Media TiVo box are distorted. i stumbled upon the answer when i switched off the 12v LED lights - all 12v bulbs give some serious feedback which messes about with TV signal. The solutions are: 1) replace all transformers with iron cored 12v LED transformers (not cheap); 2) see if a ferrite ring around each power cable will reduce interference to an acceptable level (long winded and may now work); 3) buy GU10 fittings, remove the transformers all together, and purchase 240v GU10 bulbs (which seems the easiest).

Its probably my fault for not researching properly, but suffice to say, i'm not using the bulbs now - they are gathering dust, and i have had to buy LED bulbs twice. in the grand scheme of things, i have spent more on LED conversion than the energy saving i would have over 12v halogens for at least the next 6 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of LED replacement bulb., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EnergyBrite, MR16 5W 12v LED Bulb 24x 5050SMD LED's GU5.3 Warm White 3000k--120Beam Angle--50-60W Equivalent--5050mm Same Size as Halogen,Energy Saving (Kitchen & Home)
Delivery was on time. I was buying the product to replace halogen bulb in the bathroom and these bulbs state on the box that they are not to be used in a wet environment but note did not appear on site details. One of the bulbs flashed and the bulb stopped working. On testing bulb in another holder that was working bulb again did not work. I therefore got 2 good bulbs out of 3 ordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews