Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good second album
It's a shame that The Tribes split up last year after only four years together and two albums, I enjoyed their music and felt that they could have gone on to do very well. 'Wish To Scream' is the follow up to 'Wish to Scream', a far better record, but it has it's moments.

The album's first single 'Dancehall' is the opening track and my favourite, very Oasis in...
Published 1 month ago by ReviewBlog51

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tribes - Play the California Lottery
Sophomore slump alert. Tribes debut "Baby" was a laudable rock album that took some of the grunge influences of bands like Nirvana and the Pixies and fused them with the glam rock of Suede and T Rex. When all these combinations worked it was hugely enjoyable stuff not least in the crunchy rock of "We were children". The Camden band have now decided to swan around Los...
Published 15 months ago by Red on Black


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tribes - Play the California Lottery, 31 May 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wish To Scream (Audio CD)
Sophomore slump alert. Tribes debut "Baby" was a laudable rock album that took some of the grunge influences of bands like Nirvana and the Pixies and fused them with the glam rock of Suede and T Rex. When all these combinations worked it was hugely enjoyable stuff not least in the crunchy rock of "We were children". The Camden band have now decided to swan around Los Angeles and in the words of Jim Morrison have ended up "as another lost angel in the city of night". Getting to the end of this album is quite chore with its verse verse chorus orthodoxy but it is made even more painful by some of the weakest lyrics this side of a sixth form poetry competition. The plodding opener "Dancehall" kicks off with "She's a gypsy queen/real tired and mean/she's an airplane/knows everything" and that is Dickens in comparison to some of the later lyrical content. This of course is when the band is not ending with a full minute of "Na Na Na's" ("Get some healing") or poor attempts at early Elton John style ballads. Better is the mandolin rock of "One eye shut, " the traditional pop sounds of "Sons and daughters" plus the fuzzy noise of single "How the other half live". Sadly its all been done before with far more panache and with far less pedestrian energy . Equally the attempt to appeal to the American market on songs like "Englishman on Sunset Boulevard" sound like a derivative version of Oasis "Look back in anger" and frankly who cares if the band have an hangover on a street which is an icon of Hollywood celebrity culture. Whew this rock 'n' roll lifestyle is a tough existence. Ultimately Tribes have walked a well worn path on "Wish to scream". With the hot sun in a Californian sky beating down on them they have parked their grungy roots and gone for a mish mash of Americana. Regrettably it comes out sounding like they spent far too much time listening to "Exile on Main Street" and "The Joshua Tree". This album has been recorded to quickly following their debut and they now need to return to Blighty, get angry about austerity and record their next album in Sunderland or Merthyr Tydfil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good second album, 18 July 2014
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wish To Scream (Audio CD)
It's a shame that The Tribes split up last year after only four years together and two albums, I enjoyed their music and felt that they could have gone on to do very well. 'Wish To Scream' is the follow up to 'Wish to Scream', a far better record, but it has it's moments.

The album's first single 'Dancehall' is the opening track and my favourite, very Oasis in it's style, with a chorus that once kicked in you'll find yourself tapping your toes and singing along. Other standouts include 'Never Heard Of Graceland', which became a favourite of mine as soon as I heard it. The song is quite different to the usual cherry up-tempo songs that you associate with the band. Some of the tracks aren't as memorable as those on the outstanding debut album, but there is enough high points to merit a four star review.

'Wish To Scream', as I've said, has shades of Oasis (particularly on 'The Other Half Live'), but also bands like The Kooks and Kaiser Chiefs. The Tribes may have only released two albums, but I won't stop listening to them anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic sounds, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish To Scream (Audio CD)
What an unexpected pleasure this is! Still got that Tribes rockster attitude but the music and lyrics are on another level. This album is already an old friend, from the brilliant opening of Dancehall right through through to the trumpet that plays out Street Dancing, this is a classic, but One Eye Shut and Graceland are timeless. Can't wait for the next album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album but I prefered their first album, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish To Scream [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I liked the album but still prefer their previous album "Baby"-I have heard that they have recently disbanded, which is a shame as I think they could have gone far if they had stayed together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Tribes- A Wish to Scream, 9 Oct 2013
This review is from: Wish To Scream (MP3 Download)
I was seriously disappointed by this album- after their debut, an album that I thought was an unpolished gem, I sense this album was rushed. What I perceived to be raw angst on 'Baby' may just have been limited song writing skills as there are hardly any memorable songs here. There's the odd moment of redemption but on the whole their trip to the states hasn't paid dividends. The country rock influence does not work for me. That said, I'm not really a fan of country but if you are then this album might not suck quite as much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great second release, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: Wish To Scream (MP3 Download)
Perhaps more mature sounding than the first album, but still manages to create a tingling 90s nostaligic feel, despite being release 20+ years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album but..., 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish To Scream (MP3 Download)
I thought this was a great album from first to last song however, It's not quite as good as the first album and is somewhat cheesy in parts. Still a great listen though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointing, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish To Scream (MP3 Download)
I've been looking forward to this for so long, thought Baby was brilliant, all really rocky memorable songs, best I've heard for ages. Then this. Completely fogettable. Only one track stands out (Graceland) of 16. Long time since I've spent as much as 9.99 - what a waste - and what a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 22 May 2013
This review is from: Wish To Scream (Audio CD)
Took to the album from my first listen. Features enough variety to keep you interested and features many tracks which will go down a treat at concerts as sing a long songs. Simply a tremendous album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love their music, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish To Scream (Audio CD)
I'm so sorry they broke up. I love their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wish To Scream
Wish To Scream by Tribes
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews