Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Independent Horror
At the start of Empty Rooms we meet Maddie (Ramlah Frediani) who is being shown around a property by a realtor. The money they're asking for it makes it seem like a bargain and without much persuasion she soon signs on the dotted line. Recently separated, Maddie is having a hard time getting any maintenance payments from her ex-husband, and coupled with the fact her son...
Published 16 months ago by David Wain

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Frighteningly Bad
Please dont waste your money on this film as i did. The write up on the back of the dvd sounds like a good story...it's all lies! Awful camera, bad sound quality, jumping from mumbling to loud bangs.I chose to fall asleep before the end of this film, if i was watching alone i would have turned off long before! Unlikable charachters, bad acting and shoddily made. Avoid!!
Published 16 months ago by leigh.s


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Independent Horror, 14 Aug 2013
By 
David Wain (Bebington, Wirral United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empty Rooms [DVD] (DVD)
At the start of Empty Rooms we meet Maddie (Ramlah Frediani) who is being shown around a property by a realtor. The money they're asking for it makes it seem like a bargain and without much persuasion she soon signs on the dotted line. Recently separated, Maddie is having a hard time getting any maintenance payments from her ex-husband, and coupled with the fact her son Jonah (Charlie Koudsi) is both autistic and mute, life is pretty tough.

The move goes to plan, albeit Jonah as expected is a little bit on edge with his new surroundings but Maddie is lucky enough to have her hippy sister Amber (Tegan Ashton Cohan) stay with her for the first night. The first moment of strange phenomena occurs the following day when Maddie is in the shower. Out of nowhere she is grabbed by a hand which leads her to fall and hit her head on the toilet. Dazed, and after a moment of unconsciousness she presumes it must have been Jonah that did it and she gives him a strong verbal warning. In doing so she notices some of the recent artwork that Jonah has been creating, one of which is a very vivid pencil sketch of an imposing man completely naked.

Immediately Maddie seeks out a doctor for support for Jonah, and he arranges to pay her son a visit the following day. The doctor seems happy with the idea that any change in Jonah's behaviour is attributable solely to the move. Later that evening however, an intruder somehow enters the house and has an alarming similarity to the person that Jonah drew in his sketch, and so begins a number of strange occurrences that impact the lives of Maddie and her young son cataclysmically.

Empty Rooms made me jump out of my skin. How often can you say that about a horror movie? Undoubtedly the key factor for this is Meredith Yayanos' score which exemplifies everything that a score for a horror movie should incorporate. It's haunting, it's jarring and it heightens the tension immeasurably during the most frightening scenes. The director Adam Lamas has stated that the only instruction he gave was "early 20th century, Eastern Block classical", then let her have pretty much free reign.

This IS a low budget film, and more mainstream conditioned viewers may sneer at the limitations displayed by the constraints of a micro-budget. However, with a lead performance like the one delivered by Ramlah Frediani and excellent taught direction, you really owe it to yourself to unleash those big budget shackles and get on to a fine piece of independent horror filmmaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Frighteningly Bad, 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: Empty Rooms [DVD] (DVD)
Please dont waste your money on this film as i did. The write up on the back of the dvd sounds like a good story...it's all lies! Awful camera, bad sound quality, jumping from mumbling to loud bangs.I chose to fall asleep before the end of this film, if i was watching alone i would have turned off long before! Unlikable charachters, bad acting and shoddily made. Avoid!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overuse of fading!! Rubbish isn't a strong enough word, 22 Sep 2014
This review is from: Empty Rooms [DVD] (DVD)
Do not bother buying this film. You will be wasting 2 hours of your life.
Terrible acting
Rubbish plot
Awful camera work
FAR TOO MUCH USE OF FADING, was expecting the scenes to twirl out next.
I could have made a better film on windows movie maker.
Just because it's an indie film doesn't mean it has to be rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull horror, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Joe Smart (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Empty Rooms [DVD] (DVD)
A divorced mom with a severely autistic son (he can't speak and can communicate only by using flash cards with pictures on them) buys a haunted house. Nothing much of interest happens afterwards.
The set-up bares some superficial similarities to Dark Water, which had a divorced mom and her daughter move into a haunted apartment--but everything in Empty Rooms is so poorly thought out that the movie never works as a drama or horror flick.
To give one example of how flimsy the characters are, even for a horror flick--early in the picture the mom is complaining to her sister that her estranged husband hasn't paid any child support in months, suggesting possible money problems. But she's still able to purchase a house in a nice suburban area even though she seems to have no job.
Then there's the lousy plotting--once the violent ghosts start appearing it takes the lead character forever to make any attempt at all to find out what happened in the house before she moved in, and when she does finally try to find out she skips the most obvious route--since she has a friendly neighbor who is also a police officer why not just ask him if he knows anything about the house?
Empty Rooms has pretty good acting but the lousy script keeps the movie from ever being anything more than barely watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scared the beejeebuzz out of me!, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. E. A. Molloy (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empty Rooms [DVD] (DVD)
First off, I must explain that, yes, this is an indie film, with a low budget an no 'name' actors; so if that's not your thing go and watch the latest James Wan bloated, mainstream nonsense ...
Right, now they've gone I'll get down to it. I've been a horror fan for at least 32 years, so I've got a lot of experience under my belt.
The story here is original, the performances of the leading lady and her character's son are fine throughout. Sometimes the image is a little grainy when the shots are low-lit, and this is down to budget restraints
If, like me, you're a fan of Death Of A Ghost Hunter [DVD] [2007], Frankenstein Syndrome [DVD] [2010] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC],
The Collingswood Story [DVD],Soft For Digging [DVD] and Pontypool [DVD] [2008]
Google the title and watch the trailer; if it doesn't appeal, then forget it. If, like me, you jumped a mile and got goosebumps, this is the film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empty Rooms [DVD] (DVD)
above average horror film but nothing different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empty Rooms [DVD] (DVD)
Awful dvd. Rubbish acting, not one bit scary, crap story line, just a waste of money. It is awful. Don't bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb feast of terror and fright!!!, 27 Jun 2014
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empty Rooms [DVD] (DVD)
OMGOMGOMG just finished watching this superb reimagining of the haunted house scenario and was blown away by this little gem that is genuinely frightening or rather distressing is a more accurate word.

The hauntings are like Jhorror ghosts that resemble the living characters and also in that creepy Asian way you never truly learn the geography of the house so you, as viewer, are as disoriented as the people in the film..

and best of all it is inconclusive, no neat tie ups or hellfire or even explanation really.

Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys a bit of lateral horror these days of bumbling formulaic sillinesses.
the child actor who plays the autistic character is way beyond brilliant and so different from the usual American hoorror brat

Now buy yourself a copy and have a feast of terror and genuinely nerve-shredding tension for a change
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good!, 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: Empty Rooms [DVD] (DVD)
I spent £7 on this film and regretted it then sold it for £3 just hours after, firstly the camera quality is awful and you can actually see it shaking at times, the acting isn't great... Especially from the leads sister, she really annoyed me as she was just awful

Also I was expecting this to have some good effects but it's almost like they couldn't afford it... I was going to give this one star but the ending bumped it upto two as that wasn't too bad and it had a twist...

Oh and I put the £3 I got back from this into buying 'The Seasoning House' and that is a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Empty rooms, more like empty entertainment., 13 Aug 2013
This review is from: Empty Rooms [DVD] (DVD)
The top reviewer must of hit their head or not watched enough horror films in their time, firstly it feels like its shot on a camcorder, poor camera angles, mental characters, the plot has holes all over the place, half the time you don't even know whats going on, it just jumps from scene to scene without any real purpose.

disappointing end before the ending, leaves you thinking at least make it more interesting to the viewer.

if its meant to be some ghost story it really doesn't have the scare factor, or i'm so used to watching horror it didn't affect me.

Avoid if I was you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Empty Rooms [DVD]
Empty Rooms [DVD] by Adam Lamas (DVD - 2013)
£16.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews