Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To buy or not to buy, that is the question!
Star Trek is arguably the biggest media phenomenon in the world, spanning five live action series, 10 feature films and over 30 years of merchandise. There is no denying that Star Trek has a huge following and has been massively successful. Enterprise is the fifth live action, and at the moment, final Star Trek series. Enterprise was billed as an "exciting concept that...
Published on 12 July 2005 by James Gregg Catton

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek: Enterprise - Over-/Review on all 4 Seasons
Summary:
Awesome cast, great atmosphere, but the quality of the stories varies from the best
that science fiction has to offer to the most boring imaginable.

Main review
The concept of a series taking place shortly after the First Contact Movie is a brilliant idea. But it seems a long way from the idea to realisation. Already at the end of the...
Published on 14 Mar 2009 by Summoningfan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To buy or not to buy, that is the question!, 12 July 2005
Star Trek is arguably the biggest media phenomenon in the world, spanning five live action series, 10 feature films and over 30 years of merchandise. There is no denying that Star Trek has a huge following and has been massively successful. Enterprise is the fifth live action, and at the moment, final Star Trek series. Enterprise was billed as an "exciting concept that would be radically different from past Star Trek shows, but would still be Star Trek at its core".
If you are a fan of Trek, you may be in two minds about whether or not to buy this DVD. With all the negative reaction and press from the core of the fans, you may think that it isn't worth buying. Or, if you're someone new to Trek or the Science Fiction genre, you might think that Enterprise seems a good place to start. My take on the matter is that you really need to watch the entire show, probably more than once, to make a true decision about it.
Season 2 is heavily criticised from Trek fans for messing around with the history of Star Trek, as episodes like "Carbon Creek", "Minefield" and "Regeneration" feature the Borg, Romulans and re-write Earth's first contact with the Vulcans. However, as I'm a "younger-generation" of Trek fan, this doesn't bother me. I appreciate the more character driven parts of the show, rather than the continuity of the series.
Other Season 2 episodes stick out for me, but this time for better reasons, episodes like "A Night in Sickbay", "The Catwalk" and "Cogenitor" are very stimulating and interesting episodes and they add so much to the characters and the show.
It is my view, which is very different from others in the Star Trek world, that Scott Bakula - who plays Captain Jonathon Archer - was a good choice for captain. I think that he, like the rest of the cast, is all brilliantly suited to the characters that they play. However I feel that characters like Travis Mayweather and Hoshi Sato are perhaps underwritten in the show. This does drag down the quality of the show in my estimations, but a concerted effort is made in Season 2 to give these characters episodes centred on them. "Vanishing Point" and "Horizon" are prime examples of this and are very fresh and exciting episodes to watch.
This season starts with the second part of Season 1's "Shockwave" - which is brilliant to watch - and then ends with the "The Expanse" - a very intelligent cliff-hanger - which leads into Season 3's story arc about the Xindi. Season 2 could be described as a simple transition phase for Enterprise, but I feel that an assessment like that wouldn't be doing the season justice.
The episodes on the DVD are shown in the following order: Shockwave Part 2, Carbon Creek, Minefield, Dead Stop, A Night in Sickbay, Marauders, The Seventh, The Communicator, Singularity, Vanishing Point, Precious Cargo, The Catwalk, Dawn, Stigma, Cease Fire, Future Tense, Canamar, The Crossing, Judgment, Horizon, The Breach, Cogenitor, Regeneration, First Flight, Bounty and The Expanse.
The DVD's, like in Season 1, come in an easy-to-carry case which you can be proud to display in your home. All 26 episodes come on 7 disks and there are even more brilliant special features than on the Season 1 DVD: behind the scenes looks, secrets of the show, trailers, photo galleries, cast profiles, outtakes, hidden Easter eggs and much more. My final word on the subject, I'm glad that I brought it and I think you will be as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd season follows on well from the first..., 21 July 2005
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
If you are new to Enterprise and never saw these episodes on TV, you'll be pleased to know that this Season 2 set follows on directly from the 1st Season cliffhanger.
If you can forget about most of the Trek back-story from other Trek series and take this on it's own merits it's highly enjoyable. This season shows more character development as the crew(and viewer) travels along with them, discovering new planets and new problems! I originally saw the series on TV, and on second viewing I have been enjoying it more than ever on DVD!
The quality of transfer to DVD is excellent. The interactive menus are attractive and easy to navigate. The "easter eggs" are again fairly easy to find. The behind-the-scenes footage is, like the 1st season, very interesting, with entertaining outtakes too....especially if you aren't used to seeing the actors as themselves!
The design of the box set is great, and matches the 1st Season set. Nicely designed packaging all around.
If you liked the 1st Season then you won't need too much persuasion to buy this one. 5 stars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Enterprise, 7 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a long time fan of Star Trek, and I'm sure I'll get shot down in flames by other trek fans......but in my own opinion Enterprise is the best of the series.
It started strongly in Season One and just kept getting better. I have now seen up to the end of season 3 which is excellent, and can't wait to watch season 4. It is an absolute travesty that it was cancelled!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Star Trek series, 20 Jun 2009
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With a new generation of CGA special effects and a wealth of "prequel" storylines just waiting to be explored, Enterprise is the business. Series 1 suffered a little from taking too long to find its footing and settle down into a routine, but Series 2 manages to catch the rollercoaster and stick with it, just about. From time to time they come close to crashing some of the conventions established in the earlier incarnations of the franchise - always a problem with prequels - but then why let a few tiny details like that get in the way of a good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars StarTrek as it was meant to be..., 19 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great, episodes are not full of recalibration of clearly superior technical equipment that was just incorrectly setup. The ship has limitations, the crew have limitations. Diplomacy plays a part in the plot, but is not the only feature of a moral tale. This is a series that is in my view the most honest to the original idea of StarTrek. It's a travesty of biblical proportions that they canceled the series after season 4, marginally mitigated by the fact the bean-counters finally found their appendages for long enough to pay for the new StarTrek movie. If you liked the new movie, Enterprise is the closest it comes in series form, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of the unexpected, that ends up tastin fantastic, 6 Sep 2005
First of all. What a Great series Star Trek Enterprise is.
Slated by the critics, frowned upon by the hardcore, loved by its fans, Star Trek: Enterprise caused many more arguments in the Star Trek community than any other of the previous series.
My personal opinion is that it is a wonderful series. It takes time to "grow" on you, unlike the more accessible Next Generation, Deep Space Nine and Voyager. But thats what makes it just as good, if not better than its predecessors. When you have made the effort to keep watching the episodes, the series (particularly this season) ultimately becomes a rewarding experience. With episodes that you will watch over and over again.
My favourite episodes include the beautifully crafted "Carbon Creek", the scary but exciting "Regeneration" and, of course, "The Breach", which does what Star Trek does best: challenging your perceptions of someone different than yourself.
Overall, I would say this is the best season of Enterprise (though season 4 runs it close). I highly recommend this delicious slice of Star Trek pie.
With great acting, great set pieces and great storylines, theres only one question you have to ask yourself: "Why havent I bought this DVD yet?" Only when you have bought it and watched it, then youll understand why I gave it 5 stars without a second thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for fantastic entertainment..., 22 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. N. S. Bridge "Nick" (Manchester, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Series two continues to break new ground for Star Trek, charting the missions of the first warp five starship, Enterprise. Captain Archer begins the season stranded in the future in "Shockwave, Part 2" and going back to his time seems nigh on impossible.

How does he fix it you ask? Well, buy the box set from Amazon and find out for yourself... you won't regret it. The storylines for season two are in my view, fantastic. The special effects are great, the casting of the show works well and their interaction is second to none.

My favourite episode of season 2 has to be "Regeneration." For the die hard Star Trek fans amongst us... believe me when I say that it is a fantastic episode and you should seriously buy and watch it!!

Okay, here's a hint: "You will be assimilated. Resistance is futile..." what more could a fan ask for!! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunned yet?!, 5 Nov 2008
By 
Jason Prudhoe (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Season 2 picks up where season 1 left off, and boy this season does not dissapoint, full of action yet again.

season 2 starts off ok and gradually builds up and we get to see how vulcans can have an active imagination when Trip asks T'Pol for an interesting story in the captains private dining hall.

later on we get to see what implications come off the Destruction of J'Pem and the andorian connection and how the klingons want Captain Archer arrested or dead.

Yet again another wacky adventure to brace yourself for. recommended to buy season 2 in order to find out how season 3 starts and what the costs are when this new alien race attacks earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of the unexpected, 6 Sep 2005
First of all. What a Great series Star Trek Enterprise.
Slated by the critics, frowned upon by the hardcore, loved by its fans, Star Trek: Enterprise caused many more arguments in the Star Trek community than any other of the previous series.
My personal opinion is that it is a wonderful series. It takes time to "grow" on you, unlike the more accessible Next Generation, Deep Space Nine and Voyager. But thats what makes it just as good, if not better than its predicisors. When you have made the effort to keep watching the episodes, the series (particularlly this season) ultimatly becomes a rewarding experience. With episodes that you will watch over and over again.
My favourite episodes include the beautifully crafted "Carbon Creek", the scary but exciting "Regeneration" and, of course, "The Breach", which does what Star Trek does best, challanges your perceptions of someone different than yourself.
Overall, I would say this is the best season of Enterprise (though season 4 runs it close). I highly recommend this delicious slice of Star Trek pie.
With great acting, great set pieces and great storylines, theres only one question you have to ask yourself: "Why havent I bought this DVD yet?" Only when you have bought it and watched it, then youll understand why I gave it 5 stars without a second thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disregard at your peril!, 10 Mar 2007
By 
Snow Ball (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Some will tell you that season 2 is the weakest of the 4 seasons...not so! At the very least you'll need to see the first and last episodes to keep the flow of the story...BUT

Minefield and Dead Stop...the CGI is glorious;

A Night in Sickbay...is fun;

Cease Fire...builds on the Andorian relationship;

Future Tense...Dr Who fans,hopefully will smile;

Canamar / Carbon Creek / Catwalk... good ol' stories;

Regeneration...handy if you've seen the 'First Contact' movie but not essential...my family were shouting at the screen!

ETC...ETC...

Okay, so they're like all heroes, you know they're going to pull thru' but the journey they take you on is a creative pleasure.

So, why skip this one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: Enterprise - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [2002] [Region Free]
29.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews