Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comments on the Blu Ray version of TOP GUN.
Paramount's Blu-ray disc of Top Gun is clean and crisp, getting the most out of John Schwartzman's slick cinematography. The disc is liberally slathered with DS and 5.1 options in English, French and Spanish. Savant's viewing reminded him very much of the original multi-track experience, which definitely had the audience in its pocket.

Jerry Bruckheimer gathers...
Published on 10 Dec 2008 by P. Gilligan

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun 3D
Awful, No terrible, no very very bad...seriously this is abysmal.

Other reviewers said the 3d was grainy. People moan all the time about minor quibbles so I ignored them. Wow! were they right. The picture is not only crazily grainy to the point it looks pixelated, the colours are totally out of whack and bizarre. Faces almost look like the photo negative end of...
Published 12 months ago by Denton


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Present I could have bought him..., 28 July 2006
By 
Ms. R. Barnes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I never would have watched Top Gun, but my boyfriend (who just happens to be into planes) was shocked that I hadn't and immediately rented it out for us to watch!

I was pleasantly surprised to be honest!

Tom Cruise was excellently cast in the lead role as the cocky, yet loveable, Maverick. And Kelly McGillis isn't the typical leading lady- she doesn't play a bimboish young girl that we so often see in films these days.

Her character is a smart, sassy lady, in a position of authority at Top Gun. (Although she does sport a rather fetching Eighties hair-do!)

The films scenes of dogfighting are so well choreographed. Anybody with a remote interest in planes will appreciate it and men generally probably would be impressed!

The love story throughout however, keeps the film from appealing only to a certain audience. Women- you will be able to sit through the fighting scenes knowing that they did not make up the entire film!

It is fun. It is a classic. It is not as predictable as you might have first guessed, trust me. I was surprised!

Not flawless obviously. There's no such thing. This Special Edition has an improved quality etc. of the actual film and loads of features on the second disc which are great if you enjoyed the film.

Worth a look and this is actually quite a good price (5.97) for a DVD. (This also has 2 discs.)

I will end by saying that I bought this edition for his birthday... after seeing how he leered after the rental, I had to!

He's watched it around 16 times... Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I feel the need, the need for ... Blu-ray!, 11 Mar 2009
By 
Mav82 (West Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Top Gun [Blu-ray] [1986] (Blu-ray)
Even on DVD: a great movie, cool characters and sensational Soundtrack.

But on Blu-ray its a new level of experiencing this movie! Seeing it on Blu-ray with my PS3 and 46"LCD makes me think: The DVD looks like a 20year old VHS. The colour and sharpness is simply breathtaking. And the sound is powerfull and clear with my 5.1 Surround System. This Blu-ray edition is a great conversion from (analogue) film to digital and shows that even 23 year old material have a lot to give in HD-age! (Watch the uncleanness of Kelly McGillis' skin in some parts :P or the makup )

The Special Features (Commentary,Making Of,Music Videos etc.) are in Standard Definition!

If you own the DVD and hesitate buying the Blu-ray Version, i can tell you it's worth the money!

For all international: The Blu-ray is codefree

Product Summary:
Picture: (8,5/10)
Sound: (9/10)
Story: (10/10) you love or hate it...;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool shades, high fives and groovy 80's music, 22 Aug 2001
This review is from: Top Gun [VHS] [1986] (VHS Tape)
Socrates said the "unexamined life is not a life worth living for a human being". Well, I say that you haven't lived until you've watched this film. Packed with cheesy one-liners, stunning aerial photography and an awesome soundtrack, this film just can't be missed. Action, tragedy and Romance all rolled into one, not to mention cool shades, high fives and groovy 80's music. There are "no points for second place" and this film is definitely the "best of the best".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time action classic, 29 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Top Gun [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
This film will always be one of my favourites if not my favourite for the rest of time. The action scenes are amazing and Tom Criuse...there is a reason why he is one of Hollywood's finest. Even though you are only watching, it really gets the adrenalin pumping; and after, it made me wanna be a fighter pilot myself ...if one really needs any encouragement to want to be a fighter pilot in the first place! Action, romance, humour, and a good soundtrack ..hard to find a minus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality., 5 Sep 2005
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has to rate as one of the best action films of all time. Even today there is not a better film for aerial combat. With some stunning action scenes that made every young boy want to be a fighter pilot, and it still doesn't look dated nearly 20 years on thanks to the use of real jets for the majority of the action. It is also one of the coolest films ever done as well, from the music, fighter jets, the whole image of the film is pure class. I can never get bored of watching the jets in action, or Kelly McGillis.
This special edition is very special with over 3 hours of extras. Straight away from the graphic design of the menus you know this has been well put together. The 1st disc has the film complete with commentary by the director and naval experts. Music videos for the classic tunes Take my breathe away, Danger zone and Top gun anthem. Pure rock and roll for a high octane film. It also has the TV spots.
Disc 2 has a 6 part making of documentary. This looks at the pre-production stage,casting, story, script and getting the navy to agree to the filming. It shows the production done at sea on the aircraft carrier, the air base at Mirama and how the jets scenes were filmed. Through out this you are treated to archive footage from the time of filming as well as interviews possibley done in the last year or so. It really shows the fun the actors had making the film and how they overcame technical problems. It also shows how the special effect shots were done, and models used. It has a feature on the music for the film which has become so well known.The last part reflects on the release and impact the film made, with a surge of Navy enlisting and boost of Ray-ban sales to mention two. These are very indepth and are between 20 to 30mins long each.
It also has a scene/ storyboard comparison for two scenes, which shows how accurate Tony Scotts storyboards are to the finished artical. There are features on the survival training given to the actors and behind the scenes look as they experience the jets first hand. There is a short interview with Cruise from the time of filming and an endless photo-gallery.
Overall this is the top package for a classic action film, with really insightful quality extras. If your a fan, love action films, jets you have to get this. It is amazing value!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Top Gun 3D, 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: Top Gun (Blu-ray 3D) [1986] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Awful, No terrible, no very very bad...seriously this is abysmal.

Other reviewers said the 3d was grainy. People moan all the time about minor quibbles so I ignored them. Wow! were they right. The picture is not only crazily grainy to the point it looks pixelated, the colours are totally out of whack and bizarre. Faces almost look like the photo negative end of the spectrum.

It reminds me of a digital camera I bought in 1999 that only took 5 seconds of film before the capacity was full. Back then, this was amazing. The picture was dire, but worked-ish in bright light. It looks like Top Gun 3D was produced with my old camera, or two of them for depth.

I have never ever bought such a miserably bad film product, except perhaps KFC - Phantom Menace memorabilia (very dark days indeed). I still have to force the memories away.

I'm stunned Top Gun 3D was released like this. I can't fathom how a group of digital 3D post conversion people could sit in a meeting with the Paramount execs and not feel ashamed. Also, the exec that signed this off must have had his eyes closed and have been trying to sense the 3D with The Force, as this only plausible explanation for how this was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 21 Aug 2008
By 
T. KELLY "timjkelly23" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gun [DVD] (DVD)
Most people will have seen this film. One of the Eighties biggest movies and the one that sent Tom Cruise and Val Kilmer on to Hollywood stardom.
Its a brilliant film with really great action scenes.
Kelly McGillis manages to pull off her role brilliantly and both Cruise and Kilmer made their name forom this movie.
If you havnt seen it then buy it and enjoy. It walks all over Pearl Harbour in terms on action scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest film of all time?, 16 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Top Gun [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Where do you begin with the praises for Top Gun? There is so much to reccomend about this film. The film shifts in mood from the comic to the serious with regularity. Not only that but it includes three basic plot lines, all of which anyone can relate to. First there is the love story plot between Cruise and McGillis. Second there is the serious plot about a man who didn't know the truth of his father and is trying to clear a stained reputation. Finally there is the whole air force story about one mans desire to be the best there is.
Top Gun contains an even balance of action and comedy and keeps pouring both out throughout the film. Add in amazing special effects and the very best airial photography I have ever seen, Top Gun is a feast for the eyes like never before and you will be glued to the screen for the whole film.
Top Gun also includes a superb soundtrack without three claasic tracks including the age old favorite 'Great Balls of Fire', the top rock track 'Danger Zone" and the Top Gun anthem is a piece of music you will want to here again and again. Also it is unforgettable in its quotes ("'She's lost that loving feeling' ' No she hasn't. Man I hate it when she does that"). You will repeating lines from the film for a long while after seeing. Finally add into the mix the fact that this film will never grow old and will have you watching it again and again, you have a majestic movie that deserves to rank as one of the best of all time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always liked this film when It came out, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gun (Blu-ray 3D) [1986] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Always liked this film when It came out, but somehow never got round to buying it, now that I have I'm happy to say that the film looks pretty good on Blu Ray, cant compare the the DVD as I don't have one but this version is plenty clear enough, The 3D on the disc is a little on the subtle side, not any kind of wow moments, but it does add something to the film, maybe not worth paying extra if you already own the 2d Blu ray version but as a first buy at this price its pretty much a no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Blu Ray, 9 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gun [Blu-ray] [1986] (Blu-ray)
This is a review of the Blu Ray NOT the DVD. I'm sure everyone knows the story by now but in brief Tom Cruise plays Maverick who after an encounter with a pair of Migs which ends with his wingman handing in his wings is sent off to the Navy's Top Gun program where he battles it out with other pilots to be the best of the best whilst also battling with with an old story of an error his father made which caused the death of other pilots with a little love interest thrown in. Maybe not everyone's film and admittedly not the most intricate story lines of films but I really like it none the less. So a quick to the point review of the Blu Ray. Picture is much improved over the DVD, remember this is a 1986 film way before DVD was out and even more so before HD was thought of. I have to say I was very impressed with the sound over the DVD, planes rushing by were much more detailed through the surround and the overall soundtrack was greatly improved. I will reiterate this is a 1986 film and I've seen much more recent films not have the best transfer to Blu Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gun (Blu-ray 3D) [1986] [Region Free]
Top Gun (Blu-ray 3D) [1986] [Region Free] by Tony Scott (Blu-ray - 2013)
14.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews