Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars477
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2015
I love this movie, it's fantastic, so I thought I would up grade my DVD movie for an all singing and dancing 3d Blu-ray. But was I in for a disappointment. The picture quality is absolutely shocking. It's all grainy, even worse than watching an old VHS movie. SO SO disappointed. A real shame as the bits that I did watch had so much potential if only it had been remastered correctly... I am sending this back and sticking to my DVD version. Be careful when reading the reviews for Top Gun as most of them are reference the DVD/blu ray versions not the 3d one.
11 comment16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Not a bad attempt at making a 3D movie out of an original and quite old film. Certainly the 3D makes it more entertaining, but much of it is rather grainy in quality. Don't expect fantastic images of jet aircraft flying out of the screen at you.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Whilst I enjoyed the DVD, the Blu-ray was a great improvement, both in picture and sound. However I was a bit dubious about this 3D version seeing that the film is getting on a bit and very often when an old film is converted to 3D it turns out to being a big let-down. I therefore hired from Lovefilm (another Amazon company, what company isn't these days?!!!!!) to save a bad purchase. Well, I shouldn't have worried as this 3D effort is without doubt an excellent 'flight' into the 3D world. At times there is some 'ghosting' and out focus problems around the edges and mainly the corners, but in the main it's a great effort. So, you know what? I think I will be buying this very soon, so I can not only be surrounded by sound but have jets flying round my ears as well!!!!!
Let's hope, in time, the same tech guys make 'Flight of the Intruder' into 3D as that would be great.
0Comment18 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
An early Tom Cruise film, and an early Tony Scott film, this must surely be the best in it's genre. Tom Cruise plays Maverick a young pilot on an aircraft carrier, along with Goose his Navigator, played by Anthony Edwards. Both are hot shots, and when given a chance to go to the 'Top Gun' flying school, they jump at the chance. Up against the best of the best, they encounter some stiff competition. After a tragic accident, maverick starts wondering if he wants to continue, and people around him start to wonder if he's losing it.

This is a classic film from the mid 80's, that surely everybody has seen by now. The soundtrack is also good, and is as iconic as the film.

In previous DVD releases, this was released in an aspect ratio of 2.00:1.
In this release it has been transferred in it's original ratio of 2.35:1.

Picture Quality is excellent, and is the best the film has ever looked.
Colours are natural, and the sound is presented in 5.1.

Highly recommended.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Excellent quality, the sound and picture are brilliant. This is an old favourite,

I would definitely recommend to a friend
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2007
I saw this movie for the first time going with my dad to the theatre when it came out, so that's back in 1986. As a young teenager this movie had a pretty hefty impression on me. Tom became an idol overnight, Kelly my dreamwoman... The action scenes, in those days, were unheard of. Awesome outside the fuselage images, low fly-by's...etc,etc. Yes it was a bit stupid to see a F5 as a 'MIG' but hey! we were still talking about the cold war those days. Anyway, the movie is about a training centre located in Nellis, where the top-aces train for combat. Tom Cruise is selected as the Navy candidate and during the course of his training he falls in love with his teacher (kelly). During this training this best buddy dies in an accident which leaves Tom an emotional wreck. At the end of the training, they are recalled to an aircraft carrier to fight off some baddies (which they do of course). So all ends well, Tom gets the girl and over his emotional situation and the world is safe again...
Ah! just watch the movie and enjoy!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2008
Paramount's Blu-ray disc of Top Gun is clean and crisp, getting the most out of John Schwartzman's slick cinematography. The disc is liberally slathered with DS and 5.1 options in English, French and Spanish. Savant's viewing reminded him very much of the original multi-track experience, which definitely had the audience in its pocket.

Jerry Bruckheimer gathers his director Scott, writer Epps and some military experts for the commentary, while a multi-part docu Danger Zone covers the making of the film. Tony Scott provides an optional commentary for a storyboard comparison, and an extra docu The Best of The Best lauds the expertise of the Navy's elite fliers, excuse me, aviators.

Top Gun's appeal was due in no small part to its hot soundtrack, and the disc includes music videos for Take My Breath Away, The Top Gun Anthem, Heaven in Your Eyes and Danger Zone, which shows up every time the planes go into action, as if programmed into the automated cockpit environment. Top Gun was criticised for grafting MTV glitz on a Military back drop, but nobody's denying that the mix isn't effective.

TV spots, more EPK featurettes (one on survival techniques) and Tom Cruise interviews finish up this great package.
33 comments45 of 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
Even on DVD: a great movie, cool characters and sensational Soundtrack.

But on Blu-ray its a new level of experiencing this movie! Seeing it on Blu-ray with my PS3 and 46"LCD makes me think: The DVD looks like a 20year old VHS. The colour and sharpness is simply breathtaking. And the sound is powerfull and clear with my 5.1 Surround System. This Blu-ray edition is a great conversion from (analogue) film to digital and shows that even 23 year old material have a lot to give in HD-age! (Watch the uncleanness of Kelly McGillis' skin in some parts :P or the makup )

The Special Features (Commentary,Making Of,Music Videos etc.) are in Standard Definition!

If you own the DVD and hesitate buying the Blu-ray Version, i can tell you it's worth the money!

For all international: The Blu-ray is codefree

Product Summary:
Picture: (8,5/10)
Sound: (9/10)
Story: (10/10) you love or hate it...;)
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2000
Simply the best film of all time. Cheesy and corny are words which probably sum the film up best. Classic lines ("I feel the need... the need for speed") and a cracking soundtrack. If you haven't seen this film yet then you're missing out on one of the best peices of American machoism ever produced. Buy it now.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2005
Absolute cheese on a stick, but Top Gun proves that that's not always a bad thing. This movie's got everything - an arrogant prodigy who'd be out on his ass if he wasn't so good, a sensible, more down to earth best friend, a love interest, an arch nemesis and his dumb sidekick, a few cool high fives and catchphrases, the emotional death scene, a euphoric victory act and of course, some unforgettable action sequences. What more could any red-blooded child of the eighties ask for?
Anyone born around 1980 will remember how everyone was doing that double high five and saying 'talk to me Goose' to the kid next to them in class. Certainly one of my all time favourites - entertaining stuff.
11 comment13 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse