Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars47
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2015
Of its time, but there are some very scary moments in here. Wonderful
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I've been a fan of M R James for decades now, and love the Ghost Stories for Christmas DVD set, which is now ( at last) available. I had completely forgotten about the partly-dramatised stories presented by Robert Powell, and about the Spine Chillers series of stories told to camera, which are on this DVD. They are terrific, and well worth the hard earned cash of any M R James fan. The picture is not the greatest quality, and the audio is no better, but these are, after all, pretty old programmes, and the quality of the tales and the telling of them does, for me, outweigh the technical shortcomings of the recordings themselves.
In short, a treat, worthy of 5 stars
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Bought as a gift for my Dad, he loved it. Robert Powell's telling of M R James' ghostly stories is atmospheric and captivating. I fully recommend buying to watch on a cold winters night as we did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
I have been waiting years for these short stories to appear on DVD, the picture quality is fair for it age & stands being enlarged in its 4:3
ratio on a modern 40 inch screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Basically, these are readings. Therefore, would have been just as good, if not better, as audio recordings only. There are one or two very short dramatizations of the readings and some pictures, but they do not add anything. Extremely well read though but be prepared for the archaic language and drawn out descriptions.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
this is exactly what it says. A seasoned actor getting into character to tell MR James ghost stories. Nicely done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Wow Robert Powell chills you with beautifully read M.R.James ghost stories
Buy if you like your Xmas ghost stories it's that simple
BRILLIANT
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
At last, some of Robert Powell's readings of James's ghost stories are available. I bought this mainly because of "The Mezzotint," and this comes over as quite unnerving. Also excellent is "The Ash Tree." These interpretations are so much better than some of the later BBC efforts - M.R.James does not always translate into film, but Powell has got it just right. Also on the same disc are some James stories told by Michael Bryant, including another version of "The Mezzotint," inferior in my opinion to those told by Powell. One word of warning: if your idea of ghost stories or 'horror' is buckets of blood, severed limbs, maniacs on the loose, etc., this disc is not for you. M.R.James is for the more sophisticated.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
Added to my collection of the BBC ghost stories, fast service and at a good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
Horror tales and powell executes the telling of them well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)