Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2013
I really liked the first Uberjam album and this, as the name suggests, very much continues where that left off. The band line-up has altered slightly but audibly the sound is largely similar. Musically I think the album sounds "safer", although more cohesive as a result. There are less abrupt changes of genre and the palette of effects is not quite as broad as the first album. Scofield appears to mature with every album, he's noticeably more melodic and bluesy here and there's Albert King style string bending, than I've heard him use previously. Some tracks sound quite similar to ones on Piety Street, Scofiled's gospel themed album. John Medeski appears though only in a supporting role, with minimal solo space. Avi Bortnik, on rhythm guitar and samples never lets the funk level drop and has co-written much of the material with Scofield.

In general a very stylish, accomplished feel-good album of danceable jazz/funk, with melodic soloing and occasional "freak-outs"
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2013
It's gratifying that although now over 60 John Scofield manages to create new music and new sounds in nearly every album. It sounds as though on this album Scofield has been able to concentrate on playing across a range of styles with some of the guitar work and the programming left in the capable hands of Avi Bortnick whilst Scofield gets to demonstrate a range of guitar techniques that haven't appeared on his albums for some time. There is a definite leaning towards blues stylings. It's also fascinating to listen to John Medeski weave his way in and out of tracks 2,4.6.10 and 11 without being in any way intrusive, and of my current favourite tracks it's three of those with Medeski that are my favourites; "Boogie Stupid", "Dub Dub" and "Curtis knew". Andy Hess plays bass on all the tracks, and there are two drummers who share the stick work, Adam Deitch and Louis Cato, but it's the guitar work that makes this album such a welcome addition to the huge body of work that Schofield has created during his career, and for me the reference to the Uberjam album could be a false alarm as to what is contained in this excellent set.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
I confess to a non-musical prejudice with this one; the cover and title put me off for months, as do the graphics and photo layout. I have nearly all Scofield's albums and have followed him since the 70s. The Uberjam band is impeccable - the 2 drummers on this are amazing players - and there are some very good tracks, well recorded and superbly played but Uberjam seems to be more of a diversion for Sco than a direction. Nonetheless the riff on 'Boogie Stupid' is great and they are all very tight indeed. One of the best things on it is 'Curtis Knew' after Curtis Mayfield and in his groove; you cannot write a tune like this without knowledge of Mayfield's music and a lot of experience. Scofield and Medeski (yes, he's here again) can almost knock this sort of thing out in their sleep now though. The album repays the replays and is a lot better than I initially thought - I don't hear any other guitarists doing this stuff in this way.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
Not only is this a must for all Scofield AND jazz funk fans, but I reckon that it's his best CD (in the world) ever. Playing it joyously loud at least once a day!!! B..B..Buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Sco is beyond doubt the best current jazz-funk player out here at the moment - I would say the best player full stop but there is metheny - not my bag entirely but he is there - but where Sco excels is in his capacity to put these dynamite bands together and make them groove. This album is like a fusion of the electronica stylings of uberjam and the more blues-tinged stuff from piety street but whatever it is outstanding. If you have any interest in the electric guitar or jazz, this album is simply essential listening. It is available on spotify but if you have any kind of ears on your head then the cd is what is needed - you can't listen to the dynamic range of this music on a streaming service - sorry - and I have a squeezebox touch and beresford dac for the spot so it is pretty good but as nothing compared with the cd....you won't be disappointed unless you're either deaf or dead from the waist down....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
I have previous Uberjam, and like it. This one is more modern sound, of course you can hear his music throughout. It can be easily backgournd music, but very pleasant one. Actually quite complex music, well thought, excellently played, no doubt. The CD recording quality has improved recently, so if you listen to these on really good hifi system, it sounds so good, real.
I have so many his cds, but this come up very high.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
I have always been a fan of great guitar music and great tone. Prior to this I liked John Scofield but not enough to buy his stuff. Having heard this album I can see where he's coming from and am developing a real taste for his stuff.
The whole band work well together and it is now my favourite album of the moment. Well worth a go.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
This album was one of those rare occasions when Spotify got it right.

What a great album. Uplifting. Mature. Funky. Bluesy. Great fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Not up there with Scofields best work but worthy of expanding my collection of his recordings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Great - economical - lots of space. Heard this band at Love Supreme Festival this year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.