Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Music Please buy this album ,Simon Collins is amazingly creative and a Real Star bringing Music back to life
For me as a Musician i tend to listen to a circle of Music from Genesis to Yes and beyond but to find a group so talented that brings a collective of all that i love. in one basket so to speak has given me the strength to pursue my musical ambitions to the full Well done to Simon and the Band Sound Of Contact for an outstanding...
Published 14 months ago by Andy Phillip Hatchett

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected
So, this is the debut album from the singing and drums playing son of Phil Collins. I am almost tempted to quote the title of one of Phil's most known songs. But I believe he would be proud of what his son Simon Collins has done on this album. The parentage is pretty obvious on this album. I think it is a safe bet that this album has been going on pretty heavy rotation in...
Published 20 months ago by Torodd Fuglesteg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars New kids on the block, 23 Sept. 2013
By 
Ian G. Mcneil (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dimensionaut (Audio CD)
I was advised to check this album out and I'm glad I did.
These guys certainly know how to fill a CD with good music.
Very easy on the ear and they arn't predictable like other new acts.
I await the next album.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant album, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dimensionaut (Audio CD)
i bought this album based on sound clips on amazon and im so pleased that I did its an excellent album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums for some time, 27 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Colley (durham nc usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dimensionaut (Audio CD)
If you, like me are of the belief that the best music was created by the prog groups of the 70s then this album is for you, this is not to say this album sounds dated but you can hear the inspiration from the past put together in a nice balance between prog and commercial sounds. Whether it is too commercial for you, you will have to find out but to me the more commercial tracks are an example of how to write a good commercial song. Simons voice seems better than his last few albums, less messing with the voice I think. All-round great musicianship, nice to hear that drum style again, its been missing for a while now!!!.Please note the vinyl version is not 3 discs, it comes with a cd copy of the album. Initial listening seems promising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You must own this !!!!!!!!, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. Brian Hamilton (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dimensionaut (Audio CD)
There isn't a bad moment on this CD! OK, maybe I'm being too hasty. The only bad moment is as the last note ends and you realise you want more, much more! The music is fantastic, it's well written, well played and you wouldn't change a thing. If you don't like this CD, you don't like music? Simples!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gem, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dimensionaut (Audio CD)
Found this by accident while searching for Phil Collins/Genesis stuff and it was definitely a lucky accident, as this album is superb. Memorable songs, top class musicianship, and a fine lead singer in Simon Collins make for a great listening experience. As a fan of prog rock groups such as IQ, Mostly Autumn and Unitopia, and a lover of concept albums, this pushes all the right buttons and I just hope it gets enough sales to warrant a speedy follow-up. And my thanks to Amazon for pointing me towards this gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome modern prog classic., 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dimensionaut (Audio CD)
This album has it all, rich vibrant melodies, superb sympathetic musicianship and excellent production. I really hope Sound of Contact are going to be massive, they deserve it. A very promising first album indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 28 July 2013
By 
Mr. M. Magdalinos (LONDON U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dimensionaut (MP3 Download)
Really interesting album. I think every prog rock lover will like it. great music and more than an hour long!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 24 July 2013
By 
S. REYNOLDS (SUTTON COLDFIELD, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dimensionaut (Audio CD)
What a fantastic album, I absolutely love it - how heartening it is to hear such good new music being created, there are so many great bands out there (who need to be supported, particularly live, folks!). Gorgeous songs brilliantly played, excellently sung by SC, well produced, so luscious and grand..btw is that a bit of Echoes I can hear at the start of Mobius Sleep?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Prog, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dimensionaut (MP3 Download)
This is a wonderful Album from the band headed by Simon Collins who father is Phil Collins and there are certainly similarities with the vocal's. It's one of those albums that certainly grows on you the more you listen to it with fantastic tracks, the catchy Pale Blue Dot (single material?) and ending with the majestic 20 minute Mobius Slip.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoying the sounds, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dimensionaut (MP3 Download)
Debut Album, very progressive, shades of Genesis, Marillion, a concept album that charts the voyage of an explorer able to move through dimensions, hence the name dimensionaut.

The musicianship is great, the lyrics good, and for a debut album the band have pulled off a great product.

Hannah Stobart guesting on Beyond Illumination sublime, check out The Wishing Tree if you want to hear more of her vocals.

Yes I only really bought it for the Collins/Marillion connections, but having listened to the album a number of times it does stand on it's own, it's on my playlist constantly, and will be for a considerable time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dimensionaut
Dimensionaut by Sound Of Contact
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews