Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time waits for this man
Five long years since Omar's acclaimed 'Sing', we're finally blessed with 'The Man' his 7th (!) blend of soul, funk, latin and above all very British street sounds. I've followed said Man since his first releases with Kongo, Talkin Loud and the subsequent circus of labels and managers.

Whilst he's seemingly been mislead and occasionally mis-directed by some of...
Published 12 months ago by M. Scarola

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite good
I cant make a full comment on this cd as yet because I have not heard all the tracks on it ,but what I have heard is very good.
Published 10 months ago by Mr. M. House


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time waits for this man, 24 Jun 2013
By 
M. Scarola "Mac" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Five long years since Omar's acclaimed 'Sing', we're finally blessed with 'The Man' his 7th (!) blend of soul, funk, latin and above all very British street sounds. I've followed said Man since his first releases with Kongo, Talkin Loud and the subsequent circus of labels and managers.

Whilst he's seemingly been mislead and occasionally mis-directed by some of these folks with a few of the past single releases and occasional forays into weaker covers (Golden Brown, Be Thankful) and 'pop' sounds (especially on the last album), Omar typically maintains a distinctive, timeless sound.

What makes this album so glorious is that his underlying musical integrity is demonstrated from start to finish. 'The Man' is a much stronger effort than many of his previous works because, like 'Best by Far' there is a refreshing lack of trying to be 'current' (which also means, thankfully, no half-arsed raps).

Sounding a little like a revamped 'This is not a love song', 'Simplify' kicks us off on the right trumpety note. The strolling, oboe lined, title track follows, already an Omar classic. 'Come on Speak to me' gives us the first latin-laced track with a nice vocal arrangement. 'I can listen' has a 60s soul taste; nice track which feels a little bit of a filler track. In contrast is the skip-stomp of 'Bully' which injects slick scratching and some high-pitch warbling! A gentle collaboration with legendary Caron Wheeler takes the tempo down (I don't think he'll ever better his duet with Carleen Anderson but this is still for the lovers). We move uptempo with the F**** War, make love - classy funk with solid bass, keys and trumpet that Omar and his pals do best. Omar's musical intelligence is always impressive and best demonstrated with the diversity of percussive styles and classical instruments (praise to the return of the oboe!).

The highlight for me so far is 'High Heels' (collaboration with Hidden Jazz Quartet) which I understand wasn't originally intended for the album. Good thing his wife persuaded him otherwise. Omar's been involved in loads of collaborations over the years and this is one of my favourites. Quality jazz-breaks and vocals. And just when you think the album might dip, 'I love being with you' follows up with Omar's trademark funk-key-stab. An absolute gem for the summer ( and with a little remix could be a scorcher).

The inevitable reworking of "There's nothing like this' is sweet and respectful and matures the original for old and new fans alike. Latin makes a reappearance with 'Eeni Meeni', nice vibe but I really can't dig the chorus. Sorry. No matter how beautifully you sing 'Myni Mo' it still sounds ridiculous. 'When you touch...' feels similar to 'Dancing' Omar's collaboration with Zed Bias. It's fine but it's not 'Dancing'. Lastly, we have 'Ordinary Day', an ode to his family. A breezy end to a sun-soaked set of classic soul.

Let's be honest, unless you want to hear the sound of 'now' or another US pop-tart you won't find a better, genuine soul/funk/jazz album this Summer. Get yourself a partner, a barbecue and get your groove on. Thanks Omar, man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique Mix of Styles and Musicians., 2 Aug 2013
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man (Audio CD)
Having seen Omar guesting with Mario Biondi at the Albert Hall for tracks from Sun, it was evident that "the Man" was back on top form. Further airplay on Jazz FM has confirmed the quality of the album and it has been one of the albums of Summer 2013.

Omar often turns up at Jazz festivals and seems to hang out with Jazz musicians, although the music he creates is more often characterised as Soul or R & B. For me, the most interesting tracks on this album are those where he collaborates with other musicians - like on the title track where he brings in the well-known UK Sax player Ben Castle, a bandleader in his own right.

There are also collaborations with two of the best UK bass guitarists around, in Stuart Zender (ex-Jamiroquai) and Pino Palladino(...that bass line for Paul Young on "Wherever I lay my hat"). "High Heels" features the Hidden Jazz Quartet and horn players grace most tracks - but it's not really Jazz territory, except in the extended vocabulary of chords that Omar uses.

The album is definitely focused on tight song structures - all originals - and nearly all by Omar himself with the odd co-credit. All are groove-based and there are nods to his parents' Jamaican origins - like on "Bully" - but most fit into genres that are usually described as 'urban'. There is a great sense of integrity in the music and lyrics - Omar isn't courting fame - he is producing the music he likes and collaborating with the musicians he likes - he is his own man. Maybe why the album title is so apt?

This is music that is diverse, but unique maybe to this time and place - the multicultural musical landscape of London and places like the Jazz Cafe. There are maybe links to Incognito and the Brand New Heavies, but Omar is distinctive and darker in his lyrical content and deeper into Jazz influences. Certainly worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMAR - The Man, C.D. Album, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man (Audio CD)
I"ve enjoyed Omar"s music and singing for a great many years now. I"ve seen him and his Band many times mainly at The Camden Palace and some years ago I was fortunate enough to win a competition on a London Radio Station and the prize was to meet Omar in person which I did and he very kindly Autographed a C.D. Album and a T-Shirt for me which I cherish to this day.

Omar will always be very high on if not the top of my preferred list of Male Vocalists and the very best bit, He"s a Londoner too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMAR the man, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man (Audio CD)
everytime omar puts out music this guy never fails to deliver!!!!! its a melting pot of all things with a soul/funk/jazz/ flava!!! and with some other influences thrown into tha mix with the emphasis high on quality. he is very much a leader and not a follower with his own vibe, also like Incognito he is a pioneer and a pure genius!!!!! ESSENTIAL .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Ann (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man (Audio CD)
This is a long awaited Album and its well worth the wait, Omar is in my opinion the most talented artist that this country has, this man has never conformed to fit in with the "latest trend" thus his sound is absolutely unique to him, the whole album is a delicious confection of sounds & rhythm from Jazz through to Latin vibes ( e.g" Ordinary Day " written for his daughters ) to a reggae beat ( e.g "Bully") & so much more, he also has some fabulous artists such as Pino Palladino who plays on the re-worked new version on what has become Omar's signature tune " There's Nothing like This" which is just hauntingly beautiful!
This album is a must for all die-hard fans of Omar & all lovers of great Music, it is just amazing & to date is his best album you can feel the love that went into the making of it it also proves that Omar IS " The Man"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really, really strong, 24 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Man [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
A genre fusing masterpiece from the Acid Jazz/Neo-Soul journeyman and pioneer Omar Lye-Fook, courtesy of Soul/Funk/Afro staple Freestyle Records.

Recommended to fans new and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album!, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man (Audio CD)
If you are a fan of Omar you will not be disappointed. This album is a good mixture and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Omar's best, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
A fabulous work of art, I believe it's as good as Music, if not better. Every track is fab.

Propa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 25 Jan 2014
By 
A. Jenkinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man (Audio CD)
Omar you're brilliant. High Heels is my favourite. Funky sound. Still got the same style that he started off with, which on some tracks is a bit samey but his voice is very unique. Worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British Soul Star shows his class, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man (Audio CD)
One of the leading lights in British Soul Music, Omar's class shines through once again in his most recent albumn "The Man". It has been worth the wait as there isn't a weak song on this albumn. Some of the production techniques and instruments used are recognisable from previous albumns, but there are new sounds and collaborations which make the albumn fresh and interesting both for die-hard and new fans. From funky beats to well thought out melodies, it is sure to get you moving and singing along. This albumn is diverse but maintains ist quality all the way through, unlike a lot of more commercial albumns contining "filler songs". This guy is underrated and deserves more air-time on the radio and TV. His lyrics, voice and musical ability is far greater than most British or worldwide stars of the modern era. If you get the chance go to see him live too...he doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews